Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Esri ArcGIS Enterprise 10.5.1 on Ubuntu with Postgresql (Jan 2019)

Esri | 10.5.1 (Patched Jan 2019)

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

408 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Utilities

An ArcGIS Review

  • December 07, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is a cutting-edge, innovative and fine-tuned piece of GIS software. ArcGIS is very simple to use and it is easy to navigate and use the hundreds of geoprocssing tools that is has on offer to help visualise spatial data. ArcMap has the ability to view data and create maps in both 2D and 3D, and gives the option to quickly share with others.
What do you dislike?
To handle large data processing a decent computer is needed., this can prove costly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use ArcMap every day within my work to analyse data and run spatial queries. I also use ArcMap to digitise features.


    Sudhir P.

It has been very easy working with ArcGIS

  • December 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The plethora of information available to navigate any problem is the best thing for me. With ever expanding user base, there is always somebody to help in case of an issue. Its just not a map making tool but one can actually use it for various design applications, perform spatial functions. Also, it can be utilized for various applications. I have used it for mapping the water distribution network, perform hydraulic modeling, use it for citywide planning, etc.
What do you dislike?
It requires lot of processing power and takes a lot of time for certain functions. Also, the basic license doesn't really have much teeth. You can't do spatial analysis and you have to buy an upgraded licence to be able to use most of the features. I think the costing should be restructured to include the spatial analysis in the basic licensing as it is one of the primary requirements for the civil engineering applications. Most of the time the administrator purchasing the license is not aware of these limitations and it becomes difficult for the end user. I faced similar issue in my company and had to use QGIS because i was short on time and needed to get the work done immediately.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am working on the public utility side mapping the water distribution network. One advantage i have realized is the compatibility of ArcGIS with various modeling software namely, Bentley WaterGems. I can work with the Bentley model directly in ArcGIS which saves so much time and increases the functionality that i can provide to the clients.


    Kartik R.

ArcGIS: The one stop tool for most civil engineering projects

  • November 19, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is a robust software, which allows engineering drawings, designs as well as calculations. It is one of the most efficient data management tools that I've used. I love the fact that it can incorporate information into the attribute table straight from an excel/access database. Also the fact that the data points get transferred from the hand held gps units in the field.
What do you dislike?
I feel the concept of geodatabases can be a little tricky/cumbersome. Also, digitizing can become a little difficult as tools like symbology, etc. aren't so friendly to use. However, the best part is the ArcGIS tutorial. I've always found my answers through the search/help menu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a civil/environmental engineer. I've worked on various projects, including pipeline rehabilitation, water distribution network, stormwater management, etc. I've used GIS hands on to delineate watersheds, mark utility information on the maps and to populate the corresponding attributes. I've also used it to classify the area based on various factors like land use, zoning density, population, soil type, etc.


    Daniel R.

A great platform for innovative GIS software development

  • November 18, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ArcGIS platform is always evolving and adding new products and platforms to develop against. The community both at Esri and those that use the products create a constructive place to find answers and share experiences. With these two things combined, there really is no limit to the possibilities of what ArcGIS can do, and I see new innovative ways to use the platform nearly every day.
What do you dislike?
My biggest dislike presently is the lack of full feature parity between the different platforms, though I must say this gets better and better with each release. Finding a solution that works on one mobile platform, only to find that similar functionality is missing on another, was always a painful realization, but there are usually ways around that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have leveraged ArcGIS primarily in the realm of asset management and data collection. ArcGIS allowed for rapid field data collection with good support for mobile and enterprise interoperability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ArcGIS has done a lot in the avenue of open data and open source code lately, if these are things that are important to you, don't discount this proprietary software just yet. If you are looking to build GIS applications and like a good development community, ArcGIS is a great choice, with good documentation and samples, as well as regular, regional meetups.


    Kristin E.

Long-term user with nothing but praise (except for cost)

  • November 13, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
One of my favourite features of ArcGIS is the mapping capabilities that the program has as mapping is a very intuitive way to communicate information. Although a true cartographer would disagree, I really like the defaults. Maps are very easy to produce and look visually appealing. Additionally, newer version of ArcGIS have improved labelling capabilities called "The Maplex Label Engine". Provides more options for labelling which is important when you have labelling multiple overlapping data layers.
What do you dislike?
One of the major downfalls of ESRI's ArcGIS is the cost. There is also a steep learning curve for this program. However, once that is passes, the motility between QGIS, ArcGIS, and other geographical softwares is quite simple.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
If the company has the resources to purchase all licenses, the capabilities of this program are almost endless. This program can be used for simple geovisualization to more complex geospatial analyses, such as deciding where to place a new factory (location-allocation), make predictive models such as linear regression and geographic spatial regressions, and determine a route/ path of least resistance (lowest cost) to name a few.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a great set of programs with a fantastic online community. I have no reservations using or recommending this program.


    Information Technology and Services

A comprehensive GIS for the intermediate map maker

  • November 09, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I predominately use ArcMap and for my needs it serves as a great GIS for styling, querying and outputting of data.
The interface is clean and the range of tools is expansive and varied.
You are able to export to a variety of formats the most notable for me being an illustrator file (ai). It also keeps your layers which is a big plus for me.
ArcMap also works with MaPublisher which is a great tool for if you want to work with georeferenced data within Adobe Illustrator.
What do you dislike?
What annoys me the most about ArcGIS is its inability to handle large data sets. This is certainly an area I would like to see improved.
ArcMap is also unable to load, directly, all GIS data formats which means translation of your data is needed before you can use your data within ArcMap something which can cost money.
Of course the most notable dislike of ArcGIS is the cost ££££!!!!!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We most recently used ArcMap to create layer files (style files) for our customers to use with our data.
This means they could load our data into ArcMap and by simply attaching the layer file work with pre styled geographical data.
This saves our customers time and money
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be wary of what data formats you are using and what formats ArcMap can handle.

If you are complety new to ArcMap it can be quite painful digging through the many menus to locate the feature or function you are looking for.


    Management Consulting

Great tool for economic analysis

  • November 06, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I think the program is a wonderful tool for economic analysis since offers the link between graphical representation and concrete numbers to explain any topic in a easy way to digest the message.
What do you dislike?
It is challenging for non ArcGIS experts to use the tool. However, as an economist I advise working together with a ArcGIS expert to make sure the program can be used to its fullness.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Analysis the agriculture potential in Central America calculating best crops in terms of economic return (taking into consideration terrain, rain, available land) to assist governments in investment choices.


    Government Administration

ArcGIS for Emergency Operations

  • November 06, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how ArcGIS is used for such a board range of topics. It can be applied to all sorts of topics because the world is becoming how Jack says GeoEnlightened. Giving the user such free rein, there are such open possibilities to apply how ArcGIS is used to create a map or a story of that matter. ArcGIS continuously expands on all the possibilities of the direction of the users and it's very obvious with all the fast paced projects that constantly being produced. It's hard to keep up because the ArcGIS Platform continues to widen with each product having endless solutions. Examples I can think of are ArcGIS Pro, ArcGIS Portal, and Dashboard for Operations.
What do you dislike?
It's hard to dislike such an expanding product when there are so many solutions. That might be the hard part about it. It is moving at such a rapid pace that it's really hard to know 100% that the new product is the right choice to adapt into a workflow or a business process. We have our ways. It's worked for us. Why should we adapt when there's such a steep learning curve for every product. It's hard to continue the day to day along side researching new prospects of solutions and then inform everyone in the department that things are going to change.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are going from creating very fast paced maps that are used in the Operations Center where we are relied on to empowering our users with ArcGIS Portal. Here we create the Web Service and teach users how to add the layers to their Web Map. This has allowed users to depend on us less and allow us to expand more and do more research on new products to see if it can be incorporated into their business workflow.


    Christina D.

I use GIS almost daily for environmental remediation work.

  • November 05, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Excellent program for viewing and analyzing data spatially. Takes our reporting to clients to a whole other level. `
What do you dislike?
The program can sometimes be buggy, though ESRI tech support is very helpful.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using GIS to view and query data for environmental samples. I have been able to create web-based maps using ArcGIS that I can edit and use in the field, but opening them on an iPad. Gives me real-time access to field data.


    Defense & Space

ArcGIS is the recommended software to use for mapping.

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use for the beginner to the advanced person for mapping products. I like using this for software for the everyday mapping experience. The buttons are easy to understand and you can get many extensions to use for what is specific to your product that you want.
What do you dislike?
With big amounts of data, the software can experience errors or it crashes. Luckily, the software can auto-save as you go, so loss of data is minimal. Sometimes it takes a while to load an mxd, but the connections can slow this down and where you have it on a server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
No business problems that I am solving at this moment. ArcGIS is best for mapping. I have used other software and this is the best to use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For mapping software, I would recommend using this software. Is a gem to use.