Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PostgreSQL 9.6

Jetware | PostgreSQL 9.6

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

482 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jean-Marie R.

PostgreSQL DBA and trainer

  • September 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SQL standards
Stable configuration settings per version
Improvments over time

A lot of tools around PostgreSQL: as pgAdmin4, programmaing language connectors, pgbadger, pgbackrest, patroni, ...

PostgreSQL is an Open source piece of software.
What do you dislike?
A lot of different projets around PostgreSQL himself for same purpose.

No full featured and supported clustering solution embedded natively.

Long new features development cycle.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Save and retrieve structured datas in a good way.
Consistent tools allowing long term working procedure
Same SQL and client behaviour when upgrading databases


    Rahul N.

Best database in market

  • September 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It works robustly, Well supported by backend frameworks. Stability and ability to handle structured data are pretty good.
What do you dislike?
Configuration can be a little overwhelming for those who are new, but users can refer - https://www.postgresql.org/docs/ for better understanding.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for database management; it is reliable and safe to use. New users can learn from - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eMIxuk0nOkU


    Krinal P.

PostgreSQL - is the greatest database software

  • September 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The bash shell script may be used to perform psql commands. Execution time notifications should be shown in the data/log folder's log file. In order to maximise performance, a prepared statement is used.
PostgreSQL comes with built-in extensions. PostgreSQL offers a great deal of flexibility. Data types, indexes, functional languages, etc. may be customised.
What do you dislike?
few tools can be integrated with MySQL but not with PostgreSQL.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A relational database management system, PostgreSQL is a sophisticated, enterprise-class, open-source database management system. Data is saved in RDBMS tables, which are database objects that contain data. In a table, the columns and rows are used to group related data items. As a result of PostgreSQL, you may access and alter databases.


    Chandresh M.

Good Database You Need

  • September 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The thing I like about the PostgreSQL database is it is open-source available. So, I can modify it based on my business requirement. Another thing is, it is very easy to learn. You don't need any extra time to learn if you know a little bit of SQL. You can also import/export databases in PostgreSQL.
What do you dislike?
The Dashboard of PostgreSQL is very complex. Sometimes, you need to find what are the options you want to use. So first I have to read its documentation, then I'll understand, which required more time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using PostgreSQL for creating websites and other applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend if you have basic knowledge of SQL, then you should use this database.


    Information Technology and Services

Best object relational Database

  • August 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
As PostgreSQL is an object-relational database, it provides features like overloading and inheritance, which can be very useful for developing some applications.
What do you dislike?
The downside of PostgreSQL is that not every open source app support postgresql.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am developing an application using RESTful APIs and that requires Firebase Authentication and the database PostgreSQL. Its highly concurrent and ACID properties are the benefits.


    Archit P.

Best Database System

  • August 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It allows me to store large data in a sophisticated manner.
What do you dislike?
The installation can be homogenous across the operating system
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I has helped me maintain data extraction scripts which has reduced manual data extraction time by 30%


    Alexandr V.

Powerfull DB

  • August 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A lot of features, smart backup, PG cluster ability, production ready DB
What do you dislike?
Troubleshooting something hard to do, poor out of the box documentation
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
SQL database help to org data


    Haripriya B.

Experience using Postgresql as database management software in industry.

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is free and open DBMS software and has a good GUI feature. PostgreSQL is the world’s most advanced open source database. Developed over 25 years by a vibrant and independent open source community, PostgreSQL was born from the same research as Oracle and DB2 and contained comparable enterprise-class features such as full ACID compliance for outstanding transaction reliability and Multi-Version Concurrency Control for supporting high concurrent loads. On top of it, there is a vibrant community of PostgreSQL professionals and enthusiasts that your staff can draw upon and contribute to.
What do you dislike?
It sometimes crashed when I open it in normal mode. I need to open it in admin mode to open it. It is considerably slower than MySQL, and it does not support the entire ANSI SQL 92' standard, much less the ANSI SQL 99' standard, which is widely used in the industry. PostgreSQL is not good when it comes to performance, and It is not much popular than other database management systems, making replication is more complex.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In the education field, Postgres is used over other databases because of its ease of access and quality of support in all languages. PostgreSQL is available for almost every brand of Unix (34 platforms with the latest stable release), and Windows compatibility is available via the Cygwin framework. Native Windows compatibility is also available with version 8.0 and above. The source code is open to all at no charge. PostgreSQL is available for almost every brand of Unix (34 platforms with the latest stable release), and Windows compatibility is available via the Cygwin framework. Native Windows compatibility is also available with version 8.0 and above.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is highly recommended for the education field because of its good GUI feature and straightforward learning environment. I would suggest the computer science engineering people use this constantly. It's a little hard for beginners but best for professionals.


    Wade W.

THE preferred solution for an open source relation database

  • July 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Postgres has many of the features that I have come to enjoy in more enterprise-scale databases, with the benefit of an open-source pricetag and community support.
What do you dislike?
If you are looking for a vendor, Postgres isn't your tool. In many ways though, that is a positive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Postgres was our primary data store for many years for our centralized data warehouse. Any relational data can be stored in Postgres, and there is broad support for clients and other tools to interact with that data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are comfortable doing a little sys admin work to get it up and running, you probably already know that Postgres is the way to go.


    Jagruti P.

PostgreSQL Review and experience on my point of view

  • July 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Simplicity and flexibility compared to other SQL databases.
- Logging is available for each and every activity if you eneabled that so its easy to understand if some users has changed any data.
- We can use complex data types which is available in postgres like geographic objects which help us to manage location data in the database if your application needs to manage user or other location.
- English Documenetation available for easy of use and that will not take much time to learn this database Software.
What do you dislike?
- The speed of fetching data is very low compare to others.
- Each and every open source software not support PostgreSQL compare to mySQL which support most of each and every open source sotware.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Firstly, I solved many issues using this database. I like it the most because we can use both the console and User interface to manage the database.
- Secondly, we can use easily use AWS RDS to manage this database as RDS contains its configurations.
- Third, My requirement is to read data from Queue and then process data and store in database based on schdeuler which is run timely basis so I didnt find any slowness in my system bacase all things are managed at background level.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check your requirement before choosing this database or any other relational database. If your condition is to read data from the database too frequently, then it might be slowness shows in your whole application.