Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Chef Automate (First 10 nodes free)

Chef | 1.8.85

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

18 AWS reviews

External reviews

42 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    saad

It doesn't work

  • April 17, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have tried multiple times to create an instance of this AMI and set up chef, but it doesn't connect.


    setu s.

Repeatable Infrastructure has been made easy

  • April 15, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
IT infrastructure can be saved /reused as when required. Less time to create infrastructure
What do you dislike?
Difficult to learn the language for beginners
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1) Faster time to market
2) Less human error
3) Robust infrastrcuture


    Chef-Server-10-Free

Do not use.

  • April 05, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Similar to other people, I tried this for the Chef training course and had no end of gateway and sign-up and then SSL issues so I wasnt able to use it. Unfortunate. Please review this AMI.


    Deano

Bad Gateway - and how to fix

  • March 04, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I had the same Bad Gateway errors as the other reviewers. I did a little digging and found a fix.

ssh on and then

sudo chef-server-ctl upgrade


    Information Technology and Services

Chef to automate your infra

  • February 05, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to understand, configure the management of your infrastructure
What do you dislike?
available documentation is less as compare to other tools,
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we need to deploy a software developed by our developer, our infrastructure is very complex with different OS, environment, DBs, explorers, with the help of CHEF we did this within stipulated time without any issues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to learn, implement, configure, distribute over the landscape, Ruby is the main attraction, can cook the best food for you with its available cookbooks for your infrastructure to automate


    Food & Beverages

Exective chef at a university

  • December 22, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Being able to feed people with simpe ingrednts
What do you dislike?
At times the lack of knowdgle of the time it takes to make a dish
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Meeting food cost
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Not at this time


    Phil A.

Longtime user and fan of Chef

  • December 21, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Chef DK allows you to have a full CI/CD workflow for your infrastructure as code. With chef you can stick to the community cookbooks and boilerplate resources or you can make it do anything you like with raw ruby.
What do you dislike?
As everyone says it can be a bit daunting to get started. Most new development seems to be targeted at enterprises.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Chef, there's no excuse not to have your entire infrastructure as code.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's worth spending a bit more time up front to understand the product than you might with other configuration management solutions. The benefit is much more power and a massive community.


    Zach

Doesn't work

  • December 14, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Attempted to use this with the "Lean Chef Ralley" "Manage a Node with Chef Automate" lesson. UNUSABLE. After trying to do the setup and I get an internal server error and can download the starter kit or login to the automate console. Tried to login via command line as root and with the key I associated wit the server but still nothing.


    ccelis

Setup is getting error 500

  • December 05, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Hi, after launch the ec2. I try to setup a new org. But after fullfill the form I get a 500 (Internal server error).

Looking in the logs a see the next:

"2017-12-04_21:16:33.32044 200.54.48.178 - - [04/Dec/2017:21:16:33 +0000] "POST /biscotti/setup/starter-kit HTTP/1.1" 500 30 0.0635
2017-12-05_12:50:52.23931 200.54.48.178 - - [05/Dec/2017:12:50:52 +0000] "GET /biscotti/ HTTP/1.1" 200 1780 0.0008
2017-12-05_12:50:52.44307 200.54.48.178 - - [05/Dec/2017:12:50:52 +0000] "GET /biscotti/assets/js/app.js HTTP/1.1" 200 393481 0.0013
2017-12-05_12:50:53.30506 200.54.48.178 - - [05/Dec/2017:12:50:53 +0000] "GET /biscotti/assets/images/icons/all.svg HTTP/1.1" 200 59 0.0005
2017-12-05_12:51:17.89212 200.54.48.178 - - [05/Dec/2017:12:51:17 +0000] "POST /biscotti/ HTTP/1.1" 303 - 0.0008
2017-12-05_12:51:18.08876 200.54.48.178 - - [05/Dec/2017:12:51:18 +0000] "GET /biscotti/setup HTTP/1.1" 200 6495 0.0011
2017-12-05_12:51:18.40693 200.54.48.178 - - [05/Dec/2017:12:51:18 +0000] "GET /biscotti/assets/images/icons/all.svg HTTP/1.1" 200 59 0.0006
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71659 2017-12-05 12:52:08 - Net::HTTPServerException - 409 "Conflict":
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71660 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/lib/ruby/2.4.0/net/http/response.rb:122:in `error!'
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71661 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/gem/ruby/2.4.0/gems/chef-13.4.19/lib/chef/http.rb:152:in `request'
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71661 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/gem/ruby/2.4.0/gems/chef-13.4.19/lib/chef/http.rb:131:in `post'
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71661 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/biscotti/lib/chef_server_setup.rb:41:in `create_org'
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71661 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/biscotti/app/extensions/starter_kit_dsl.rb:26:in `setup_chef_server'
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71661 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/biscotti/app/routes/setup.rb:13:in `block in '
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71663 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/gem/ruby/2.4.0/gems/sinatra-2.0.0/lib/sinatra/base.rb:1632:in `call'
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71664 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/gem/ruby/2.4.0/gems/sinatra-2.0.0/lib/sinatra/base.rb:1632:in `block
in compile!'
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71664 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/gem/ruby/2.4.0/gems/sinatra-2.0.0/lib/sinatra/base.rb:991:in `block (
3 levels) in route!'
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71664 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/gem/ruby/2.4.0/gems/sinatra-2.0.0/lib/sinatra/base.rb:1010:in `route_
eval'
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71664 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/gem/ruby/2.4.0/gems/sinatra-2.0.0/lib/sinatra/base.rb:991:in `block (2 levels) in route!'
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71665 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/gem/ruby/2.4.0/gems/sinatra-2.0.0/lib/sinatra/base.rb:1037:in `block in process_route'
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71665 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/gem/ruby/2.4.0/gems/sinatra-2.0.0/lib/sinatra/base.rb:1035:in `catch'
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71665 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/gem/ruby/2.4.0/gems/sinatra-2.0.0/lib/sinatra/base.rb:1035:in `process_route'
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71665 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/gem/ruby/2.4.0/gems/sinatra-2.0.0/lib/sinatra/base.rb:989:in `block in route!'
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71665 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/gem/ruby/2.4.0/gems/sinatra-2.0.0/lib/sinatra/base.rb:988:in `each'
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71666 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/gem/ruby/2.4.0/gems/sinatra-2.0.0/lib/sinatra/base.rb:988:in `route!'
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71666 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/gem/ruby/2.4.0/gems/sinatra-2.0.0/lib/sinatra/base.rb:1094:in `block in dispatch!'
2017-12-05_12:52:08.71666 /opt/chef-marketplace/embedded/service/gem/ruby/2.4.0/gems/sinatra-2.0.0/lib/sinatra/base.rb:1073:in `block in invoke'
"

The version that I have been launch was: 1.7.39-1


    Christopher M.

Chef'ing up Liferay

  • November 22, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like chef because it uses DSL for configuration instead of XML, Rackspace supports it very well, etc. However the absolute best thing about Chef is the concept of recipes where you can get your platform up and configured extremely easily if that platform has a chef recipe. In addition most large platforms do have chef recipes so it's great! Also, I like that it;s open source
What do you dislike?
Some of the things i dislike about chef, and this might jkust be a criticism of configuration management in general, is that you need pretty much a full team to support it. Sometimes I feel like it adds more complexity instead of kless.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The biggest issue we are solving with Chef is the knowledge gap that exists in new employees when first learning out platforms. previous it would take months for new developers to become effective because they spend several months fighting with the platform, build tools, etc. Chef makes this much less of a hassle
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Learn it well before you try to incorporate it in your enterprise