Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

1- Click Ready Secured MongoDB on Windows 2016

Cognosys Inc. | V20.9.1005

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

388 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Use MongoDB in online course

  • August 05, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to use. JSON format is intuitive.
What do you dislike?
There is no join statement. Needs sometime to think out of RDBMS box.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fast development


    Ryan A.

Solid Product. I enjoy the flexibility.

  • August 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a solid document store with good performance. I enjoy the robust operators, benefit greatly from the mature ecosystem, and have my butt saved every now and then by the built-in mapreduce & aggregation framework.
What do you dislike?
The only thing I dislike is that they quickly develop great functionality, and I'm hesitant to upgrade my database in production to immediately take advantage of it. A safer and/or more fool-proof way to upgrade (and rollback) databases would be awesome.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use MongoDB for everything, and we would probably be just as well off with a SQL database, but I really enjoy the flexibility of the embedded documents and deep indexes.


    William K.

MongoDB Experience

  • July 27, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love how fast I can develop solutions using MongoDB. I also love the reliability I have experienced. When I am able to use MongoDB, I know I get scalability out of the box and my application can grow as the demand increases. I never think twice about choosing the technology once I know it is the right tool.
What do you dislike?
It has taken me some time to learn how to manage my own environment. There are great companies that provide these services, including MongoDB and ObjectRocket, so when my projects get bigger this is never an issue. I love Robomongo as a developer tool but I do wish it had more features. It would be nice if there were more tooling for developers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I build applications that need to handle lots of different types of data. This change in data schemes are a constant for me. With MongoDB I have been able to build flexible software that can handle these changes in data realtime. I also love the aggregation framework. This framework has made it possible to leverage all the data inside MongoDB and use MongoDB not only for scalable storage but reporting and application development.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Always look at all your options but if you are building enterprise level applications, MongoDB has proven itself. There is a large community of people who know the technology and companies providing platforms and services you can't always find with competing products.


    Alex P.

Great for building a startup or product exploration; minimum devOps

  • July 24, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Like all aspect of engineering, you need to match your tools with the tasks at hand. The schema flexibility and DevOps simplicity of MongoDB make it the best database for launching and scaling startups. When getting started, we don't know exactly how we wanted to model our data. It is nice to be able to change our mind easily. Also, it is like 4 commands to set up a replica set. DevOps is one of the last things we had in mind when searching for Product/Market fit. Mongo helped alleviate a big part of that pain.
What do you dislike?
Schema-less is a double-edge sword. Flexibility can also cause chaos. No schema could mean that you have no idea what data or even what data-type you have in your database. Use tools like Mongoose to bring some order back to the system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
At x.ai, we are building an AI-powered personal assistant to coordinate meetings for our users on top of MongoDB. We were able to quickly evolve our product/data to the use cases our users wanted.


    Prasanna K.

MongoDB is at the heart of our ed tech platform & we love it

  • July 24, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The flexible data model and document-based nature of MongoDB has given us so much flexibility to iterate our data models without slowing down development. Not being tied down by a SQL-type rigid schema is wonderful.
What do you dislike?
Honestly - nothing! If MongoDB itself offered MongoDB-as-a-service (like Compose.io or Mongolab does) we'd use that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
SmartyPal is a platform for personalized learning through children's stories. We improve the quality of children’s screen time by taking award-winning stories and enhancing them with dynamic games and activities that are tailored to each child by an adaptive learning engine. We use MongoDB to store info on the stories and games in SmartyPal, as well as to store a rich set of gameplay data for each user that we use for personalization.

As a growing start-up with evolving goals and ever-changing technological needs, we really needed a database solution that was as agile as we are. By using MongoDB, we were able to incrementally add many different features to our application over time, without ever needing to go back to the drawing board. We chose MongoDB because we knew how important this flexibility would be for us.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a NoSQL database that has good support, and is easy to get started as well as to scale on, we'd definitely recommend MongoDB


    Nuri H.

The go-to choice for many projects

  • July 24, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The flexible schema and document oriented view match up to architecture and usage pattern based design. The drivers make using it straightforward and well integrated. The ease of deployment and management make operating it a low-overhead task. So when considering data backend and processing requirements, it's an easy choice to make since we can just throw data at it and it handles. Table oriented database introduce a lot of overhead in marshaling application models to the storage. This alone increases time to market and maintenance costs.
What do you dislike?
Schema is now responsibility of developers. Without server enforced constraints, this can be a problem for shops that don't have established go to production, testing, and quality gates.

Reporting from the "main" schema can be challenging unless these needs are factored in at design time. This can creep up when using Mongo as the sole database. In polyglot shops it is diminished.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Used it for:
- Social photo sharing app. Benefited from flexible schema,
- Content distribution across geographic regions. Benefited from reliable built in replication mechanism.
- Content management. Benefited from flexible schema and speed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ensure you understand indexing and command syntax well. Designing schema that fits your usage scenario is the best way to assure the solution will work for you.


    Andy D.

Fast, and I'm not (just) talking about the speed of the database

  • July 24, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MongoDB's flexibility allows me to focus on how I use my data and to easily change its structure as my needs change. It reduces the time needed to design and implement my database, allowing me to focus on the structure of my application, designing the database as I go.
What do you dislike?
I'd love to see more granular (e.g., collection-level) user permissions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed a way to quickly and easily access a set of related data in a read-heavy application. MongoDB allowed us to store the important components in a single document, reducing the number of reads required to on each page load.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I find the best approach is to focus on how to make the data easier to read, not to write. Unless your application sees more writes than reads, this will improve your application's response time, leading to a greater user experience.


    Internet

Flexible, automatable storage layer

  • July 23, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Pluggable storage engine API, elections and automatic failover. Easy to do rolling upgrades. Flexible workloads -- runs write heavy, read heavy, or mixed workloads. Online indexing, background indexing on secondaries and primaries. Lovely data interface layer.
What do you dislike?
Mongo is a young db. Mmap is very wasteful with space, QA process is leaky. Sharding has some serious fundamental technical problems. The marketing hype exceeds execution on occasion.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Powering hundreds of thousands of the world's mobile apps. We run hundreds of thousands of workloads on MongoDB, as well as logging and other backend services.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be careful with your indexes.


    Rick C.

MongoDB is flexible, fast, and scalable

  • July 23, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MongoDB is easy to get set up and running, performs well out of the box, and scales well to any load you're likely to encounter. Docs and community support are second to none, and I've never run into any significant stability or data loss issues using MongoDB in 7 years of developing with it.
What do you dislike?
MongoDB does not have relational integrity constraints or multi-document transactions, which limits its suitability in some use cases. Until version 3.0, it also had significant problems with disk space usage and some problems scaling write traffic on a single node.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used MongoDB for queuing systems, as a 'smart cache', and to store the core data for my application. The biggest benefits have come from the ability to evolve a schema over time, in a live production database, without downtime. The ability to perform online maintenance tasks operationally has also come in handy on more than one occasion (add/remove shard, add/remove replica, replace servers, etc.)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read about it! Don't assume that because it's easy to use there aren't pitfalls. Watch for performance discontinuities (works fine in development, but various bottlenecks show up in production). Load testing and backups are your friends.


    Computer Software

best nosql product out there

  • July 22, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
excellent commercial support and documentation.
What do you dislike?
UI admin tool can be improved a lot. better automation tools.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
document storage. low latency inserts and reads. cost effective solution for unstructured data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
i recommend it for right use case.