Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Esri ArcGIS Enterprise 10.5.1 on Ubuntu with Postgresql (Jan 2019)

Esri | 10.5.1 (Patched Jan 2019)

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

436 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Architecture & Planning

ArcGIS review

  • May 12, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Good for illustrating spatial patterns visually rather than with numbers.
What do you dislike?
Antiquated user interface. Very idiosyncratic processes. Clunky to move from desktop to online.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We benefit from having another medium for showing our analyses.


    Drikus T.

Spacial planning mad easy

  • April 15, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of use of the interface as well as the depth of functionality available. It was easy enough for a novice to start using after a day's training but rich enough in functionality that an expert could utilise the tools to assist in any spatial query.
What do you dislike?
The amount of SQL knowledge needed for in depth analysis of the core data. Verification of cadastral data could be very intricate and confusing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used Esri software to assist our emergency services disaster management team with various queries including, plotting of fire lines, safe zones and emergency routes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As a company they are very approachable and easy to work with. I built up a good working relationship with them within weeks of implementing their software. They are considerate of their clients needs and treat all their clients the same regardless of the amounts spent on their services and software


    Chad C.

Industry leader in commercial GIS software

  • March 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I've been using ArcGIS since version 8.0, and ArcView 3.2 before that. Whether you want to admit it or not, the ArcGIS platform is THE commercial software package of the GIS world. ArcGIS is an incredibly powerful suite of applications and tools that all work together seamlessly for a complete desktop, mobile, and web solution - and this is what I like about it the most.

The Python (arcpy) integration and REST API are incredibly powerful and fun to work with, allowing you programatic access to your data in a variety of ways.
What do you dislike?
I have a few beefs with ArcGIS, I challenge you to find a real user that doesn't.

1. The online help/forum presence - just when you get used to the online help, they change it, often resulting in horrible redirects and 404s. Their forums have been a mess for years, and they have only gotten worse.

2. Publishing a geoprocessing task from Desktop to Server is about the most unintuitive workflow ever, and it has always been that bad. I struggle to make sense of this for clients regularly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Is there a business problem that can't be solved with GIS, using the ArcGIS platform as the tool? I have used the ArcGIS platform in online mapping for city/local governments/utilities; cartography, data analysis, online mapping, and data-mining in oil and gas; 3D modeling and visualization for offshore wind farms...the list goes on and on.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get a trial version and test it out; Esri is really good about trial licenses.


    Erik N.

Great for Mapping and Keeping Geospatial information organized

  • March 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ESRI has been a staple software for me since 2007. Overall it is easy to use, there is always more than one way to complete a task, and just about anyone can learn it. I have formal training and a degree in Geography that was centered on ArcGIS. I use the software to build maps and maintain all of my geospatial data throughout the upper midwest region.
What do you dislike?
BUGS. Being one of the only paid GIS softwares, there is no real competition. This always leads to lack of innovation and bugs in the software releases. That is my only big gripe.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Keeping my data updated and ready to use at a moments notice. I can work on 10 different projects in a given day, and ArcGIS makes it easy to switch between them and keep all of my data straight.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure to buy the license you need. There are 3 different levels and you need to know which tools will be available, and which ones you will want to utilize. Also make sure you know which extensions you may want to purchase.


    Scott F.

Industry leader of GIS solutions with great partnerships covering most needs

  • January 08, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very versatile solution with easy to use interfaces for all levels of users. Fantastic partnerships with companies such as SAP and SAS for business needs, ENVI for advanced imagery processing, FME for advanced data transformations and the list goes on. Widely used as the standard for GIS making it easy to share and work together with other organizations. Integrated across multiple platforms and capable of enterprise wide deployment.
What do you dislike?
While the help tools built into the software are great and the additional details that can be found online it can still be hard finding what help documents you need in the first place. There is so many users all fighting to get enhancements made for their workflows and it seems ESRI gets so bogged down they can't reasonably vet everything or organize it. In many cases items don't get noticed because multiple users are saying the same things but worded differently and spread out across multiple locations so it looks to ESRI as though there is 500 users wanting 100 unique things spread out across 100 requests instead of 500 users asking for 1 thing all consolidated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
ESRI handles all of our GIS needs from printed maps to web applications or simply storing and processing spatial data for analysis. GIS provides a seamless visualization tool we can combine data from across the enterprise and build out complex relationships to help answer questions along with making the best decisions possible.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have the money this is the biggest bang for your buck in terms of GIS solutions and you can easily expand it out as needed to take advantage of the additional extensions and plugins or integration pieces with other software. From simple desktop solution to enterprise wide integration ArcGIS has something to handle 95% or more of users needs out there.


    Lauren M.

Despite issues, necessary to know in the GIS world

  • December 28, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Joins are immensely helpful when comparing tables of data with shapes. There are even more options available to those who have/know ArcCatalog as well and can build relationships and subtypes into their databases. Makes it simple to digitize features from CAD files or images. Generally plays well with other programs like CAD. Can build scripts in python that use ArcGIS tools to speed up repetitive tasks and not even have to open the program. Their Customer Service is also generally great and wants to help
What do you dislike?
Does not deal well with large data sets. Dealing with attribute tables SHOULD be more like working in excel but isn't. Scripting with their geodatabases can be a pain with the learning curve but is definitely manageable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Working with large databases that contains housing information. Able to quickly compare data with excel using joins and other QC procedures.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you can afford it, just get it. Its so well documented and the help staff are eager to find solutions.

If not don't worry too much. QGIS is very similar and free. If you just need the tools and not the GUI, GDAL can also be used to script up processes.


    Steven C.

Weekly GIS user

  • December 18, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Amazingly powerful tool for GIS analysis and fairly good for cartography.
What do you dislike?
The design tools and interface lag behind Adobe Illustrator, would love if the two were better integrated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a city planner, so constantly making land use and transportation decisions with the help of ArcGIS.


    Zak B.

User review for ArcGIS

  • December 13, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is an exceptional program. It has man more uses than we currently have, but the functionality is fantastic. It is a program which requires a little more effort to master, but once one does, the sky is the limit. I am a firm believer in creating something right the first time, and this program enables one to.

The best part of this program is the ability to create and modify attributes for shapefiles. Many coworkers prefer to work with KML or KMZ, but the preferred display settings are limited, and are easily lost when the system is rebooted. The attributes for .SHP enable analysts to create a file with a preferred display and enable one to do much more for presenting the graphics.
What do you dislike?
There are two primary issues with ArcGIS: the cost and the stability. The suite we use is extremely expensive and is more than $12k for one user. The software can be very touchy when using thin client architecture.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When attempting to train the next generation of DoD intelligence analysts, a tool for terrain analysis and for pattern analysis is needed. The mapping of ArcGIS is far superior to nearly every other digital mapping tool I've used in nearly 15 years within the industry. As both a user and an instructor, I found myself as the "go to" guy when utilizing this software on a daily basis for more than four years.


    Utilities

An ArcGIS Review

  • December 07, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ArcGIS is a cutting-edge, innovative and fine-tuned piece of GIS software. ArcGIS is very simple to use and it is easy to navigate and use the hundreds of geoprocssing tools that is has on offer to help visualise spatial data. ArcMap has the ability to view data and create maps in both 2D and 3D, and gives the option to quickly share with others.
What do you dislike?
To handle large data processing a decent computer is needed., this can prove costly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use ArcMap every day within my work to analyse data and run spatial queries. I also use ArcMap to digitise features.


    Sudhir P.

It has been very easy working with ArcGIS

  • December 04, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The plethora of information available to navigate any problem is the best thing for me. With ever expanding user base, there is always somebody to help in case of an issue. Its just not a map making tool but one can actually use it for various design applications, perform spatial functions. Also, it can be utilized for various applications. I have used it for mapping the water distribution network, perform hydraulic modeling, use it for citywide planning, etc.
What do you dislike?
It requires lot of processing power and takes a lot of time for certain functions. Also, the basic license doesn't really have much teeth. You can't do spatial analysis and you have to buy an upgraded licence to be able to use most of the features. I think the costing should be restructured to include the spatial analysis in the basic licensing as it is one of the primary requirements for the civil engineering applications. Most of the time the administrator purchasing the license is not aware of these limitations and it becomes difficult for the end user. I faced similar issue in my company and had to use QGIS because i was short on time and needed to get the work done immediately.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am working on the public utility side mapping the water distribution network. One advantage i have realized is the compatibility of ArcGIS with various modeling software namely, Bentley WaterGems. I can work with the Bentley model directly in ArcGIS which saves so much time and increases the functionality that i can provide to the clients.