Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Esri ArcGIS Enterprise 10.5.1 on Ubuntu with Postgresql (Jan 2019)

Esri | 10.5.1 (Patched Jan 2019)

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

408 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Bonnie E.

Student and professional ArcGIS User.

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is relatively easy to use and has many analysis tools.
Converting to KML and exporting to PDF are good features.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the software is slow and crashes.
Geo-referencing and projecting data is difficult.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use GIS to make maps of PSTA bus routes serving Pinellas county and demographics of the area, I also use GIS analysis tools to look at ridership.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ArcGIS requires training but has a wide variety of analysis tools.
More advanced training is required for modeling and more in depth analysis.


    Civil Engineering

Industry standard for most GIS purposes. Has it's faults but overall a very good resource.

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to develop add-ons and python scripts to integrate with the software. The large user base that has created a wealth of online resources and tutorials.
What do you dislike?
Frequent crashes and many areas that could use improvement. ESRI has fallen behind in some areas of GIS that should have been implemented years ago. See ArcGIS ideas for an exhaustive list of suggestions for improvement that users have submitted to ESRI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Primarily mapping for use in government reports. Analysis of spatial datasets to compete metrics related to linear features
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ArcGIS is the industry standard for a GIS environment. Many USA and Canadian government agencies have required data submissions that must be in the ESRI proprietary shapefile format.


    Civil Engineering

Very Useful Tool for Water Resources

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the overall platform and varying applicability of the tools depending on what you are analyzing, modeling, or trying to portray in a data set.
What do you dislike?
The program is something very slow depending on the amount of data you are working with. There are a lot of quirks when using specific tools and sometimes the file geodatabases seem to sporadically become corrupt. I also wish the tools were more clear as to what inputs need to be done (which is already pretty good), but sometimes it's hard to figure out what is being done incorrectly inorder to get the tool to work as you'd like.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I work in Water Resources for Watershed Management. We specifically use a lot of ArcHydro Tools.


    Non-Profit Organization Management

Great product.

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Each update seems to make the product easier to use. It's getting more user friendly, even for an average user.
What do you dislike?
I still can't use any other applications while using desktop, without the risk of ArcGIS crashing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for mapping


    Oil & Energy

Over 10 years experience with it and some competitors.

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very versatile program that meets many industry needs. ArcGIS for Server allows for intranet mapping solutions for the non-power user. ArcGIS for Server or ArcGIS Online also help leverage mobile solutions.
What do you dislike?
Software is so versatile that there can be many bugs that you may or may not run across. Also the ArcMap offering is an old 32-bit application with many limitations to utilize the power of modern PCs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Midstream pipeline asset management, pipeline analysis, and map production.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ArcGIS products are used by many organizations and you will find much support if you reach out or search the internet. ESRI also offers free trials and classes to test out the product(s). ESRI also maintains a presence/booth at many different conferences where you can gain knowledge and networking opportunities.


    Andrew P.

I've been able to understand property values in Hoboken near bike lanes

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Unique Values displays with graduated colors and dot density
What do you dislike?
Having to change projections when downloading metadata online
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
None


    Architecture & Planning

Pretty good software for GIS mapping and analysis. Industry standard.

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Visual analysis capabilities, GPS features, standard software for GIS work.
What do you dislike?
Frequent errors during geoprocessing, expensive, some features run slowly, mediocre graphics capabilities, not very compatible with Google Earth and AutoCAD.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use ArcGIS primarily for environmental and visual analysis of project sites. The software is useful in producing high quality maps for clients and public agencies for permitting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Decent software. It is the industry standard for GIS work, so if sharing files with other GIS users is important, ESRI is the way to go.


    james c.

User of GIS software in multiple environments for 8 years

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS software provides a wide range of analysis and production tools useful in most any industry or environment.
What do you dislike?
Licencing can be cost prohibitive, especially in the mobile/ Portal for ArcGIS environment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Asset management and reporting, safety analysis, cost estimation, project planning, marketing. ArcGIS is the best tool for storing and analyzing an ever changing network of assets.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider Float licencing for Portal and ArcGIS. Named users are prohibitive especially for contractors or seasonal workers. the named user licencing set up is what is keeping us away from using Portal for ArcGIS as a primary field data collection device. Floating licensing would solve this problem.


    Government Administration

ArcGIS 10.2.2

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ESRI ArcGIS has always been the go-to software for analysis of geospatial data. The software interface is easy to get used to and allows even newer users to get a hands on feel for how easy it is to view data and conduct top knotch analysis.
What do you dislike?
I belive Esri should begin to allow third party support for the Arc platforms, there is always the support of Add-ins but programming and scripting is still new to alot of people and would be beneficial to ESRI and users alike
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I primarily use ArcGIS for analysis of taxing parcels and how they can relate to the city around them. I use the Coordinate Geometry tools on a daily basis for traversing land with precise measurements and angles for viewing only the most accurate depictions of housing boundaries.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ArcGis is the way to go when performing any sort of analysis, much better than any other program currently out there


    Commercial Real Estate

Necessary for my job.

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
All the Analysis functions are fantastic. Business Analyst is great. I'm confident that the measurements are correct, and pleased that there are so many different functions.
What do you dislike?
The bugs. Such as having to restart the whole program in order to run BA demos if I have changed the layout. Or if all I'm dealing with is annotations, and each one takes 10 seconds to load or move. I do a lot of real maps and use the drawing tool for annotations a lot. I'm really sick of having to wait so long for moving a word or picture around. Also adding pictures and logos to the map can be either quick and easy, or slow and time consuming. The business I'm in needs things done faster, and I'm about to use another program for those sorts of jobs. My computer is new and has the proper specs. So it's not that. It's ESRI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating maps for commercial real estate brokers to sell properties. Comparable properties, Competition properties, using lots of logos and adding pictures - this function needs a re-vamp. Dot density, heat maps, site selection, A lot of simple cartography. Utilizing the simple mapping features with county parcel and zoning data quite a bit. Doing this for Minnesota properties and some in other states occasionally.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use for analysis. To use for cartography is sometimes quick and easy, and sometimes painful if there is too much data on screen.