Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server (500 Connected Devices)

OpenVPN Inc | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

114 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Christropher F.

Flexible open source VPN

  • May 28, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like Openvpn because it is an open source and flexible software that supports using different type of devices and operating systems like windows, android and IOS) all together. The two-factor authentication is a great option to maximize the network security. Openvpn is very useful in creating a secure network tunnel that is IP protected.
What do you dislike?
Requires prior knowledge and experience to be able to do make the right configurations. It is also important to keep backups from all the working configuration files.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Openvpn is very useful to use while developing our authentication modules because of its strong encryption system. It also offers a great system to establish a virtual private network that is safe and well protected.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN offers a secure network that is flexible and well protected. It might require watching some tutorials but once you know how to do the right configurations, it works great. I definitely recommend it


    Internet

OpenVPN

  • May 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple interface thats has very intuitive options to select the needed options .
What do you dislike?
The phone application of OpenVPN does not have the option of completely hiding the app or hiding it more than usual.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use a lot of wifi hotspots and need a secure connection to the internet.


    John W.

Powerful VPN tool

  • May 25, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open source that is easy to configure for anyone with just basic IT knowledge. It is a great solution for traffic tunneling and building secured networks using OpenVPN server. The UI is simple to navigate through and managing servers is easy. OpenVPN is can be used for many purposes in the IT field
What do you dislike?
The customer support service is very slow in responding back. Not enough tutorials available online for beginners..
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Building secure networks that can be accessed remotely by our IT department.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN is great opensource tool that help in building secured networks that can be remotely accessed from anywhere. I highly recommended for anyone working in the IT field.


    Food & Beverages

Dependable

  • May 17, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We've been using OpenVPN for 2 years now and their support and customer updates are always in par.
What do you dislike?
Maybe the pricing and the minimum users to add if you only just need a few like 5 below.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As of the moment we dont have any.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy implementation and client setup


    Jeremy F.

Low effort and highly reliable client to VPC VPN

  • May 16, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The availability of client software for all operating systems and mobile devices means my customers can connect regardless of their setup.
What do you dislike?
I’ve not had any bad experience with OpenVPN.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use OpenVPN to support a legacy 3 tier application running on AWS. My customers run the windows client locally and connect to the databases and other services over the VPN.


    Retail

A simple and secure VPN product

  • May 16, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN has been simple to deploy and use in our environment. We use it as a second option for remote connection in case our other system is unavailable for any reason.
What do you dislike?
There is not much to dislike, perhaps reporting could be a bit more robust, but for our small deployment, it isn't an issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
* Secondary connection in case other technologies fail
* Cross-Platform support of remote connectivity - Apple does not work with Microsoft Direct Access
* Allowing Macintosh users to work remotely
* Allowing remote IT Management


    Josh W.

Excellent, flexible solution for our Azure environment

  • May 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The documentation & excellent technical support.
What do you dislike?
Occasionally I have to disconnect the VPN client and reconnect it. This happens maybe 1 time per day or every other day. It could just be my system though.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have secured our Azure environment by requiring users & admins to connect by VPN to manage our servers and other business critical resources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would strongly recommend reviewing the relevant documentation before setting up the Open VPN Access Server.


    Alexandre V.

OpenVPN - Review

  • May 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is easy to configure a solution for tunneling our traffic to the OpenVPN server. The main advantage of OpenVPN is the fact that it is a very safe and free OpenVPN solution, compatible with most platforms available on the market, so we can also cover the protection of mobile devices that we use. OpenVPN is a very easy solution in the configuration allows you to install an interface that will help, managing the server created for us, so surely the installation of the server will cope with the people interested in IT.
What do you dislike?
- The free license has a limited number of devices that can connect to the server.
- Setting up a server with a terminal can be difficult for beginners.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Thanks to using OpenVPN I can safely connect to the company database without worrying about data leakage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to create a VPN server that will enable you to browse the Internet safely, you should consider using the OpenVPN protocol for this purpose, especially since it has gained the trust of many VPN service providers.


    Glenn R.

One of the best VPN clients on the market

  • May 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is a great VPN tool. A lot of operating systems natively support VPN, however try to set one up and you will notice the limitations. OpenVPN is incredibly easy to setup and use. We use this tool to allow users to access the same network. Connecting is a breeze and there are no bugs. The software is also very secure. Importing certificates is also easy and with literally ever other VPN tool out there this is not the case at all.
What do you dislike?
When you first install it through a web browser, you will be asked to login. I have found that for some reason this screen just hangs and does nothing. Not sure what that is about but it does not effect the functioning of the software. T
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN is used to allow users to access our internal network without being directly connected.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Stable and easy to use VPN client


    Ray N.

OpenSource solution - minimal costs

  • April 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open-source - low minimal cost to deploying system. Support standard industry security features and works with wide range of clients.
What do you dislike?
User management and generating user certificates requires more time. A little more complex for my non- Linux - Helpdesk Admins to manage system and troubleshoot.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use this to secure user VPN connections to HQ and other locations enabling users to work remotely.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great for company's with Linux admins or company's with limited budget.