Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Redis 3.0

Jetware | 170503-redis_3_0_7

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

108 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Public Safety

I have used Redis for store/cache some informtion and generally I have used this in Laravel

  • January 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I'm like it's performance and very good tech to store some information that will not be in general DB
What do you dislike?
this That in windows installation of Redisis very hard
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have


    Missak b.

The Best Distributed Caching Solution

  • January 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Redis can be accessed with many programming languages. Easy to work with. Documentation is very clear. Redis is also very fast since it uses key value mechanism.
What do you dislike?
It would have been better to have more complex queries.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have a cron job that I prepopulate data and put it in the queue. Users fetch records from the RAM one by one


    Gabe L.

Perfect Documentation

  • January 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I use the Redis API in my python web-stack and it is one of the slickest things I have ever had the pleasure of working with. The application that I maintain, deepquill.com, needs to serve a high volume of requests while doing continuous cloud-resource tracking/management and it all has to happen asynchronously, so naturally I turned to Redis for a high speed caching solution. At the time I knew only Postgres and Redis works very differently, so I was new to the whole system. The solution I needed to implement with this database wasn't exactly trivial either, so I was prepared to spend a good amount of time slogging through source code to learn what I needed to alter to get this module to work how I wanted it to. -- To this day I have not seen a single line of it's source code -- It's all there in the documentation, written in plain English with examples and use-cases galore! Even if there were a faster and more reliable caching solution on the market (which there isn't) , I would honestly still pick Redis if only for it's thorough and accessible documentation.
What do you dislike?
The only downside I could identify with this solution is that it is not really meant to store data in a persistent form. At least not by default. Redis does everything in volatile memory (which is why it can be so fast) , and while it is easy to set it up to write your data to disk from time to time (it's maybe 3 lines of code tops), it can potentially be confusing to people who come from a more traditional database and expect their data to still be there after a power cycle. The only people who would really suffer from this misunderstanding are those didn't read the manual though, so don't be one of those and you'll be fine. Just be warned: if you want Redis to record your data in a persistent form, you have to explicitly tell it to do that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I needed to keep track of user activity, resource utilization, message caching, and the status of many containers on many AWS EC2 instances with high time-resolution, and manipulate all of this data in such a way as to make it easy to tell when to do what with which resource (margins are slim so we want to be as efficient possible) Redis handles ALL of this for us and deals with asynchronous operations in a most sane and predictable way. Redis also lets us encrypt all of our data moving between layers, which is pretty badass in my opinion.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are trying to control a secured Redis server using a shell script you want to use a "-a" flag followed by the password. This was the only thing I've found that wasn't explained in the documentation. But now you know!


    Muhammad Akbar H.

Because Redis can minimalizes resource using Caching

  • January 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Redis is best for caching, easy to set up, and easy to use. I'm still new with Redis, but I really like Redis because Redis is really helping me to cache data, I usually use Redis on Heroku or on my local machine, it's really easy to setup Redis on Heroku because you can just select from the Heroku features you need, and select the Redis features, it really helps me to deploy an app to Heroku using Redis.
What do you dislike?
No, I really like Redis, I don't think that I disliked Redis
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
API request faster if using Redis because our data is cached on Redis.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I think we should start using Redis because with Redis you can cache your data, I usually use Redis on Heroku or on my local machine, it's really easy to setup Redis on Heroku because you can just select from the Heroku features you need, and select the Redis features, it really helps me to deploy an app to Heroku using Redis.


    Computer Software

Robust and fast

  • January 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Quick key lookups.
The data distribution is easy, robust and reliable&
What do you dislike?
If the instance goes down, there is no backup preserved. Single-threaded. Also a little expensive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Use it instead of cache.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
use it if you use other amazon products/aws


    SAI BABA NADH K.

Faster and Reliable Yet OpenSource

  • January 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Redis is one of my favorite databases. We have used Redis with NodeJS and Python. Due to its highly available nature, we used it in several areas like authentication & authorization, frequent HTTP response data caching, session management. We experienced that read/writes to Redis very faster, highly scalable, and reliable. Thanks to Redis Team to make it opensource so that we can use it freely.
What do you dislike?
It would be really great if we can store key-file in Redis like we store key-value now.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data Caching, Active Sessions, Web Authentications


    Nishikant R.

A fast and reliable data storage system.

  • August 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a very fast and easy tool to implement, and also to configure the Redis services to our most peculiar environment that we want to give the service, highlighting that this system is highly compatible, since there are many tools that are based on this field of work in the software, determining that it is very flexible in understanding its subject matter, especially the developers who become familiar with this operational branch, while exercising a very guaranteed reliability.
What do you dislike?
We can highlight that it contains some difficulties to scale Redis in a correct way in its entirety, making a point of reference that lately this software has become prohibitively expensive, since it exceeds the budget limits of many small category companies mostly, which contains a development process lower than other organizations, which cannot afford to pay these monthly payments, being an economic problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are currently using Redis to support distributed caching and synchronization in our application in a totally effective way in every sense, mentioning that our servers are operated on different systems, so ensuring that the entire infrastructure is well linked and that the key operations are atomic, it is very fundamental for us, to carry out complete and feasible jobs in any sense of visualization, offering us great performance and reliability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a great tool for highly distributed caching, on different servers, being used today by different categories of company sizes, from the small ones that can afford to pay its extensive price, to the largest and most significant development, which works much better when more tasks are integrated into the software, highlighting that Redis also works well for non-persistent data that does not grow over time.


    Nagesh C.

Excellent solution for distributes cache

  • April 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Redis is extremely stable and comes with a powerful community support, learning curve is easy .
What do you dislike?
Nothing as such, working fine for our use cases and solving all infra problems,
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have used Redis cluster to be used as a distributed cache solution and managing GBs of data with a minimal set of nodes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Redis provides a one stop solution for Enterprise applications, one must use it for distributed cache solution.


    Nidhi R.

Data management tool

  • October 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very easy to install redis, i used it in ubuntu server. The steps where very easy for installation.
What do you dislike?
I was stucked with creating another instance on redis , the official documentation was not providing the information i needed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used it with dot net core and ubuntu server for storing the data on redis, it stores the value in key value pair.


    Information Technology and Services

Easy to install, easy to use

  • October 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to install, very easy to use, easy to connect to ELK stack (and that was my need)
What do you dislike?
It is not so easy to create and manage cluster of Redis, it is easyer with other product (I choose Kafka in this case)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Really easy to use inside an architecture with the ELK stack, expecially with LogStash as input and output