Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Mattermost - Slack compatible team messaging by TurnKey GNU/Linux (HVM)

TurnKey GNU/Linux | 16.1.1

Linux/Unix, Debian 10/Buster - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

271 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Why would anyone get this over Slack?

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
That you can message your colleagues... that is about it.;
What do you dislike?
Almost everything about it. It doesn't notify you on mobile of a new message (mobile experience is awful in general), it doesn't thread messages, and the noise it makes is terrible.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Messaging colleagues.


    Information Technology and Services

The best slack opensource alternative

  • January 03, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fast and good self host chat service, simple UI
What do you dislike?
Missing thread or topic chat, when you want to focus and comment only the topic, you will confflict with other
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used for internal discussion, which can control file attachment and is free for use
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want a free and self host chat service, you can consider Mattermost


    Alex O.

Mattermost and why we switched

  • January 02, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
easy of use, ease of adding external parties, ease of tracking comments and integration with gitlab.
What do you dislike?
Unstable process for loging in . A number of times per week had to restart our servers in order to faciliate logins.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
team communication and activity tracking. Work well for us until we decided to switch to a more comperhesive product.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for efficient team communications - great tool. If you are looking for a comperhensive solution including progress tracking as well communications , may want to look elsewhere


    Abhigyan T.

Great on-premise collaboration solution

  • December 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Being an engineer myself, I liked the ease of setting it up quickly and rolling it to our staff. It is highly customizable and responsive. We never got any issues or errors till now except internet outage which will stop the backups.
What do you dislike?
Everything is great as first of all the product is free and open source for self hosting, I couldn't complain anything but there are some necessary features which could be kept free of cost.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used other online platforms for chat and collaboration which offered higher costs for users. We have now unlimited access in mattermost for collaboration in our staff.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're starting out and want customization freedom, mattermost is very good option.


    Computer Hardware

Perfect Slack Clone

  • December 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's free and the same as Slack in presentation. Since it's open-source, there are many user-created tools, the options are endless. This program allows to chat with each other on our terms of service.
What do you dislike?
We don't get the redundancy that Slack's servers offer, but that means we get to choose our own redundancy and security, which is a big plus to us already being in the field of technology.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's a communication tool, simple as that. You can also create rooms that only certain people are allowed to be in or start a message string with specific individuals involved.


    Hardy F.

The best chat tool online

  • December 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best things about using Mattermost is how you can create and then join separate channels. Then also send direct messages to each person.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it doesn't show who is online.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating channels helps people within that channel solve problems. If I have a specific question for a certain part of the team, I can send it to just them.


    Gasia B.

Mattermost is such a great way to get in touch with a colleague right away

  • December 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I especially like how someone can use this application for discussions of sensitive topics related to work. During our critical design review, my colleagues and I were able to have quick conversations and discuss a path forward on responses to questions. I like how you can set a notification, so you don't miss a message. In addition, there is a feature to set up different groups you can create to keep the conversations private. Another thing that is great about this application is that you can effortlessly swtich from your desktop to mobile phone without missing a message. You can also be looged into both devices at the same time.
What do you dislike?
Honestly, the only thing I did not like about this application was the slow refresh rate. There were times when I opened my group page and didn't see the latest message but had just received a notification on my phone that someone made a post. One minor thing I also didn't like is when you get a private message from a member, it is difficult to find. You have to dig a little through the group tabs to find it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our team set up Mattermost to be able to communicate privately and swiftly. We found texting and emailing would be too slow to address critical questions. We realized what a fantastic tool this was and continue using it today for any work-related conversation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend Mattermost to anyone who works in a team and is looking for a discreet way to communicate. You can send links, attach photos or files; it is fantastic.


    ariinui t.

Mattermost as WhatApps

  • December 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I wouldn't say I like Mattemost; it's too much similar to other application we can find on Android or the Apple store
What do you dislike?
The canal chat, it's not intuitive and too complex to use it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mattermost can fit for somebody and depends how you use it for collaboration with your team


    Information Technology and Services

Matter most Review

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really like that matter most is an open source platform for secure communication collaboration and workflow orchestration. Communication and the ability to collaborate with coworkers is one of the most important aspects of the workplace environment.
What do you dislike?
In my personal opinion, the platform can be a little expensive. However the platform does give you a risk free trial for 30 days. I feel that although the platform overall is a bit pricey, it's a really nice feature to allow users to try the platform before making a purchase.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As previously stated communication is incredibly important within an organization. I've used matter most as a platform for collaboration and communication to this communication to thrive. I've been able to boost productivity with real time collaboration and all the security necessary for us to trust the platform.. Security is one of the most important things for us as a company


    Staffing and Recruiting

Easy to use and intuitive company chat function

  • November 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to crest channels and groups of like minded individuals to get get together and chat about non work related topics. Also, the ability to tag specific people within a group. Mobile app is easy to use and has a very similar UI to desktop app.
What do you dislike?
Does not display time away in regards to someone's status
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Not solving any problems. Mattermost is providing an easy to use and effective way to communicate company wide.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a capable and intuitive chat function that gets the job done as well as the added bonus of "channels"