Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Esri ArcGIS Enterprise 10.5.1 on Ubuntu with Postgresql (Jan 2019)

Esri | 10.5.1 (Patched Jan 2019)

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

436 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Emily W.

Arc Products

  • July 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best esri product would be ArcMap. It gives me the ability to use and display raster and vector data.
What do you dislike?
I dislike the errors that pop up while using Arc Map.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I solved showing multi data types on a single map.


    Architecture & Planning

ArcGIS

  • July 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is constantly updating and making the program better for its users. Analysis is becoming easier daily, as is access to more detailed base maps and free data.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the software can be picky, such as the requirement to not have any spaces in file names. Sometimes you can work on a process for hours before realizing that you've made a tiny mistake and then it will finally work.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use arcgis for local government purposes. Zoning maps, community analysis, and we're just starting to get into 3D modeling.


    Environmental Services

Powerful Program With Abundnt Features

  • June 21, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ArcGIS suite of programs is immensely powerful. I like that there are always new features that I am learning about. ArcGIS allows me to efficiently plan field visits and maximize my understanding of the landscapes that I work in.
What do you dislike?
The layout of complicated programs in the ArcGIS suite takes a long time of regular use or intensive training to master.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I regularly use ArcMap to analyze topography of landscapes and plan conservation practices.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Invest time in training for this product.


    Aaron G.

New to GIS but ESRI seems to be the standard.

  • June 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ability to update maps with the latest information from our TV trucks, and integration with other ArcGIS installations.
What do you dislike?
Challenges with integrating assets from other software because of the map standards.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sharing location information of all our gravity lines, laterals, force mains, manholes etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Enhance your Asset Register with GIS information that can be shared with many applications.


    Zorah O.

ArcGIS, an exceptionally powerful tool IF you know how to use it.

  • May 31, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is a truly amazing product. There is so much you can do it's mind-boggling.
What do you dislike?
There is an incredibly steep learning curve. You MUST take a class, and likely many classes to know what you're doing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We conserve natural resources and do lots of mapping. I've also used it to pull addresses out that meet specific criteria (100ft away from a stream, etc.)


    Samuel S.

Needs work, but this is the standard barer for GIS

  • May 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It gets the job done and it is a transferable skill from many jobs. It can create incredibly precise analysis if deployed correctly.
What do you dislike?
To use GIS, you need to take a class with Dana Tomlin to get it (lucky that I did). Also without the use of Arcpy, running complex tasks with Model Builder is awful.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Need to create maps to visualize problems and solutions for my clients.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Open source please!


    Ariana J.

Researching for best map making software

  • May 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It has a good variety of features and programs. ArcGIS Online works well, it didn't freeze up too much and had a good interface, however the desktop version is still more powerful and convenient. The interface is a lot better and more understandable than in years past.
What do you dislike?
I dislike paying, wish I could get more time to test it out before paying, or that they had some small section of ArcGIS online that could be more open like Google Maps.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I needed to make a few maps for a project.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A great product to consider, lots of potential for more complicated projects.


    Research

ArcGIS as a Great Tool for Visual Displays

  • May 26, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is an excellent software for mapping and visual display.
What do you dislike?
It has a very high learning curve and some of the functions seem like they could be made simpler to execute, especially in relation to the times and cost of the program overall.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating visual maps for meetings and applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Have someone ready to implement the software with experience. It has a high learning curve.


    Sarah A.

Amazing for marketing reporting and storytelling with maps

  • May 19, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is the only GIS worth having. There's almost no other product that comes close, although I once had to use quantum GIS while on a Mac.

ArcGIS helps me input huge amounts of data and use it two ways. I'm a writer. The first way is to understand my audience for marketing. I can see if my target audience is all clustered in one are and overlay demographics, egg, and with this greater understanding of them, I get to write messages that I feel are more compelling and valuable to what they actually care about. That's the marketing side.

The second side is the storytelling. I'm also a freelance journalist and the GIS helps me develop correlations that can help tell a story. I can show you where all the voters are behaving a certain way, for instance, as it correlates to their income average in a particular area. The uses for storytelling are really endless, depending on what data you can get and put in there.
What do you dislike?
The system is a little count in the sense it's hard to use and you have to take training. I've taken a few ArcGIS classes and you definitely have to keep up o. The software. It's also moving to online, which dumbs down the deli films although this gives way more people way more access to making maps, so that's good.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've been able to tell richer stories and prove points visually through supportive maps. Also I can guide my marketing content better by geographically understanding content needs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't just buy the software and expect it to work. Invest in the right classes and find mentors Doug what you want to do so you learn from the best.


    Higher Education

Esri

  • May 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is a powerful GIS program with every feature you need.
What do you dislike?
It is the most buggy program I've ever used. Zero support for corporate users with IT firewalls.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creates maps for reports.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use freeware when possible, this is a time hole.