Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server (500 Connected Devices)

OpenVPN Inc. | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

131 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Machinery

The Best Option

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is secure, easy to set up, powerfully flexible, and a great value. It performs better than several of it's competitors and does everything we need.
What do you dislike?
The fact they started charging for it, but its still a great deal.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Too many peopke trying to work anywhere but in the office.


    Johnathan B.

Great VPN experience

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It just works! I love how easy it is to access my server and get VPN access going on any device, laptop, tablet, or smartphone. It's easy to install and configure, and I never have any problems with it. Configuring and updating my own server is super simple. In my experience, I've always had some difficulty setting up hardware VPN appliances, but OpenVPN was no-nonsense. I also love that because it's server-based, I have the ability to virtualize the appliance and take advantage of all the benefits that gives me.
What do you dislike?
There's nothing really I dislike. I'm very content with the way OpenVPN works for my company.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Offering VPN access on a wide range of devices from smartphones to laptops. We have access back into our network no matter what device we are using.


    Computer Software

OpenVPN review

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN provides the ability to activate MFA for an installation.This is very useful for high-security environments.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the OpenVPN log on the client grows very large and requires a client server reboot
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Provide secure access from client computer to private network in the cloud. It allows us to improve security to the cloud by limiting firewall rules.


    Government Administration

OpenVPN is Great for Anyone looking for a VPN solution

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I'm a big fan of the administrative UI that simplifies the management process as well as the lightweight footprint and install time.
What do you dislike?
Really not much to dislike about the product, you're getting exactly what you pay for and more.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN has solved our need to access secure cloud systems from different remote locations without exposing any of those systems directly to the web.


    Computer Software

Works great, easy to setup!

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best things about OpenVPN are the simplicity and broad client support. It is a very cost effective solution to setup and run, doesn't require a lot of maintenance, and requires very little hardware.
What do you dislike?
I don't any issues that I would say I "dislike" about it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure remote access for users.


    Paul F.

Cheap, reliable VPN experience

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of deployment and support. Runs well on all tested devices.
What do you dislike?
Nothing, haven't had any issue using/deploying.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure remote access to all devices. Easy to get working in difficult network environments over a single TCP or UDP port and speeds surpassed a dedicated $3000 VPN appliance while running from a modest VM.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do it!


    Mark W.

Reliability and ease of use

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN has been reliable over the many years we've used it. We haven't had any issues with upgrades either!
What do you dislike?
Sometimes we will have issues with security certificates but they are resolved quickly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Allowing people to work remotely and still maintain security around our applications without having to whitelist everyones IP individually.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Quick and easy setup makes OpenVPN a no brainer


    Ryan C.

Solid basic low cost solution

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN has provided us with a solid low cost VPN option giving our user the "in office" experience they are looking for when they are working remotely. We are a small company with a small IT staff. Rolling out OpenVPN to our users was simple and painless.
What do you dislike?
I would like if it the GUI was able to do everything you can do in the command line interface. For those of us weak in Linux working with the command line can be a challenge.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The OpenVPN virtual appliance allows us to give users an "in office" experience when they are working remotely.


    Dan R.

Simple and powerful VPN without the hassle

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of deployment, ease of maintenance, simple to on-board new users. Administration of the system is straightforward. Incredibly responsive support.
What do you dislike?
In a cloud environment where you bring your own license, a small change to the underlying instance (stopping and starting the host machine) requires a new activation key. Thankfully, their support is incredibly responsive, however, would be lovely not to require this step.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Simple and secure remote access. Bastion host for cloud environments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A two user license is available for free. I would encourage anyone considering this product for use in production to give it a look.


    Research

Affordable, easy to setup VPN solution for SMB

  • February 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of setup and ease of install are the best features. Also it's nice to be able to tie security permissions to specific active directory groups. very easy to install updates and manage on a server. one of our least troubleshot applications across the organization. also being provided simple rpms and packages further allows for ease of use.
What do you dislike?
confusing website layout and lack of insight into the vpn connection experience. would be good to have a verbose setting on the client to see any potential connection issues. also phone or chat support to get direct response would be awesome to get immediate response.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
affordable vpn that is easy to setup and manage. even our help desk and student assistants that joined can easily manage users, troubleshoot issues. this saves us in labor time and labor costs so our information systems team can focus on other initiatibves that impact the company's bottom line rather than troubleshooting vpn issues or worrying about costs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
They offer non-profit and educational discount if you ask. Other open-source VPN's out there don't have the feature set or support available compared to OpenVPN. If you look at the competitors like WireGuard or NordVPN, that lack in one or both of the places that OpenVPN excels.