Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle3.11+: Open-source learning platform by Miri Infotech.

Miri Infotech | 3

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2016.03.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

314 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Rachelle A.

I use Moodle to interface with students for resources, assignments, submissions, and grades.

  • June 25, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Students can check grades through a password-controlled secure site at any time, even via smart phones. This helps their anxiety level and saves me extra work and extra paper getting that information to them throughout the semester.
What do you dislike?
There are a lot of steps to follow for each process in Moodle, so it's cumbersome. The most cumbersome part of the process is the gradebook, which mimics the layout of a spreadsheet but lacks all of the ease of one.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Real-time, secure (password protected) interface with class of students where all students need to receive the same information from me for assignments, but each student needs to submit assignments one on one and retrieve grades privately.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Moodle is easy to learn if users are relatively software savvy. However, I find that it lacks some ease of use and sophistication for dealing with a university classroom and grading interface. Its group work functions are clunky, and even individual student records and assignments take several steps to access. As a user, I spend far too much time scrolling and clicking intermediate steps and scrolling again compared to the amount of actual information I submit. In short, Moodle is easy to learn but not always easy to use.


    Michael L.

Great Resource for Classes

  • June 25, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle, like other websites, offers a way to keep classes together in one place. This coupled with the fact that it can store grades and links allows classes to have all their resources in one single class webpage. I have taken an entire course where everything I needed was on the one webpage, which allows ease of access. Grades and quizzes are very easy to view and complete.
What do you dislike?
Perhaps this may pertain to just the course, but every discussion post in Moodle linked to my e-mail and basically spammed it. The colors and presentation of the site could also use a little bit of work, as it is very dull and one color-ish (greyish). But, I am using Moodle to learn, not analyze its artistic values. Also, it seems my class info/links are arranged by date. This is useful for courses that teach through weeks as I just scroll to any week to find certain course material.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use this for educational purposes. The benefits of Moodle come from the fact that many classes utilize it, allowing a student to fully have all class information on hand. Also, it is rarely ever down, so you may log in whenever you would like.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have used other educational sites that universities use, then Moodle is pretty much like no other. The outline of the website may be different at first, but it is guaranteed you will learn how it works within an hour.


    Ally S.

I'd use Moodle!

  • June 24, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I haven't had much experience with Moodle, but I've been exploring it over the past week. I really like the website design and the way the product is presented. I would use Moodle definitely based on the product presentation. I know my brother has used it for school projects, and he had a great experience with the product. I really like the communication it provides between all members of a learning environment. I respect the way that the Moodle community reached out to attract product users such as myself. I did not feel like I was being bothered or anything.
What do you dislike?
I am not sure how to use all of the features, and it is not clear what features Moodle offers. I am not entirely sure what I am supposed to do when I get Moodle, and what it will help me with. In order to find out if it was really easy to use, I think I would have to test it out myself. I think it is hard to say something is easy to use when you first start using it. I will have to give it more time. I also would hope that the Moodle customer service would be great so that if the administrators or users had any questions or concerns, they would be answered in a timely fashion.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a student, but I am thinking about possibly starting a business in the future. I think that Moodle could be a great way to keep my business unified. I think as a student that I could benefit from a system like Moodle because it would allow a professor to communicate with a class and vice versa on a project. I think especially as I am entering graduate school, with smaller class size and more specific work, it would be greatly beneficial.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check out the website! It definitely encourages users.


    Primary/Secondary Education

Moodle works well

  • June 24, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part about Moodle is the ability to upload and share papers and information. It is a quick and easy way to make sure everyone has the necessary documents.
What do you dislike?
Its organization scheme is a little, well, unorganized. Would like to see things a little more streamlined.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use this for school, not business.


    Andrea M.

Adequate

  • June 24, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Checking grades was incredibly easy. Submitting assignments was also fairly easy.
What do you dislike?
The site is a little outdated looking and could have a more interactive home page.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moodle is great to correspond.


    Higher Education

Moodle

  • June 24, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the overall look of Moodle. Since switching from Blackboard I feel that it can be more user friendly although I am comparing this to an old version of Blackboard.
What do you dislike?
I do not like that many book publishers do not have the same amount of resources that easily link to Moodle as compared to Blackboard. I think Moodle could also benefit from some added features such as a better PDF grading tool (make it as advanced as using the Adobe comments feature). I would also like if there was something similar to Google hangouts directly in Moodle. I do not like having to use features outside of the Moodle platform - if we are going to use Moodle I want everything directly in the platform. I would also like in forums that there was something similar to a "like" button in Facebook - if I could easily hit a quick "like" or "substantive comment" button and add a quick comment right there on the spot that would make forum grading much easier. The student should be able to easily see this as well. I use the red flag and green star for my benefit now but I do not believe the students can see this and I still have to hit reply to actually add my comment - takes too long.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am not sure about the first question stated here - my University selected Moodle over Blackboard several years ago because of cost factors. We use this as our primary learning platform for both seated and online classes.


    Higher Education

Moodle is a very comprehensive tool for instruction, training, collaboration in higher education...

  • June 23, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle has many different tools that can be leveraged in order to teach, train, or collaborate. These tools are constantly being updated to reflect user needs/feedback, resulting in a quickly evolving platform. I appreciate the multiple resources available for user problem solving at a non-administrative or highly technical level.
What do you dislike?
This is very specific to the way the institution I use Moodle with works: Our technology support team does not use Moodle to teach, train, or collaborate, and so I feel they are very limited in their ability to problem-solve and support faculty and staff who DO use it. I end up using generic resources to solve my issues, then instruct MY SUPPORT TEAM on how to solve the problem for me at an administrative level. It is very frustrating, but I am glad that I am able to find the answers needed to instruct them.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are trying to effectively train faculty, staff and students. Ultimately, we use Moodle to educate others, track data, and formalize our assessment efforts. I wish the other institution of higher education I work at used Moodle, but we are stuck with BlackBoard Learn. This system is very limited compared to Moodle.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There is a steep learning curve; take the time to get proper training as you develop and implement new courses/trainings/projects. While it makes sense to learn as you go and create, if you want to use your time efficiently and effectively it makes sense to get basic training on the new tools and resources in each upgrade.


    Aaron S.

A very ciunky UI.

  • June 23, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Function of facilitating discussion boards.
What do you dislike?
Unintuitive UI and redirecting to different links instead of using hypertexts.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
N/A
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Care for setup of discussion boards.


    Kally L.

Love Moodle

  • June 23, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like best about Moodle is the ease of navigating around the site. It makes finding different course work and other bits of shared information super simple to navigate to and easy to respond.
What do you dislike?
Really, there isn't much I dislike about Moodle.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
There are not currently any business problems. The benefits I have realized is really just the ease of using it. We have individuals with disabilities in our facility who take college courses and use Moodle and they get through the site perfectly.


    Julie T.

Moodle

  • June 20, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to see the whole course set up at one time. It is simple to see the progress that you are making as a student.
What do you dislike?
It can be very overwhelming to see all of the tasks that need to be done at one time, rather than one at a time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Providing a reliable online learning experience allows me as a student to enroll in classes & opportunities that are not geographically possible.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Moodle is a good platform for older students to use in the organization, distribution and collection of digital coursework.