Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Varnish Cache 6 (Ubuntu)

Varnish Software Inc | 6.0.7 Release 1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

25 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ashik Z.

Very good at managing content and softwares!

  • April 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It simply does an excellent job of increasing the pace of our website, which is a huge factor in boosting our search rankings. It also helps to reduce memory consumption, and we now have less shutdown errors. This program has also made it easy to configure our device for peak results.Varnish's frequency is terribly noteworthy.The support team's flexibility and expertise was excellent. The thoroughness and technical specifics of their responses, as well as the pace at which they respond and their willingness to assist with different examples, are noteworthy.Page refresh were treated expeditiously.They had devoted personal support staff to assist with server setup.They provide the velocity and efficiency that high-traffic websites need to do in order to offer exemplary internet experience to mainstream audiences.
What do you dislike?
To get the best results out of this software, you'll need the help of a professional developer. You must consider the cost-benefit of this sort of method in addition to the needs you seek.We spent a significant amount of time integrating and were unable to access any of the nice functionality due to a lack of proper documentation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We originally received commercial support due to a failure issue in the open standard version which was also apparent in the production version.It assists in removing load from the backend, and robustness/stability in the face of spikes are our primary objectives. The addition of speed is a great bonus.Also,Varnish is used for caching before a sluggish backend.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The high-availability features are appealing to us. Please watch after them.


    Ashikuzzaman R.

Top notch performance for handling softwares

  • April 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The system is very robust and performs well without using a lot of energy.Reading the manual teaches you a lot of things you never knew of before. Varnish's team clearly knows a thing or two about their industry.The incorporation of this program in my company has assisted me in budget management by allowing me to control expenses by taking on bulk traffic and ending downtime incidents. It keeps me up to date on protecting the origin servers and helps to reduce memory use, giving me more opportunities to connect with my audience. It gives me complete control over the placement of the PoPs and allows me to customize the CDN to my exact specifications.
What do you dislike?
It is a highly specialized technique to use, and without the necessary expertise, you would be unable to accomplish your objectives. They also use the Newsletter, which increases the chance of data leakage. Furthermore, it is a very expensive option, which ultimately limits its use, so the price strategy needs to be updated.There is plenty of scope in improving VOD cache and media.And there is lack of documentation of technologies like CMS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Caching of several websites using a Varnish cluster with a only load balancer as the go point, VCL for caching settings and backend control, and multiple internal load balancers, each serving a different website with different traffic levels, all operated by a single cluster of three Varnish servers handled by the VC admin GUI
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Team work is needed for quick and fast approach in this software


    Aravind S.

Speeding everything up!

  • March 20, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
With Varnish we were able to reduce the load times of our API significantly. The algorithms with which the caching is done is very efficient.
What do you dislike?
There hasn't been any issues with varnish till now
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have been building our IAAS environments and speeding them up with the help of Varnish. It also integrates with our Terraform scripts flawless making it a much better experience


    Pamel D.

Improves website speed to topnotch

  • March 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It just does an amazing thing putting our website to top speed, which is a significant factor in improving our search rankings. It also helps decrease memory usage and we have lesser downtime errors now, too. Configuring our system for optimal performance has also been easier with this software.
What do you dislike?
Documentation can be improved to provide more details. Also, https should be natively supported because this is a standard to all websites these days. While there is a well-detailed manual, only our senior developers have had luck in managing this software, so maybe it should be more user-friendly or the UI can be updated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The speed across all our websites have been greatly accelerated. We no longer have to bend our architecture just to improve performance because Varnish is already doing the job for us while keeping our backend protected.


    Tony Y.

An advanced solution in the palm of your Hands

  • March 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The complexity of the solution is what i like about Varnish Software, and I like it because the end user is getting a simple result. The support team also provided us with answers and solutions for all our questions. The price is also much affordable than the major players eventhough Varnish Solution is as good as the others are and are able to provide a very high standard support. So I like that you get a very complex solution for a low cost.
What do you dislike?
I faced some technical issues at the beginning of my use of Varnish Software but the support team was able to sort everything out fast.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were looking for an inexpensive solution for our company at found out that we are able to get all our needs from Varnish Software for a lower price than the big players


    Charles M.

Commercial features add significant value

  • February 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The commercial modules add features that have simplified our environment configuration.
What do you dislike?
We initially got the commercial support because of a crash bug with the open source version, that also was present in the commercial version. Varnish resolved the bug and we have been stable since. The inconvenience of paying to fix a bug was offset by the features available in the commercial version.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We initially got the commercial support because of a crash bug with the open source version, that also was present in the commercial version.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The support and features of the commercial version have been worth the expense. The support has been responsive, and worked with us to remedy questions, hardships and configuration assistance.


    Mindaugas P.

Great experience

  • February 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The software is amazing, furthermore It's really nice to work with VARNISH SOFTWARE team.
What do you dislike?
There was nothing to dislike at all. Software has no flaws.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Varnish Software increased speed of the website, and lowered AWS bill significantly


    Samir A.

Varnish review 23.02

  • February 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The support is really good, very quick response on the main website (the chat). I got a response in less one minute.
The help and information provided was very clear.
I also got a phone call with an engineer so I can detail some architectural and technical concepts.
Otherwise, Varnish features are stable, no major problem and bug.
What do you dislike?
it needs maybe a little more details on tutorials
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we are using Varnish for caching our websites pages, and accelerated clients access. So it clearly improve users experience.
Currently we use Drupal 8.0 as cms (front), and connect Varnish via a plugin which is available on their marketplace.
Which makes it very easy to use and understand for administrators.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can have a trial to evaluate the product and also a very good assistance on the website. Actually Varnish have a very good compatibility with CMS (Drupal, Wordpress, ...).


    Internet

The definition of production quality

  • November 19, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Code base originated from and authored by BSD kernel developers implies uncompromised quality and attention to code correctness. Like BSD, Varnish may not always have the latest features but what is released is always 100% rock solid, battle hardened and trustworthy for any size production workload.
What do you dislike?
The threading model is a bit dated and difficult to tune, compared to competing per-core event loop models. Also the commercial product is slow to release it's improvements back to the community version.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cost savings by reducing traffic to back-end and less reliance on expensive cloud services. Zero downtime deployments. Real-time statistics on the performance of the back-end services. VCL and VMODs are great for implementing efficient workarounds for bugs in legacy back-end applications that cannot be easily changed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a product that is easy to use but difficult to master. Consider hiring an expert to avoid configuration pitfalls. Money well spent.


    Martin E.

Does the job - without any trouble at all

  • November 18, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The system is very stable and does the job without using a lot of resources.
By reading the manual you learn so much stuff you never thought about in the past. The people at Varnish obviously know a thing or two about their domain.
What do you dislike?
The Varnish system is light weight. There are no frills attached (in a good way). So you need some time to discover the possibilities to operate/monitor the installation and to debug your configuration.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Taking load from the backend and robustness/stability when it comes to spikes are our main goals. Speed is a nice extra.