Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Plesk Obsidian on CentOS 7 - WordPress & Website Hosting Environment

Plesk | 18.0.38

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.x - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews
  • 3
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

205 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    James

Plesk, makes this web developer life easy.

  • February 22, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Plesk is the world's best Hosting Platform. I have used the other panel that claims to be the best, but that is all it is a claim. Plesk is easy to use and has everything I need in one system. I like that I can have all the ability of a top price administrator at my fingertips. This allows me time to work on my customer's websites and not on administration. With Plesk, I have access to the best security features. WordPress Toolkit, Fail2Ban, CloudFlare ServerShield, mod_security, Security Advisor, Let's Encrypt are my favorite features. They provide high levels of security and the WordPress Toolkit gives me features I would have to host at specialty hosters which are my competition. If you are hosting WordPress, are a developer, or just want easy control of your server... Look no further than Plesk!!


    Viktor

Great software to manage servers and professional projects

  • January 27, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Absolutely amazing how fast you can create a new web project within minutes with state of the art technology!

After the image was up an running, I've added a CMS running with PHP 7.1, activated NGINX with HTTP/2 support and installed a free SSL certificate (Let's Encrypt).

Everything was possible without any problems within some minutes directly from the Plesk interface! I will also try the Ubuntu 16.x image soon because I'm a little bit more familiar with this Linux distribution.

Great software on a great infrastructure! What do you want more?


    Jan

Best way to manage websites

  • January 17, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Plesk is by far the easiest way to manage professional websites. I manage all my 29 websites on Plesk and really appreciate security features like the WordPress Toolkit, Fail2Ban, Google Authenticator, CloudFlare ServerShield, mod_security, Security Advisor, Let's Encrypt, etc.
If you want to use RDS as Database Server and want to integrate it with Plesk, you just need to add your RDS instance or cluster in Plesk->Tools & Settings.


    Adam H.

Useful backend hosting system

  • November 04, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Coming from a command line based hosting environment, I have found that Plesk is relatively easy to get used to. It does require somewhat of a learning curve however trying to find out where everything is buried, but does have everything in one spot rather than dotted around like on command line for hosting management setup.

Do like DNS configuration as this is extremely easy to get ones head around rather than the piece meal systems that most other providers use. TTL did require a chat with hosting providers in order to enable this within Plesk.

Also being able to swap and change PHP version is also quite handy expecially when wanting to upgrade to PHP7 when the code is ready, simply click and done other than a huge faff of doing an update via command line.
What do you dislike?
Learning curve, everything is there its just a question of finding out exactly where it is buried. Also the other issue is updates to the system can sometimes fail, which require another round the evening later to be successfully completed. On one occasion had PHP-FPM fail due to some configuration issue within the backend of Plesk, our hosting providers were able to sort this with an upgrade to Plesk, perhaps some additional testing by Plesk would route out issues like this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hosting platform
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure to check out the manual so you can find everything, failing that contact a 3rd party contractor to give you an hours run through so you can find everything or prepare to be frustrated at where everything is buried!


    Computer Software

great product, very scalable

  • June 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy Migration, quick access. Easy to manage multiple databases
What do you dislike?
UI is not customizable. Some of the settings are not easy to access
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy to manage multiple websites, databases. Scheduling tasks was easy


    Niklas B.

Easy to use server management tool

  • May 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Plesk offers new users a great tool without the need to use Terminals and cryptic code
What do you dislike?
Plesk is quite expensive, migrations are not easy to use and apps integration is sometimes not working properly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I helped my customers administrating their servers on their own.


    Raymond H.

Best control panel I've used!

  • April 22, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's very easy to manage sites, clients, and everything from the plesk control panel! I feel like it's the easiest to use between all of the ones I've used. It's very convenient having all of your settings in one place, from DNS to databases to email. Plesk allows you to control all of these and much more in a nice GUI. It also allows you to set up different logins which can only control their own domains. We do a lot of web hosting, and this allows us to give those of our clients that need it access to do more with their site. In short, I've never needed to do something with Plesk that I haven't been able to do.
What do you dislike?
I'm using Plesk 10, so I'm not sure what all might have changed in plesk 12 and these are complaints with 10.

Some of this is probably by necessity, but you have to go through extra work to make any changes outside of plesk apply. I also wish you could open certain screens in a new tab without it messing things up. In plesk 10 at least, it's using frames, which means that the left navigation and the main settings window are separate, which doesn't work super well. It's also not at all mobile friendly, but it looks like that's been addressed in Plesk 12, so it doesn't affect my recommendation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Plesk allows us to easily manage hundreds of domains on our server and give our clients the ability to log in and manage their own sites as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure to check the requirements and get the latest version you can to work with your environment.


    Computer Software

Extremely powerful control panel

  • April 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Intuitive interface, flexible and powerful, organized well, small learning curve but excellent once you get past that. Different user profiles available for restricting access.
What do you dislike?
Extremely important to keep your version up to date because, like most things involving hosting, it's a hacker target.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Excellent tool for managing websites and databases, especially if you have multiple sites on the same hosting. Easy to create databases, add email, etc. Much faster than trying to do it all without a UI.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Tried and true product. Also look at cPanel, but you'll probably find the two to be very comparable.