Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Secured Apache Tomcat 9 on Windows 2012 R2

Cognosys Inc. | Tomcat 9 on WIN 2012 R2 V 1.0.9

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 2012 r2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

81 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

I used it as our web server

  • July 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to install, easy to run, not too complex to use, many resources online
What do you dislike?
Hangs sometimes when multiple concurrent sessions, but our system hardware may be also a factor.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Develop an web application. Primary web server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good one to start with for newbies. Simple and elegant.


    Information Technology and Services

A good software to perform POC Java web based application

  • May 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The software is free, and the installation is very easy, no matter is it running on Linux, Mac, or Windows platform. A lot of commercial application server had the tomcat as one of its component, and added extra functionality on top of it. It is very easy to configure, compare to other commercial server. It had reached up to version 9, and it had a lot of new functionality like websocket.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really. It is very simple to setup, but one needs to read the documentation to try out different features. Even though the software is small compare to other commercial counterpart, it is still a very versatile software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Use as a prototype to build a JSP based application. Good for testing Javascript based framework with JSP technology
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try the APR runtime if you are running in Windows. It had better performance than the default configuration.


    Marc S.

tomcat review

  • March 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat's best feature is probably how easy it is to setup & run (i'm using various Linux distros).
It's perfect for running (big or small scale) java based web applications (any web framework), and scores bonus points for being open source & part of the Apache Foundation.
What do you dislike?
I have not tried this in quite some time, but i recall trying to integrate Tomcat with Eclipse (IDE) as a tough task. I remember having to really fine tune the Eclipse plugins/installations to get things working (which may be as much of a fault with Eclipse as it was Tomcat). I've since switched to using Jetty for debugging my apps inside of Eclipse.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a developer (and sometimes operations guy), finding solutions that save me time is critical...and this is one area (with Tomcat) that has proven useful. I can bake a custom AWS AMI with tomcat on it, and using a configuration management tool like Chef, i can get a new instance of my java application up and running fast.

And in the end, the less time i need to be on my application servers, the better. :)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You'd be silly not to give it a shot for your java web application needs. Can't beat free, in my opinion (most of the time).


    Isaac Z.

Java HTTP Server, Not JVM.

  • January 07, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Ease to use
2. Good document
3. Write extension ease.
What do you dislike?
1. XML as configuration file. It's ugly and the parsing is hard
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Backend server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is good for java newer users.


    Timothy S.

Tomcat for Java Web Applications

  • January 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Tomcat is a no brainer to run if you are a Java shop. It meets all the Java 7 and Java 8 web runtime needs without a bloated JEE overhead. It works great for Spring, Spring Boot, Dropwizard and other modern microservice frameworks. It is speedy enough and runs with minimal or no setup.
What do you dislike?
It is not quite as fast as Jetty, I sometimes use Jetty for Spring Boot services sometimes Tomcat. They interchange easily. Java applications with JDBC to a SQL database are probably better off with Tomcat. Tomcat also has a ton of versions so it's a bit of pain to manage all that you may have in your enterprise. If you are doing traditional WARs then you have a lot of configuration files to touch and you have to make sure you have your SQL configs correct. A Paas is easier for that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running web applications for free with open source. We have achieved that. Performance and stability at zero cost. hard to argue with that success. Runs all our JRuby, Java, Scala, Groovy and other JVM web apps with no issues. We also use it with some open source web applications and they run without admin intervention.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it it's a quick and easy download. Or you can just use it through Spring Boot, it's the default built in web run agent. It works easy for WARs or JARS through Spring Boot.


    Varun N.

Apache tomcat is awesome

  • October 23, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's the best product I've ever used. I did many projects using apache in my undergraduate. I still use this for my apps and I love it.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes I got error while using later I found out the solutions and finally it worked.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have solved the problem of multiple access at the same time and developed the application successfully.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its very useful for doing projects and has very good operations. Its user friendly.


    Sindhusha D.

Amazing Application Server

  • October 13, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Firstly, Tomcat served a lot in developing web applications. It was very easy to use even for beginners.
What do you dislike?
Tomcat errors was common but still it is very effective in developing applications in IDE
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I worked it with eclipse and developed web applications
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend each and every user to use this


    Computer Software

Ease of use and setup

  • June 24, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like how easy it is to integrate with, I switched my Java version from 1.6 to 1.8 and it was an easy and straightforward upgrade
What do you dislike?
I'd like if there was more documentation, for times when I run into issues and there isnt much I can find online.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Working on a small project to bring a web application up.


    Internet

The quickest app server

  • October 13, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, easy to setup, easy to run.
What do you dislike?
I love everything. Nothing disliking.....
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Application server to deploy dynamic web application.


    Flora J.

The best freeware web server from Apache Software Foundation .

  • May 13, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Tomcat works as a complete standalone web server . It not only supports static web pages , server side components , CGI scripts and applications associated with a client server based application . More than anything its a freeware .
2 . It always support for the most advanced Servlet API with newest versions Since it is developed by Apache Software Foundation , with its reference implementation for servlet and JSP .
3. It can be implemented as a add on servlet engine to the existing server .
What do you dislike?
1 . It is not as good as commercial application server in delivering static HTML pages and maintaining other specifications such as clustering, load-balancing, session handling in a cluster is not as good as when request response is heavily loaded .
2 . Difficult to maintain many hosts . Requires separate configuration for each virtual host
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Tomcat is a definitely to be considered if applications are less complex and needs faster application loading on restart .