Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Secured Apache Tomcat 9 on Windows 2012 R2

Cognosys Inc. | Tomcat 9 on WIN 2012 R2 V 1.0.9

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 2012 r2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

88 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Apache Tomcat review

  • February 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat server is best for light weight application.
Easy to setup.
Administrator console is easy to use
What do you dislike?
Doesn't support very huge application
Node configuration is not possible
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have telecom business application for quotation
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best product for light weight application


    Han-Tsung L.

Apache Tomcat Server

  • January 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Tomcat has been around for almost 20 years. I find it best for its stability in the software development process and a popular method for deploying Java applications for providing middleware support for web applications. Best of all, it is an open-source software that is maintained by open community with new releases and updates periodically.
What do you dislike?
I have not found any reason in particular to dislike about this product. For someone who is still new to the web development process, such as using Eclipse or the terminal to startup tomcat, and how server works in general, then it might be difficult to figure out how to configure your environment for JRE/JDK and CATALINA environment variables. Otherwise, it is fairly straight forward.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Tomcat is currently used as it is intended for hosting server-side components of a web application and providing endpoints and data retrieval from the data storage in the database. One benefit in which I have realized is that Tomcat has built-in users and roles which allows a team/developer to build user authentication and roles for the web application under construction. Furthermore, to deploy a web application is as simple as starting up the Apache tomcat server then drop the WAR file generated from building the web application.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your end goal is to quickly spin up a new server for hosting a server endpoint for a java application and possibly using Eclipse as your IDE, then tomcat is definitely the one to go.


    Financial Services

Apache tomcat

  • December 13, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open source code, java servlet, provides great environment for java code to run.
What do you dislike?
I do not dislike anything other than the issue that it fails sometimes. Thanks for all your advice on tomcat documentation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are trying to run our java code on a java servlet in tomcat.


    Raghu T.

Best Open Source Application server

  • November 03, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Most used Server and light weight.
WAR files are Hot Deploy-able, Not need to restart the server.
If we struck in configuration settings, we easily can find the solutions in internet easily.
What do you dislike?
Need more out of box security layers.
if we want to develop rich applications, need to think of other application web server.
If more WAR files are deployed, server will take time to restart the server.
Needs to improve the documentation for the explaining the configuration settings.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Open Source server, No need to buy license.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best Open Source Portal.
Easy to migrate from one version to another version.


    Higher Education

Apache Tomcat server

  • October 23, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Can run applications developed on local machine.

Bit fast to check the applications.

And the performance of the product.

Some with knowledge of JAVA and a basic understanding of PATH would be able to get a Tomcat server up and running in a couple of minutes.
What do you dislike?
Bit limited in providing documentation.

Access Log Valve not being enabled by default.

User-friendly CLI messages would be great for new users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Most of the applications that are required by the business are developed and then further testing by running them on Apache tomcat server on local machine. Saving time to keep deploying on actual server. It being open source software and a huge community base.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A great product to used


    Computer Software

Much like the rest of Java, bloated, slow and cumbersome

  • August 03, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nothing, even the logo is annoying. It's like going back a decade or more in awlful software.
What do you dislike?
Pretty much everything about it. IIS is more user friendly, Nginx is cooler to use, Apache is far more performant.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The only reason to use it is that you've built your application on Java/Swing. And may God have mercy on your soul if you've started a greenfield project using these outdated technologies.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Move away from Java slowly....slowly....Choose anything else!


    Information Technology and Services

Simple and powerful server

  • July 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best application server for Java available in the market. Its simple yet very powerful for use.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing in specific to dislike about the product
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hosting applications on the internet


    Information Technology and Services

A good back end software for web based apps

  • July 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
For the most part, this application is solid and very reliable. We used it for back end software applications and it's rare we even need to touch it.
What do you dislike?
Java updates constantly break it. This is no fault of the software but it is extremely annoying. It can also be a huge memory hog unless you limit it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We benefit from a reliable, easy to troubleshoot application that does what we need it to do.


    Quim J.

Un producto solido.

  • July 30, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fácil de desarrollar y aplicaciones web. La mayoría de las personalizaciones e integraciones están bien documentadas y son fáciles de implementar.
What do you dislike?
La configuración de un marco de registro no predeterminado no es fácil.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Alojando nuestro producto SaaS en la nube. Como desarrollador, la simplicidad de crear una instancia de desarrollo de tomcat es crucial. Puedo ponerme en funcionamiento en unos minutos sin personalizaciones. Esta simplicidad me permite concentrarme en los problemas que mi empresa está tratando de resolver, y no en la infraestructura.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Aprende con vídeos de youtube.


    Staffing and Recruiting

My first steps on Apache Tomcat

  • July 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The manager used to upload projects is very simple to use. It has a great stability and has no problems with MySQL connections. I manage the deplyment of several web application in JSP and I have no problems, no unexpected server crases or web applications shutdowns.
What do you dislike?
It is not as easy to configure as I would like. You have to find out how to configure/secure your Apache Tomcat, there is a lot of documentation on configurations but for a non-expert user, the information is not entirely clear.
When you have to change the version of an application, you have to stop the application, which is normal, and replicate it, by doing this everything is deleted, there were problems once since some documents that had been uploaded by the users were lost.
For subsequent versions of this application, another project was created where these files were uploaded in order to change versions without having to make a backup of the documents with each version change.
This is not sufficiently documented to avoid this type of failure.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I make some web applications running on Apache Tomcat. All applications have connection with MySQL database and allow sending files to the server, as well as generating reports to download.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache Tomcat configuration is not as easy as you want, but, it works great, it has a good stability and it's free.
It works great with MySQL, you can have a correct web server full of applications with no cost without counting the hosting costs.