Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

1- Click Ready Secured MongoDB on Windows 2016

Cognosys Inc. | V20.9.1005

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

387 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Robert M.

Fantastic DB for all aspects of the technical lifecycle

  • February 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Quick and easy setup for prototyping applications without overly worrying about data structures, strong integration with high quality frameworks like NodeJS and Meteor, great to use when your using Javascript within your stack. The latest version that allows for joins within the aggregation pipeline has been fantastic.
What do you dislike?
How much flack MongoDB (and most NoSQL DBs) get when people try to use them without understanding their benefits
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Working heavily with the MeteorJS framework which is tied directly to MongoDB, not only do we use it in our production app we also use it for all of data analysis DB
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ensure it meets your requirements, which I guess can be said of any technology, mainly that whatever framework your using integrates well with MongoDB and has all the functionality you need it to have. In particular, how important are lots and lots of joins?


    Anbu Cheeralan V.

Implementation is easy

  • February 08, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to get started and a big user community. variety of use cases have been already implemented with MongoDB and enough documentation, case studies are available.
What do you dislike?
Shell only UI for business users (until 3.2). Shell only access with out using any third party integration was an inconvenience for non-technical users. This is changed with 3.2 though.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Content Management System
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MongoDB handles most of the usecases that are being done by RDBMS traditionally. It's easy to get started.


    Entertainment

Flexibility & Simplicity

  • February 05, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The flexibility & the ease with which it can handle complex data models is amazing. Look no further if you need a datastore that can handle complex data structures, is fast & can be deployed in minutes.
What do you dislike?
The Query language is very expressive but for those coming from traditional RDBMS world, a SQL like alternative would be very helpful. They are moving in that direction with the BI connector I guess. I still see MongoDB as a good candidate for App development, but further stress could be laid on Analytics and connecting MongoDB with existing tool sets.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A data lake in MongoDB is envisioned to consolidate various sources, help the analyst in discovery. The future state would involve a data processing engine like Spark to extract meaningful results from the data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The training & Documentation is very helpful in exploring MongoDB. Conduct a Proof of concept to see the optimal MongodB configuration for your use case.


    Gerardo Esteban C.

I am developing apps with Meteor.js and MongoDB, my first app was my personal porfolio + blog.

  • February 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It works on Mac OS, Windows, and Linux. It is pretty easy to install and run the server with the console or terminal. About MongoDB and NoSQL, it is a big and tested platform with a big community of developers, I love the scalability of each document and the schema design concepts that I learned in MongoDB University. All the documents are JSON, If you're familiar with JavaScript language it will be easy to adapt to MongoDB. It is a robust platform, it provides you with replicas set and shared databases so you can scale your app fast and nice. I have MongoDB installed in my Linux Kubuntu 15.10 Laptop and my Windows 10 PC, I have used it with MEAN Stack in an angular.js course I took in Pluralsight, with Spark Java Framework I developed the simple blog system that you do in the MongoDB University Courses, and Meteor.js platform and a Coursera Web Design Specialization I am taking right now where we use Meteor.js to create collaborative reactive apps, we develop a voting web apps system, a doc editing system, a portfolio with a blog, a music app, a drawing app, and finally, I am developing my Capstone Project where I am going to use MongoDB for its scalabilities opportunities. My personal portfolio has MongoDB as Database for the blog, be my guests http://corderogerardo.me.
What do you dislike?
Well it is not I dislike, it is more a take care when you as a Linux user were installing MongoDB, it is good that you learn first how to use your terminal, all the commands you need to create folders and give permission when you need it, I am saying this because you may have problems starting, because you need to open two consoles or terminals, and in one you need to write and enter mongod to start the server and in the other mongo to start the MongoDB shell, then when you finish you need to stop first the mongo shell and after the server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fast scaling and easy use, for what I need when I was developing my portfolio and know for my Capstone final Project I want a different version to test how the system operates within a lot of users.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Start learning MongoDB right now, don't lose time, you have a great source like MongoDB University, where they teach you MongoDB in various Stacks if you're Java Stack they have it, if you're .Net Stack they have it, if you're python stack or JavaScript stack.


    Maurizio M.

I'm in love with it!

  • February 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
schemaless database, document database, fantastic to scale out. great management of replica set and sharding...i love it. Nested document and index creation, it's fantastic the power of this database. It's great that you can evolve your database simply adding tags/values/elements in your newest json records; don't worry about tables structure and so on.
Please consider that there's alsa a mongodb university, with free online courses for developers (.net, python) and dba. what else?
What do you dislike?
nothing, at the moment. really, I'm using it from four months and i've never had a problem with it. Only i'm having some trouble managing a lot of windows shell, but, hey we're dba, not interface designer, right?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we're testing it for a transactional database (schemaless). moving from a sql server classic relational database storing xml data type (too slow for our porpouse) to a json database. easy to administrate and
Recommendations to others considering the product:
take a look at replica set, sharding, indexing features, they're really great.


    Alazar H.

MongoDb is a very stable, highly scalable and high performance DB system.

  • January 29, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like about MongoDb is it's high scalability and performance. It is simple to use and supports many of our Restul applications.
What do you dislike?
There is not much support of other developer frameworks. More packages need to be developerd for VS besides the MongoDb.Driver to help use EF and the like.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Designing a web api for providing data access to various applications and mobile apps.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend mongodb for it's performance and scalability.


    farhan k.

If Future unknown go for it...

  • January 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Mongodb is a NOSQL database ie. the user does not have to define the schema. Due to this it is a good option for startups or companies who deal with unknown and unstructured data. Mongodb is quite easy to use and get started with a good community support.
What do you dislike?
In Mongodb you wil have to deal with transactions yourself . Since there is no schema , referential integrity is not maintained. Also database consistency is not maintained here. This needs to be done by the user itself.
On the other hand these things are much easier in SQL db like Postgresql.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Currently we are dealing with large amount of data , which is generally use generated. Since we are not sure about the attributes of the data , mongodb was a very obvious and good choice for us. It's quite fast and reliable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are not sure about the attributes of your data or while dealing with unstructured data , then mongodb is a very good option. It helps to start quickly.
But unless you are not sure of attributes try to use SQL database because data integrity and consistency is much easier here.


    Claudio F.

A Simple and Elegant Way of Working With Databases

  • January 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The native map reduce tools have "cut the fluff" and let my solution to another level, without having to count on many different third party tools. It's as simple as creating a prototypic script.
What do you dislike?
I wish I could use a native GUI tool whereby I could rely on. Free open-sourced tools are not optimal, whilst one specific solution has one good feature, it may lack another just as important one. Paid solutions are great ones, but many times expensive ones too.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've been dealing with a heavy load of data whereby a big data kind of solution is being built. While trying with many other relational databases, I have felt the lack of native support to perform simple BI tasks, such as the aforementioned map reduce feature. Now, by using MongoDB, I have been able to create on-the-fly BI Cubes as simple as creating a quick script.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are considering using MongoDB as your main database solution, it's definitely worth a try. Not just a hype thing.

Nowadays so many web systems' persistent data out there are simple relational ones, without even the prospect of becoming anything else. In that case, the hassle of mapping and creating the systems' database is cut down manifolds. Even having to change later on the database's structure is easy as pie. Something not as simple to perform in a relational database.


    Milad T.

MongoDB - Fast and Efficient Nosql Database

  • January 18, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MongoDB is a great nosql database which is widely used. It is particularly a good choice among sql users who wants to use nosql databases because of its great community, documentation and support. I like the fact that performance wise it is very perdictable and can scalable. Its very easy to maintain and reduces a lot of unneccesary complexities common in sql world.
What do you dislike?
I don't dislike any special thing in particular.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
MongoDB is internaly used as a Job publish/process server. We also save results of web scraping in MongoDB. Because of its powerfull feameworks like MapReduce and Aggregation, it is a very suitablefor usages in data analysis.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MongoDB is very stable and mature with a great support. It is available for enterprise with additional feautures as well as free for everyone. Recently it comes with an in-memory database ( Like Redis ) which is interesting enough on its own.


    Information Technology and Services

Easy to learn, easy to use, great introduction into the non-relational database world.

  • January 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
A very robust and full featured non-relational database. The documentation is excellent and there are numerous different resources available to accommodate your learning style. Integration with Spring is excellent and easy.
What do you dislike?
It's use is definitely situational. Document size is limited. It is not a silver bullet. It is a great database is you want performance and json like interactions. It is still young and growing and it's feature set is volatile. Overall not a lot of dislikes, just things you have to remember about the application of a non-relational document database.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data integration between two platforms. It is fast and easy to use with Spring Boot. Most of the interactions with Mongo are simple and handled by Spring.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Think about the application and use of the database. If the application is appropriate, then this is an excellent candidate for use. Read the documentation and know what it is good and not good at doing. Take some time to learn it and it can help you out. Think about a polyglot implementation as the monolithic database is soon to be a thing of the past.