Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Sophos UTM 9 Standalone or HA (PAYG)

Sophos | 9.712

Linux/Unix, Other 9.712 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

16 AWS reviews

External reviews

76 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

Easy to use, keeps computers safe

  • July 20, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how quickly it scans my computer and shows me and shows me a detailed log of suspicious activity detected.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I particularly dislike.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Sophos is provided to all University of Washington staff and students free of cost. The main benefit is that it keeps my desktop and labtops virus free.


    Information Technology and Services

Powerful and easy to use

  • July 17, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Sophos UTM is an easy to manage firewall which can get you working very quickly. You can create rules with multiple objects each with a different subnet. This helps in reducing the amount of firewall rules required and makes it quicker to manage. NAT is also very easy to set up in the firewall and this includes complicated Full NATs where the source and destinations are both changed. You can also connect Sophos Access Points where you can setup captive portals with AD login or Voucher based access etc.. Compared to other competitors we have tried Sophos is powerful and very intuitive.
What do you dislike?
No rule hit counter which could help cleaning unused rules. No cli for granular control if required. IPS performance affects real time traffic like video or SIP. No support for elliptic curve crypto.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Since we are so used to Sophos we can quickly and very efficiently set up VPNs and complicated NAT which sometimes is needed to be done very quickly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As with other firewalls trial is key. Everyone has different tastes and requirements.


    Robbie H.

Sophos watches out for you

  • July 17, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
i like the Sophos Central portal and how easy it is to access the many functions Sophos UTM has to offerr
What do you dislike?
Sophos customer support is a bit lacking at the moment with a lot of resolutions being to re image or reinstall software
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are solving are device encryption, virus or malicious software control
Recommendations to others considering the product:
well recommended but prepare to muddle through issues with customer support


    Computer & Network Security

Easy to sell security

  • July 16, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Devices are easy to switch out and copy over confit files when we have issues.
What do you dislike?
Our techs find the Sophos support not as helpful as they would kike
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We lease these to our clients aspect of an MSP offering. This helps us manage risk.


    Information Technology and Services

Great protection for Windows machines

  • July 14, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to roll out from a Sophos firewall to windows computers on our network. Being able to make sure everything is up to date and implemented from the firewall is great.
What do you dislike?
We recently started moving all of our end user computers to Apple. Sophos does not have a proper distribution of this software for Macs that can be controlled from the firewall. It ends up being a free, standard antivirus product
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Enduser protection and not having to be concerned about our end user devices.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are using a sophos firewall, but you are a apple product heavy enviroment, it will not have the full features it would with windows.


    Airlines/Aviation

Amazing firewall

  • July 11, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use and how simple setting up everything is. How much simple customization you can do. The complete and active log that you can just watch if something is getting blocked its pretty simple to track down.
What do you dislike?
There is honestly nothing I don't like about this software. I will say that when you first start using it however
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being able to fully work with customization of the computer/user level and how much of what they see on the internet. Also blocking ads from the firewall level is really nice.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't hesitate it's a really great firewall.


    Mark D.

Decent AV Software

  • July 10, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easily deployment from the master console. Policies are fairly easy to set and apply. We were able to utilize this for securing our environment by setting computer policies such as USB lockdown, etc.
What do you dislike?
Uninstalling from a machine is quite the chore. It is a several step process that is time consuming. Doing this en mass was very difficult when we had issues from our deployment at one point.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Antivirus.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Uninstalling the application is very difficult if it is needed to be done in mass.


    Information Technology and Services

Sophos

  • July 09, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A great and useful tool that allows us to deploy sophos to machines as well as manage our corporate devices helping keep devices up to date and malware free.
What do you dislike?
Nothing yet, it serves it purpose at my work environment and is beneficial to the company. I would like a weekly report on devices.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It’s allows us to deploy agents to laptops, mobiles and desktops. It notifys the IT Team when a device has malware.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
N/A


    Wholesale

Decent Product

  • July 06, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to administer and not invasive. Able to rollout company-wide very easily
What do you dislike?
Not much although it does not play nicely with other products (i.e. Cylance)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Helps to reduce the risk of users downloading malware or visiting dangerous sites


    Liang

Really good product

  • July 06, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I'm really not sure why this product is getting so much negative reviews. Here's my 2 cents:
1. This is probably the only device that can give you VPN + MFA (a Sophos mobile app soft token) right out of the box. Other big name network security devices usually require you to integrate with another service like Okta or add another server like a RADIUS server.
2. Has multiple Site to Site VPN and Remote Access VPN protocols builtin.
3. Can directly dump its log to CloudWatch logs, other network devices require you to add another syslog server to do the same thing
4. Has great IPS, IDS, Firewall functionalities, it is actually difficult to outgrow this device's capability.
5. Sophos charges $.1/hr for t2.small. You have to pay multiple of that price to get equivalent features from large vendors. And you would have to pay $$$$ to hire a competent network engineer to duplicate Sophos features on a vanilla linux box.
6. I've called Sophos Technical Support @ 1 888 767 4679 for difficult problems, such as configuring Sophos in a complicated VPC setup, ask them to explain vague documentations, work some obscure features, etc. Their support has been patient, staying on the phone for hours to diagnose the problems. And the support is getting a lot more AWS knowledgable over the past 2 years I've been using Sophos. So good job Sophos!
I've deployed and have seen deployed 10s of Sophos in a variety of projects for different tasks, remote access VPN, site to site VPN, NAT-T, WAF, packet inspection, firewalls etc. This little device has been solid.