Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle3.11+: Open-source learning platform by Miri Infotech.

Miri Infotech | 3

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2016.03.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

342 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Bill M.

best-in-class open source LMS for today and the future

  • November 17, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
After the pandemic virtual learning debacle, it became obvious to adopt tools specialized in delivering blended and virtual learning. Moodle gets it all right, flexible and powerful; superb features for any style of learning, and a huge plug-in ecosystem.

With API access it is not difficult to pull resources in from other sources (or share resources from moodle).

I'd be remiss if I didnt mention H5P, interactive asessment that links into moodles gradebook. All really good stuff.
What do you dislike about the product?
Anything relating the customizing themes is a pain in the ass. I use default theme boost. There are some really good themes you can buy - not that expensive. But if you want to customize a theme, blech.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Delivering content is more than just watching youtube videos. There has to be meaningful assessment and engagement or it's just another resource dump. Being able to offer blended or virtual learning is a huge value-add for me and my students. Moreover, if a student wants to extend their learning I can simply enrol them in one of my courses.


    Primary/Secondary Education

Moodle has its pros and cons!

  • November 17, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I find Moodle's feature of creating and managing online courses while keeping track of student progress to be incredibly convenient and efficient. The ability to offer students the option to take online coursework is especially beneficial, as it allows for flexibility in scheduling and location while still providing a structured learning environment. Additionally, as an instructor, being able to easily monitor student progress and provide feedback in real-time allows for more personalized and effective teaching. Overall, Moodle's online course management system greatly enhances the learning experience for both students and educators alike.
What do you dislike about the product?
Learning how to use Moodle can be a daunting task due to its vast range of features, making it complex and time-consuming to figure out. Although Moodle is an expansive platform with many capabilities, the process of getting started is not streamlined. Our team spent several months trying to navigate the platform, but fortunately, our Moodle Representatives were patient and kind throughout the process.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
By providing students with the option to complete their coursework remotely, we have been able to offer a more flexible learning environment. This will allow us to attract a wider range of students who may otherwise not have been able to attend our courses due to geographical or scheduling constraints.
Moodle has helped us streamline our training process. We no longer have to spend time and resources on finding a suitable location for our courses, nor do we have to worry about creating a schedule that works for everyone. Instead, we can focus on delivering high-quality training content that meets the needs of our students.


    keny C.

is ok

  • November 16, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Simple and easy to navigate and have a lot of potential.
What do you dislike about the product?
Better options for reviewing students, files, assignments, and live chat.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
track students nad have better report.


    Higher Education

Moodle is a solid LMS for small colleges

  • November 16, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Moodle is fairly simple to maintain and easy for students and teachers to utilize. It's quite customizable and a good programming team can integrate software with it.
What do you dislike about the product?
Support for Moodle from third parties is sometimes lacking in comparison to Blackboard and Canvas. However, it has support from the third parties that count such as major textbook publishers McGrawHill and Cengage.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Moodle gives our school a reliable place for teachers and students to access course materials online.


    Andrew L.

Moodle Workplace Provides The Power and Flexibility Needed

  • November 16, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The migration to Moodle Workplace provided us with a powerful training and implementation team that laid the foundation for our LMS today. Of course, most LMS companies help with migration, but this was different. I had managed other LMS providers in my career and the experience, answers, and dedicated time - but my experience with Moodle US was beyond anything that I had experienced. Our LMS went from no courses to over 200 as of today. We are in the administration side of Moodle Workplace every day the office is open as we support students and seek to enhance their experience.

As an educational non-profit, the following details are what is the best from our experience:

- Flexibility - The coding in Moodle allows us to even change the names of buttons, items, etc. This went beyond adding our logo or even brand colors. This allowed us to have each student experience be unique to our vocabulary and "look and feel".

- Programs - We leverage Moodle Workplace which allows us to create programs. These are bundled courses or a series of courses that can be packaged together and allow for a seamless experience for our students. This provides so much power with bundles, certificates, and other course groupings. From a student experience - it is all seamlessly connected. This past year, we looked to move from Moodle Workplace to Moodle. Moodle didn't have this functionality so we stayed with Moodle Workplace.

- Branching Scenarios - Moodle allows us to create branching scenarios that provide a student experience in line with a Choose Your Own Adventure. This allows scenario training, feedback, and the opportunity to make new choices. This has been very powerful for us!

- Price - We've looked at a lot of LMS providers and the scaleable and affordable price point of Moodle has us sold. As a non-profit, finances are critical, and having access to a robust system at a solid price point is brilliant!

- Support - I've worked with support tickets before. But the Moodle Support Team is out of this world. Super fast response, research, and help in addressing questions, fixing issues, and walking us through upgrades. Every interaction has been stellar - truly.

- Plug Ins - Want to go farther? Moodle has so many plug ins. We tend to use very few and keep it to the Moodle Core, but the options are there and we review them from time to time. Everyone has a unique situation and that plug in might just make the difference to someone.
What do you dislike about the product?
With flexibility comes complexity. Moodle serves a worldwide community. It takes an investment in time to really understand the multitude of settings (most of which we haven't even needed to change or use), but they are there and when we are troubleshooting things - there is a bit of research. (Support has been so helpful, but there is a big ownership piece taking on Moodle - more so than some other LMS providers.)

We all use things differently and with upgrades to address enhancements and changes made to things from the look and feel to how the interface works. Once you get to the point of customizing things it can be challenging when options are taken away. For example, the recent upgrade took away the next button on the screens and moved navigation to a left-hand menu. It seems clunky. An enhancement request has been made by a group looking to return that function. That said, we can use a plug-in to put that back into the functionality. In the end, it would be great to have had the ability to turn it on or off - not just take it away. Once you get used to customizing things - it can be hard when you can't.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We had a problem of being relevant in the 21st Century. As a non-profit organization that started in 1912 - it happens. Moodle allowed us to jump into the current century (and beyond)! Before that our content was open and it was easy to "take". Now, we have reminders, workflows, and student engagement with videos, articles, case studies, scenarios, assessments, content, and more. This benefits us greatly because we can talk about the experience with our company as a positive one and that the learning experience is one we can fully and honestly recommend. At a time when more and more organizations are doing more with less or even disappearing. We are thriving and growing. We had three employees and even with all the new technology and options - we didn't replace an employee when they left and two of us handle it all. This is a huge benefit to us, the students, and the community.


    Louise B.

Moodle has been great for us

  • November 16, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Moodle is so flexible: we've been able to do so much for so many varied audiences.
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometimes Moodle can be super complicated for new people - it's much improved, but user experience could still be improved.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Employee training plus external training offerings. Being able to do both flexibly has been a huge bonus.


    Higher Education

We use moodle for all of our higher education LMS needs:

  • November 16, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Low cost to scale up to a large number of users.
What do you dislike about the product?
It can have a difficult learning curve at first. Finding the right integrations and finding developers with the right skill sets can be challenging.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It hosts our online Higher Ed LMS.


    Vasudevan S.

Moodle platform

  • November 16, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The platform is user-friendly, making it simple for learners to access course materials and complete assignments. Instructors can easily create and manage courses, set up assessments, and track student progress.
What do you dislike about the product?
As of now I don't see any issues, it's good
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
customisable based on our requirement and with mobile app we can access the contents


    Simbarashe Z.

Moodle is the best opensource Learning Management System there is.

  • November 15, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is flexible, configurable, and customizable to your institution's requirements. If you want to integrate it with other systems, it is seamless with their web services APIs. It also comes with a user-friendly mobile application that supports offline content viewing. As an administrator, one thing I like most is that it is widely used and a well-supported system from both the community and its customer desk.
What do you dislike about the product?
Not exactly a downside but you will still need to invest some dollars to get the best theme or plugins
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Managing blended learning provides interactive learning content, especially with H5P


    Sushil Kumar S.

Moodle LMS for any size and any type of educational institution

  • November 15, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Moodle is a reach featured open source LMS irrespative of size and nature of the educational institution. It can be easily integrated with many third party applications with the pulgins.
What do you dislike about the product?
Its tough students and teachers UI decorages the users.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1. We are a k-12 School. We use this LMS to make Blanded learning concept possible.
2. We are a group of 132 institutions in the far area of northern india. To teach the students with the help of electronics equipments we use LMS for content delivery.
3. We are also using this LMS for online leaning and teaching of few courses.
4. Automated online assessment and assigment reduced the teacher's load dresticly.
5. Integration with big blyue button it removed the interfarance of outsiders/unathical intruders during the online classes.
6. We use the moodle for psychometric,career counselling test of the students
It is a big list of benifits.