Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Sophos UTM 9 Standalone or HA (PAYG)

Sophos | 9.605

Linux/Unix, Other 9.605 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

16 AWS reviews

External reviews

70 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Luis P.

Is a robust and easy to use administrative plataform to our network

  • April 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The easy interface and the multiples features , no matter whats device we use; stations, mobile, all network and data are safe from threats, regardless of where tour users work. Only a small training of few hours are enough to get started in its basic configuration.
What do you dislike?
Honestly, the price compared to similar solutions is high, in the same way the access point devices have high prices despite its technical characteristics.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our UTM resolved is a very good way to our network management and protection of our emails plataform. Also allowed a simpler administration of broadband connections and our remote locations and office.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Your must make a very thorough assessment of your needs, infrastructure and number of computers and users. It is not convenient to use the Sophos UTM in his maximum hardware requirement


    Rudy G

Have been using product for years successfully

  • April 26, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Product does a great job at protecting our infrastructure, we use all features, and find the product easy to manage and configure. We use on a small environment, under 20 servers.


    Construction

Sophos Unified Threat Management

  • April 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to install. Easy to use. Can be locked by an administrator so no one can tamper with it after it's installed.
What do you dislike?
Kind of clunky graphical user interface.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Anti-virus on my MA


    Jeremiah H.

Sophos UTM - Powerful yet easy to use

  • April 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of use. The Sophos interface is really clean and easy to understand. You don't need very much training to be able to use. It is almost like the Mac for UTMs (I know some may not like that, but I mean that it is less console/script based set-up/admin and more UI and friendly, yet still secure).
What do you dislike?
The method of opening ports is slightly different from most other 'firewalls' and takes some getting used to, but once you understand the process and how it works it is fine, you just have to re-train your brain a little. I prefer the interface for the current models compared to the UTM 9.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Protection of our systems. This is our firewall. It not only protects our network, but it acts as our content filter. We can warn users when they are about to download a filetype the could be dangerous, as well as limit or warn for certain website types that might be dangerous. We also use one for a remote office location so the VPN tunnel is of great benefit.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it time. Be prepared to learn the nuances. Find a good resource for if/when you need help. We rolled it out and I have added/turned on features in stages. Their customer service is good as well. I had a unit whose HD failed and they overnighted a new unit to me. Really appreciated that to get me back up and running.


    Dale C.

Good product, but not a "one solution fits all needs"

  • April 22, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the capabilities of the software overall. You can effectively protect most any scenario and block anything you want.
What do you dislike?
The user interface is not intuitive at all. It is exceptionally granular and requires a significant learning curve just to deploy in it's most basic form. Although it has the capabilities to perform, it's capabilities are overshadowed by the difficulty in setup and usability. For most small to medium businesses I would personally say that it's overkill. When factoring in cost of software, configuration time and support it becomes very costly. Especially so when compared to equally as capable and robust solutions. There is the correct tool for every job. Although you could use a pair of pliers to hammer in a nail, a hammer would be the best tool for the job. Make sure to research all options for your scenario before committing to this as it may not be the best fit for you.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It provides protection for my network and the ability to minutely make changes and enforce rules.


    Information Technology and Services

Great firewall/IPS/IDS for small business

  • April 18, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The box is an all in one GUI for firewall and IDS/IPS solution.
What do you dislike?
The only downside I see is a novice could attempt to set this up and can really mess settings up.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Replaced firewall, IPS/IDS and email filtering solutions with one UTM.


    Hospital & Health Care

UTM brings best of new software to the table

  • April 13, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Our workplace is finally streamlined with the reliability healthcare demands of its technology.
What do you dislike?
We had some initial issues with communications between project manager and company reps but they were quickly resolved.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security, decreased likelihood of reportable event, increased technological compliance.


    Information Technology and Services

Best Unified Threat Management

  • April 13, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Sophos UTM Appliances with Firewall Sandboxing Provides Maximum Network Protection at an Affordable Price.
What do you dislike?
Single Sign-On(SSO) user authentication is not possible prior to version 9.2
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Good threat protection


    Information Technology and Services

Hit and miss

  • March 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I guess the amount of features we've seen with Sophos.
What do you dislike?
Everything else.
We have to continually do Sophos remediations, scouring through dump logs and registry keys to fix host devices that break while using Sophos.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Protection for users


    Al W.

Sophos UTM - My Gatekeeper

  • March 28, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Our Sophos SG230 has provided as much bang for the buck as we could get when it comes to protecting and administering our network security. It has all of the baseline firewall functionality in the definitions and rules that are either automatically set up or added by the user. I love the additional security I see as it blocks traffic to known bad actors using the Sophos database which though not as extensive as Cisco's is still quite substantial. I've seen this thing alert and block the wrong thing enough times to know I don't want to live with anything less and am seriously considering an XG230 in the near term. It also does a great job with the Sophos Wireless Access points.
What do you dislike?
It is complicated at times and you have to manually perform firmware updates. I would love to see that scheduled from the dashboard. I would love to see more granularity on the monitoring and reporting of traffic.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Before Sophos we had an infection that would have been stopped by the Sophos SG230. The current situation is so bad it's depressing. The network is under constant attack and probing for absolutely the worst of reasons. There is an army arrayed against us and products such as the Sophos UTM are our early warning system, first line of defense and counter-intelligence agency.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at Sophos and keep in mind the companion products such as endpoint protection, WAPs, the variety of VPN flavors.