Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Redis 3.0

Jetware | 170503-redis_3_0_7

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

109 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ng Z.

Easy to use. But too expensive. Memory limited

  • October 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to use. A novice can pick it up and put to use almost immediately. Documentation very easily done
What do you dislike?
Very expensive, because of memory limitation. Not sure if the current version supports multiple instances
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I needed a database that offers very fast read and write operations. Redis delivered. Except that my needs have outgrown now
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's really the Swiss army knife. Documentation is a breeze to pick up. Really! Performance is as advertised.


    Frank M.

More than a database

  • April 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Redis is easy to install, clean, nothing complex. The usage via CLI or drivers for programming languages - I wrote two for Google Go and Erlang/OTP - is simple too. But whats most fascinating is the fact, that it's not only a key/value store. The different types like hash, list, set, sorted set, hyper log log, and geo are great and useful. Also pub/sub and the internal Lua scripting help a lot. And last but not least is Redis extreme fast.
What do you dislike?
The transaction model is a bit different. Users have to understand it and care for it. Additionally there's no real security model, only a simple authentication via password. There's no multi-user model and no right control regarding types, keys, or key patterns. So this has to be done by the using application while the database is secure on an internal server.

The database does not work with queries on values. Keys can be queried, other indexes have to by created by using sorted sets. But that's not the typical usage of Redis, so no larger problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mostly two types of use cases. One is the typical use as a cache, simply because it's fast and the automatic key expiration (if wanted) helps a lot. The other one is the temporary aggregation of statistical data using the different data types. For some smaller projects I'm also using it as a simple data store.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Simply try it together with the CLI and visit the web site http://redis.io to see the available commands. Most clients directly let you use these commands or provide them through own functions.


    Peter J.

My favourite Database of Alltime

  • April 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its basically a datastructure store. You have a lot of data types like lists, sets, sorted sets, hash and these can directly interface with our programming languages database.
It is and in-memory database so its extremely fast and very good for high read throughput and heavy read workloads.
It is open source and free which makes it really trustworthy. It is used by us for our job server and also as a message queue and pub sub functionality for realtime notifications. Its backup and save mechanisms are really good and is easier to use than most other databases.
Its command protocol is very easy to use and implement and very fast also. Pipeling also improves threshold and is currently the fastest database I've seen.
What do you dislike?
It doesn't have truly serializable ACID transactions . Its clustering support is still not fault tolerant. It can't be used as your primary database. Doesn't have proper query language so analytics becomes a little hard and we may need to use lua for it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We bring gamification to the global mass. One importart feature for gamification is leaderboards and we use redis sorted sets a lot for it. We also use it for caching our sessions so that our users get an immediate response and we don't need to hit our databases for everything.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have a lot of reads hitting your main database then you need to get redis and that stuff man.


    chedi t.

redis review

  • April 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Redis as a key/value network storage database gives exactly what it advertises. the In memory storage can really boost the performance of many application while relieving the developer of the headache of managing shared memory between threads or programs on the same machine or over network.

With the increasing reliability of the hardware, we are unlikely to have a server failure that will cause the loss of the data and even if that is an issue, with the persistent storage and the data replication between servers you can have a robust system that will keep your data with little to no overhead
What do you dislike?
nothing in particular, redis is a very reliable product that do one thing and do it right
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We started using redis as a cache system for Django, but with passing time we started using it directly in to share data between various applications and systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Redis is a great tool for storing key value data, don't use it a relational database and adapt your software to redis and not the other way around to get the most of it.


    Henry K.

Excellent tool

  • March 01, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Redis is a very reliable in-memory database with persistency. I've had great experiences using it both as a message broker and as a cache database. It is certainly a tool that I'll pick whenever I need cache or memory consistency between multiple microservices or atomic message passing through publish/subscribe.
What do you dislike?
I don't recall having bad times with redis.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've used redis as a cache service, which has been excellent and also as a middleware between microservices, passing messages through publish/subscribe with namespace and wildcards.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a very useful tool and I'd always recommend it in first place instead of other options in the market.


    Gambling & Casinos

A good nosql solution

  • February 05, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Redis is a good solution if you are searching for something different of SQL structure.
It can be used in different ways depending on the needs, we have used mainly as a cache exploiting its speed of interrogation by key-value.
What do you dislike?
As for the use that I did, just some initial difficulties in being able to interpret, understand and use correctly the query language by Key
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Some queries to the relational database have been optimized thanks to the aid of the memory in the cache, thus avoiding to make an excessive number of calls to the DB and thus lowering the work load on SQL servers.


    Stewart H.

A Distributed Workhorse

  • January 28, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
My absolute favorite thing about this tool is its distributed, swiss army knife nature. Need a distributed job queue, distributed set, map.
What do you dislike?
The issue that I dislike the most is probably the cost that comes along with holding everything in memory. We have to use some hefty instances on AWS to yield the benefits of having certain data available at a moments notice.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For the most part, we are storing jobs that software needs to run on it in a distributed fashion. It has been very easy to implement and easy to monitor.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend setting this software up locally to start, installing the python client for it and toying around with it. It is very easy to get started with. Just watch the instance sizing if you are using Digital Ocean, AWS, etc as it likes the memory which greatly bumps the costs up.


    Robinson A.

A Key-value database with high reliability and scability.

  • January 24, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It can get any simpler than a couple commands to get it up and running. It doesn't matter either you need a database for something as simple as a ToDo implementation or something more complicated as a forum, Redis can do that and much more.
What do you dislike?
Being a membased db, it all comes down to physical memory. If you're running in a Low-budget enviroment and a very high traffic towards db data consumption you might encounter a couple issues here and there with Redis, as it can be limited by the hardware or a wrong system configuration.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a javascript developer i use a bunch of NoSQL databases. Redis has come handy when i have to deal with low traffic and low sized databases. Personal websites, blogs, maybe some LAN tournament rankings can be done using this as a database engine.


    Jack L.

Use to build the cache bachground is very quickly and conveniently

  • January 21, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Favorite redis running speed and operating convenience, I can quickly build a background application. Especially with redis caching function when, redis can satisfy demand.
What do you dislike?
redis data persistence and is not easy, redis need to provide a more convenient way to secure data persistence.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
caching


    Gambling & Casinos

Website cache

  • January 20, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
easy to use, fast and reliable. perfect for high availability
What do you dislike?
some problems during installation, nothing important but it should be easier. ok for data manipulation but i think not so fast for that
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we've boosted cache performance in a business website using redis