Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Secured Apache Tomcat 9 on Windows 2012 R2

Cognosys Inc. | Tomcat 9 on WIN 2012 R2 V 1.0.9

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 2012 r2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

88 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Hamza A.

Ubiquitous and powerful tool for Web Servers for Java fans

  • February 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Given that Tomcat has been around for a while now, the development community for this software has grown and with it the software's abilities and its robustness. It is no wonder that it's widely used in industry today. Spinning up a web server has been made very easy with its IDE integration (I used IntelliJ IDEA). Having worked for companies that have a Java-only codebase for backend, it was a no-brainer to use Apache Tomcat as a major pillar in developing the full stack of the web application. The main thing I like about Tomcat is its excellent implementation and powerful components that work together in managing various aspects of the web app from hosting Java servlets to managing load on large-scale applications.
What do you dislike?
It can take some time to wrap your head around how it works (it did a bit for me) and its documentation can seem daunting with its large size.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For one of the companies I have worked for, we wanted to spin up a web server to emulate the equivalent functionality that we have for our mobile apps. Since our mobile app is for Android, it would make sense to carry over much of the work to the web server in Java. Creating the full stack for the web server, in addition to creating an administrative tool around it to monitor the applications, Apache Tomcat proved to be a reliable tool in our software stack.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's probably has the largest community in its field. You can't go wrong with using Apache Tomcat for your Java-based web applications. And it's free!


    Danylo H.

Works out of box

  • February 18, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- has eclipse plugin
- when developing, eclipse recompiles classes on change, and tomcat can reread .class on fly, so no need to restart tomcat on trivial changes
- have got no crashes because of tomcat
- can be multi-webapp or multi-cluster
- works on Windows
- updates regularly
- fast handling of HTTP requests
What do you dislike?
- XML configuration format, too complicated default config
- cannot rely on hot reload during production deployments because our application has memory leak
- cannot reuse apache-tribes for software needs, must monkey-patch tomcat distribution
- default logger is JULI, which isn't slf4j-based
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- running server for our mobile game
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- update regularly
- monitor the JVM
- do automatic deploys


    Praveen K.

Using Tomcat Since Last 8 years

  • January 20, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Less configuration, easy deployment process and fast deployment. I started using Tomcat server 5.0 as a web container to deploy our Java based web application, I found it very easy to learn and suitable to support mid size application. Its default configuration is good enough to support small or mid size application.
What do you dislike?
Personally I believe security feature need to be enhanced along with containerization, which supports container wise clustering. Which in turn will also enhanced support for individual session handling along multiple container.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Since start I am associated with service based companies, till date I worked for multiple domains like HealthCare, IOT, Finance(Landing Service), Ecomerce Applications, Fleet Services etc...
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please start thinking to support container clustering, which can support multiple sessions simultaneously, also if possible start support EJB based applications. If possible start thinking to provide some configuration which can stop illegal/malicious requests from different client machines. This will be really very use full and also effective to stop un-necessary hits to different applications which eventually can crash our applications server. Currently precautionary measures are being taken care by individual developers.


    Wei M.

Free, lightweight reliable environment for Java EE

  • October 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to configure, works best with Java EE, free & open-source.
What do you dislike?
Preformance is not so good for large-scale applications.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are currently using Java EE and Tomcat for the web interface of our private cloud. Both Java EE and Tomcat are free of charge, which saved us a lot of cost. So far Tomcat works stable enough for a internal web system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Tomcat is the best choice for small-scale Java EE web applications.


    Cataldo M.

Very good application server!

  • October 19, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I use Tomcat since a lot of time: it is one of the best solution for deploying your web applications in a real-worl scenario and in typical company use cases. I had no problems, and very good effectiveness.
What do you dislike?
Performance can be boosted. Sometimes it requires to reload or re-upload web application, but it's a very little problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is useful for all web applcations you want to deploy. Perfectly coupled with Java and JSP, very very good solution!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I suggest Tomcat as your primary application server! My two cents you'll love it.


    Bruno B.

One of the best app server

  • October 19, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat is a very simple app server, very easy to install, to monitor. It is very simple to build and deploy applications (web app, REST services, ...) with Tomcat. There is a lot of tools that can help you for deploying applications, monitoring them and the app server. And it's free !
What do you dislike?
As it is just a servlet engine, in some use cases, you have to add external libraries to build your applications. For example, there is no transaction manager, no support for JMS, etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have replaced all my websphere and weblogic servers by Tomcat ! Of course, depending on the cases, I had to rewrite part of the code (replacing EJB by web services, or adding a JMS provider such as Apache ActiveMQ, for example). But finally, I have a complete architecture, simpler and with no license cost.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to switch from a full J2EE server, do not forget to consider all the features you use, because Tomcat is not a full J2EE server. But in many cases, it can be used for your applications.


    Veronica S.

Apache Tomcat runs the web interface for our product

  • August 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Using Tomcat is pretty straightforward for us in support. We have issues with our software stability integrating with 3rd party services, but it is not the service's fault
What do you dislike?
The logo is a little ugly. I wish it was actually "a patchy tomcat".

Otherwise what we use it for at my work is just to host our web application. We also modify the settings to set up connections in the DMZ by opening specific ports so one tomcat instance can talk to the other.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Solving: I've never had any stability issues with Tomcat, only with our service we offer integrating with Tomcat but never a problem with the service itself.


Benefits: Easily displays information to both advanced and limited-knowledge users.
"Have you tried restarting Tomcat" is a funny joke in the office
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Reliable, used in the tech industry commonly. I really haven't had any issues with it.


    Computer Software

I used it as our web server

  • July 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to install, easy to run, not too complex to use, many resources online
What do you dislike?
Hangs sometimes when multiple concurrent sessions, but our system hardware may be also a factor.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Develop an web application. Primary web server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good one to start with for newbies. Simple and elegant.


    Information Technology and Services

A good software to perform POC Java web based application

  • May 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The software is free, and the installation is very easy, no matter is it running on Linux, Mac, or Windows platform. A lot of commercial application server had the tomcat as one of its component, and added extra functionality on top of it. It is very easy to configure, compare to other commercial server. It had reached up to version 9, and it had a lot of new functionality like websocket.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really. It is very simple to setup, but one needs to read the documentation to try out different features. Even though the software is small compare to other commercial counterpart, it is still a very versatile software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Use as a prototype to build a JSP based application. Good for testing Javascript based framework with JSP technology
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try the APR runtime if you are running in Windows. It had better performance than the default configuration.


    Marc S.

tomcat review

  • March 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat's best feature is probably how easy it is to setup & run (i'm using various Linux distros).
It's perfect for running (big or small scale) java based web applications (any web framework), and scores bonus points for being open source & part of the Apache Foundation.
What do you dislike?
I have not tried this in quite some time, but i recall trying to integrate Tomcat with Eclipse (IDE) as a tough task. I remember having to really fine tune the Eclipse plugins/installations to get things working (which may be as much of a fault with Eclipse as it was Tomcat). I've since switched to using Jetty for debugging my apps inside of Eclipse.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a developer (and sometimes operations guy), finding solutions that save me time is critical...and this is one area (with Tomcat) that has proven useful. I can bake a custom AWS AMI with tomcat on it, and using a configuration management tool like Chef, i can get a new instance of my java application up and running fast.

And in the end, the less time i need to be on my application servers, the better. :)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You'd be silly not to give it a shot for your java web application needs. Can't beat free, in my opinion (most of the time).