Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PostgreSQL 9.5

Jetware | 170503-postgresql_9_5_6

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

452 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Anonymous

PostgreSQL great scalable database

  • October 27, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the ease of use, scalibility and usability.
What do you dislike?
I dislike like of overview of data. You need to install additional tools for it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We resolve problem of scalling database from startup to enterprise.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great for scalable startups.


    Yuriy P.

Best choice between compatitors.

  • October 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open source.
Huge plug-ins offerings.
Great documentation.
What do you dislike?
Less known than MySql for example.
Less used by enterprise companies,
No official support representative for solving problems.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Storing relational data, transactive operations. Complex queries.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good choice for relational DB, with transactions.


    Information Technology and Services

PosgreSQL

  • October 23, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Licensing model is very flexible. Database can be embedded as part of an application or installed separately.
What do you dislike?
GUI UI isn't the best. PGAdmin is a local application that is installed as a web based application. It can be flakey to get running.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Storage of both discrete and nondiscrete data in a single database. The flexibility allows for implementation of many use cases including dynamic types.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Understand use of database to allow power to assist your implementation


    Information Technology and Services

#1 db server for web-app performance

  • October 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Well documented installation procedures for most common Linux OS, query language and security rules
What do you dislike?
Absence of GUI editor and absense of compatibility with old version of phpmyadmin
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Get improved performance from a web-app that was previously using mysql server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use pgAdmin as an alternative of phpmyadmin


    Sachin P.

object-relational database

  • October 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Large volume data securely store using PostgreSQL. In PostgreSQL base language is SQL. SQL is very simple and we can manipulate and generate information. PostgreSQL install in window as well as Linux. I use PostgreSQL in my rails project. Documentation of PostgreSQL easily available on internet so we can easily learn about PostgreSQL.
What do you dislike?
I don't find any dislike in PostgreSQL. PostgreSQL is easy to use and query easily understand.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is open source so we can easily install in our project and use that and security of PostgreSQL is very best.
PostgreSQL is used to save and retrieve data for my projects.


    Carly A.

Thoughts on postgres

  • October 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We prefer Postgres over any other database management system because it can be run on any platform and is very easy to program. It follows a good general sql format and has great JSON support. This is something we find very helpful because we needed a borderline NoSql like environment too. It is also open sourced, so it is easily accessible.
What do you dislike?
My biggest issue with postgres is that it consumes a ridiculous amount of CPU cycles. If you want to compress data to deal with efficiency and speed, it is not possible. I would still prefer it over a database like sybase, because of its pros, but it is definitely heavy on the memory.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have mostly used postgres for database management, and also database migration from sybase to postgres and to test it. It's benefits are very obvious and is once of the best DBMS out there in my opinion.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I'd recommend using this easy and flexible database over any of the other paid or open sourced databases because it's just so easy to use and manage.


    Mayra B.

PostgreSQL

  • October 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is totally free, it is open source, it integrates with many database managers, it has many functionalities, inheritance of tables, several views, transactional integrity
What do you dislike?
rigorous security and authentication mechanisms must be applied to avoid any vulnerability in the system
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Database management, integration with information systems, handling high transaction volumes
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take courses, read, there is a lot of information on the web very useful, to be good professionals and in the case of companies have highly trained staff


    Architecture & Planning

Utilización para el almacenamiento de datos georeferenciados

  • October 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
La sencillez de uso y el buen funcionamiento en el manejo de datos de este tipo.
What do you dislike?
No es posible su uso para un almacenamiento masivo.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
El uso de datos georefenciados que permiten su uso sin necesidad de utilizar Oracle.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Estabilidad y precio no tiene rival.


    Computer Software

Fast growing RDBMS

  • September 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its an open source database, flexibility to tweak code to suit your needs, active developer community, stability and internal design. JSON support. Available modified versions like TimeScaleDB which scales really good.
What do you dislike?
No native support of multi-master. Have to rely on commercial vendors. Bugs in logical decoding which restricts reliable integration with kafka.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data storage for web applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Growing RDBMS with enthusiastic community of developers behind


    Andy Larry R.

Best scalable and stable RDBMS i ever use

  • September 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- A very scalable data management system with powerful tools to exploit data
- A strong stability when execute complex request (trigger, ) and long term data archive
- A great stability for data storage, no data corrupted, no crash, it can store big data
- Open source and free, you can deploy PostgreSQL anywhere and anytime with sevral users as you want
- Very best support team with community
What do you dislike?
- You must regularly execute autovacuum to insure performance
- It 'is a little complicated to implement logshipping master/slave clusterization
- Not as speed as Mysql for data selection (SELECT)
- Detailed documentation only available in English version
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- I use PostgreSQL for projects which need a strong stability in data storage like banking transaction management, employee salary management and others, with PostgreSQL, you insure data availability.
- I also use PostgreSQL for business intelligence projects because it support complex SQL request mix with triggers and stored procedure which are powerful tools for making strong data analysis.