Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Esri ArcGIS Enterprise 10.5.1 on Ubuntu with Postgresql (Jan 2019)

Esri | 10.5.1 (Patched Jan 2019)

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

414 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Environmental Services

Arc Pro 2.4 User Review

  • November 11, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Arc Pro has a much friendlier UI than Arc Map and competing GI software packages.The ease of use of ArcGIS Online (AGOL)
What do you dislike?
Basic processing tools being locked behind more advanced licenses. The transition over from Arc Map to Pro can potentially be lengthy but it is definitely worth investing your time into mastering pro as this is the future of Arc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Arc Pro to publish interactive maps for clients, we are able to use a combination of Pro and AGOL to create professional, easy to understand maps. We also use Arc Pro for ecological and biodiversity net gain mapping. We have found this assists our clients through the planning process, giving added visual aide to data collected in the field.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are other open source software packages available which will assist when a basic feature is locked behind a more advanced license.

AGOL is a comprehensive and easy to use package which can be picked up 'straight out of the box'. The added bonus with AGOL is the ability to use high quality basemap imagery, especially the clarity layer.

If you are struggling to switch over from Arc Map then the customizable toolbar in pro can easily be tweaked to meet your needs.

Look on the ESRI forums or look through GIS stack exchange when encountering problems, ninety nine percent of the time another user will have encountered the same issue as yourself.


    Despina K.

Useful tool for mapping of data that can be improved

  • November 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Esri ArcGIS is the most useful program for linking data and location in a specific coordinate system on different spatial levels and visualize the results on a map. It gives a broad spectrum of tools (Arc Toolbox) for analyzing the data. The link with Excel and AutoCAD is extremely useful.
What do you dislike?
Esri ArcGIS can be upgraded in terms of visual representation, both the interface and the external results (the maps). The interface can be friendlier and more practical in order to make the complex tools easier even for beginners. This way more people will be aware of the opportunities that the program provides. In addition, for the external results it will be great if there are libraries with customized colours, pattern, diagrams, even pictograms and infographics, with option to import and export from/to other programs, for example Adobe Illustrator.
Last but not least, there could be a button with link to tutorial and the whole package could take less space in the hard drive. The storage of the files could be organised in packages that might be generated by the program.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For research for my thesis work - То effectively connect population characteristics with the spatial environment and make conclusions about the access to certain places keeping in mind the socio-economic status of the population. For example, analyzing the location of the playgrounds and the access of children in terms of the occupancy and kindergartens in specific neighbourhood.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go ahead!


    Saran A.

Great tool for spatial application

  • November 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- quickly generate spatial plots
- easy to handle and understand the toolbox
-easily access with python tool.
What do you dislike?
- requires a large memory to install
- takes times to handle large data
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- watershed delineation
-flood routing and inundation
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Should use for all spatial application


    Civil Engineering

Master of spatial analysis and GIS operations

  • October 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its really helpful and easy to operated and use, its search panel makes thing easier.
ArcGIS contains tools for most of the operations which makes work very easy.
Multiple operations can be done on the single layers and watershed delineation in very easy in this
What do you dislike?
The interface could be concise. it displays a lot of information which makes things look very difficult.
I feel that the interface is quite complicated it can be improved. It might be because i have used QGIS earlier so i am more familiar with that.
Rest is really good in ArcGIS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are carring out spatial analysis in ArcGIS which are futher used in other models like HEC-RAS, HEC-HMS etc.
t
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I feel that the interface is quite complicated it can be improved. It might be because i hav used QGIS earlier so i am more familiar with that.
Rest is really good in ArcGIS


    Saran A.

Excellent tool for geospatial work

  • October 28, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
-easy to use tool box
-Best tool for map plotting
-tool help options are available
What do you dislike?
- high amount for subscription
- required high memory to process
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- delineation of watershed
- to create hydrological routing files


    Rachel P.

Great in the classroom!

  • October 23, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I went to a training for Esri and I am so glad I did! It is definitely something I would not have learned on my own. My favorite aspect is the already made lessons for students - I have already used a few with my middle schoolers! The lesson planning is already done for you and the students really enjoy manipulating the maps. I am hoping to get confident enough with it that my students create their very own study at the end of the school year.
What do you dislike?
There is definitely a learning curve - it is a bit intimidating at first, but is such a wonderful FREE source once you get the hang of it!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My students are experiencing geography, rather than just reading about it!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Start with the Geo Inquiries! They are already set up for you and will help get used to navigating the system.


    Natalia A.

Best software for GIS Users

  • October 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using ESRI products for more than 20 years. The software is very robust and every year continues to improve.
What do you dislike?
It can be quite expensive, but for most of us GIS professionals, the price is worth it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are able to provide quality GIS products with ease, including an easy to use website. We also can also perform spatial analysis, asset management, and create beautiful maps. The training that ESRI provides is also very useful, and a lot of it is free.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider whether you need the full suite of applications, or if you can use the ArcGIS online resources instead.


    Higher Education

Great for spatial data analysis

  • October 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Lots of different tools available for different kinds of data and projects. For example raster and vector data, spatial statistics, digitization, etc.
What do you dislike?
Processing times can be long when working with large datasets and does not give you progress on tools being executed
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I create flood maps through manipulation of DEMs. I then assign flood depths to the road network by merging vector and taster data


    Environmental Services

All around great

  • October 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Can create great visuals of huge datasets, and always turns out beautiful.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes ArcGIS doesn’t like to save a working project.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Forestry and environmental science data visualization


    Government Administration

ARC GIS

  • October 03, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ARCGIS is the leading GIS software on the market, we use it daily in the planning and development office.
What do you dislike?
The cost is a bit much, but considering all the benefits, it's still well worth it!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have had great experience with ArcGIS, and they also have great technical support!