Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Sophos UTM 9 Standalone or HA (PAYG)

Sophos | 9.712

Linux/Unix, Other 9.712 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

16 AWS reviews

External reviews

76 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Solid software

  • July 02, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy organization of all machines. Alerts for potential hazards and vulnerabilities
What do you dislike?
Can be tough to perform advanced configuration when performing maintenance and software tests.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Antivirus. Protection of company/sensitive information


    Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Great Product

  • July 02, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Malware and web threats features work perfect
What do you dislike?
I don't really like the tamper protection password feature.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Get notified when a client computer is infected.


    Defense & Space

Positive Contender in Threat Mgmt Space

  • July 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to manage platform that provides deep insight into our environment.
What do you dislike?
We don't really have any dislikes for Sophos. It just works as intended.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Used for Vulnerability Management and light Threat Intelligence. Fits in nice with our other platforms.


    Computer Software

Great device to protect your network from intrusion

  • June 29, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I would say that I like the easy to use interface the best
What do you dislike?
Some features are hidden and difficult to find.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The Sophos is a true unified threats management device that works great for point of sale networks to maintain PCI compliance.


    Banking

Sophos Yes or No

  • June 13, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Sophos was easy enough to install, the big issue was running it while other products were running. Periodically it would crash
What do you dislike?
Hard to maintain any updates and or patches always seem to be a nightmare trying to get in
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It address some of our vulnerability issues


    Marketing and Advertising

Simple

  • May 16, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to deploy and easy to manage. Utm guves perfect control ovee network traffic and user activities.
What do you dislike?
Support from the vendor was a little slow
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Full control over network traffic and users


    Adam R.

Sophos UTM

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Objects can be created and re-named on the fly. Firewall rules and policies are very easy to configure. The live log feature is very easy to navigate and see what is being blocked where.
What do you dislike?
I wish that the interface would not time out and have issues when first logging into the web interface.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We solved the problems of other firewall vendors going end of life with no replacements. The benefits of Sophos was the ease of use with a very responsive web interface.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The web interface takes a little bit of getting used to, but once you have learned how to get around, it makes a lot of sense and can be very easy to configure.


    Information Technology and Services

Sophos

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It pretty much blocked mostly everything. It was pretty inexpensive software compared to what my company is using now.
What do you dislike?
It blocked almost everything. Even company related sites. It was also pain to uninstall this software as well.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Anti-virus software suite.


    Luis P.

Is a robust and easy to use administrative plataform to our network

  • April 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The easy interface and the multiples features , no matter whats device we use; stations, mobile, all network and data are safe from threats, regardless of where tour users work. Only a small training of few hours are enough to get started in its basic configuration.
What do you dislike?
Honestly, the price compared to similar solutions is high, in the same way the access point devices have high prices despite its technical characteristics.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our UTM resolved is a very good way to our network management and protection of our emails plataform. Also allowed a simpler administration of broadband connections and our remote locations and office.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Your must make a very thorough assessment of your needs, infrastructure and number of computers and users. It is not convenient to use the Sophos UTM in his maximum hardware requirement


    Jeremiah H.

Sophos UTM - Powerful yet easy to use

  • April 26, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of use. The Sophos interface is really clean and easy to understand. You don't need very much training to be able to use. It is almost like the Mac for UTMs (I know some may not like that, but I mean that it is less console/script based set-up/admin and more UI and friendly, yet still secure).
What do you dislike?
The method of opening ports is slightly different from most other 'firewalls' and takes some getting used to, but once you understand the process and how it works it is fine, you just have to re-train your brain a little. I prefer the interface for the current models compared to the UTM 9.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Protection of our systems. This is our firewall. It not only protects our network, but it acts as our content filter. We can warn users when they are about to download a filetype the could be dangerous, as well as limit or warn for certain website types that might be dangerous. We also use one for a remote office location so the VPN tunnel is of great benefit.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it time. Be prepared to learn the nuances. Find a good resource for if/when you need help. We rolled it out and I have added/turned on features in stages. Their customer service is good as well. I had a unit whose HD failed and they overnighted a new unit to me. Really appreciated that to get me back up and running.