Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Kong

Kong Inc. | 1.4.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2017.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

11 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    John Y.

Mashape's Kong API cloud support is great.

  • January 04, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the versatility of Kong. It pretty much will run on any platform and the price point from my understanding isn't that much as well. Great for all types of businesses.
What do you dislike?
It is good for small APIs but the moment I tried to connect to a big one, it immediately started blocking.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It manages multiple APIs at a very efficient way. I like the userface.


    Food & Beverages

Simple an easy

  • January 04, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use interface with tools to help manage all inventory.
What do you dislike?
Some errors and kinks need to be worked out.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Tracking is easy but can be tricky


    Anonymous

API Gateway for Lua Developers

  • November 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Kong is wonderful if you enjoy Lua with Openresty and look to have an sll-in-one solution for API implementation and management. Lua is not as popular as it should be, but Openresty has proven performance and a strong community. For developers using either (likely both) technology, Kong is exciting and fun to implement.

Documentation is also spectacular. Many of the tools within their ecosystem is open source, and usage is free for smaller use cases. They are one of the biggest sponsors of Openresty, so the developer community is pretty active as well.
What do you dislike?
While Kong is great for implementation of API's, a more manual implementation using serverless is usually the path most devs go for. Kong's use case is a bit too specific to bring over most modern microservice devs to the table. This really limits Kong to just large enterprise contracts which likely do not have as large of a consumer base due to the usage of Lua.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I found Kong looking for active products implementing Openresty. I assume 90% of kong's customers also do the same.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
serverless will be easier to hire developers for if you are looking for long-term implementations.


    Arnab K.

A tool for the future

  • November 16, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It’s very easily and readily accessible and can access it
What do you dislike?
The interface still can be quite daunting for a novice user
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I’m solving data visualization tools


    Harmohan P.

Best API Management Solution

  • June 11, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
API management, with REST interface. Plugin oriented architecture means it is easily extensible. Huge support from open source community.
What do you dislike?
Have not encountered any problems yet with offering. If anything Kong is updated at very fast pace and that requires constantly trying to keep up with new release, If Kong Nodes are properly setup on docker containers behind Load Balancer like F5 then it becomes easy task.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
API Management. Logging, Analytics, Monitoring and Alerts. Supports several Authentication protocols. Plugin architecture means easily extensible and several options for any tasks for example for logging, you can use loggly/Galileo/Httpd(Elastic search)/Statsd(Graphite-Grafana)/Syslog etc. Huge support from open source community.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Absolutely the best solution out there. Tried several other offerings like Tyk, WSO, IBM, SAP API Management, API umbrella, AWS, Fusio, Apigee, ApiAxle etc before picking Kong


    Nazar H.

Kong - API Gateway

  • March 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. Plugin based Architecture help to extend faster
2. Build on top of Nginx prove it to be satble in production
3. Lua Scripting Language make it easy to understand write code for Kong
4. Quick support community on Slack
What do you dislike?
1. Lack of a Official UI or Administration Panel
2. Lack of built-in analytics at small scale
3. Lack of policies structure to be applied to multiple consumers
4. Non Cassandra DB support
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed to publish our REST APIs to our partners and later utilize same APIs to be consumed for our mobile products. So we need to implant an API gateway which helps us to stream line our APIs development to deployment process.

With kong we can avoid writing lot of similar code on each API, like rate limiting and logging.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Must consider evaluating its available UIs or admin interfaces before going live. Since in live environment, you can't actually go to your notes and look for curl commands.


    Computer Software

It looks like it can be useful, but not necessarily for my use case.

  • March 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The documentation is well-organized. Getting things running in Docker as a test was very easy. It has many potentially useful features.
What do you dislike?
I understand Mashape had Cassandra running already, but it's a ridiculous requirement for a configuration store.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We switched to Nginx.


    Michael P.

Simple and Powerful

  • March 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
First of all it is easy to setup and start playing with. It is super important for microservices to have full control and it is easily deployable.
What do you dislike?
actually there is nothing that i can not already implement with kong, i just wish it was easier to implement plugins based on more popular languages like python, ruby or even javascript.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
i can easily add an extra layer of permissions and even more on top of my API


    Yoanis G.

Excellent OpenSource API Gateway

  • March 04, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The project is very well documented. I like the fact that Mashape released the API as an Open Source product some other could benefit from it. It's also a very valuable addition to the API ecosystem.
What do you dislike?
Kong lacks a User Interface which I think might speed up the process of getting familiar with Kong. It will makes sense far more intuitive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were looking for an API Gateway solution which provided:

- Flexibility (we have more than two sources of users)
- Performance
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should consider evaluating other API Gateway solutions (like Tyk) before moving ahead with Kong. Also keep in mind that should you ever need to develop a plugin of your own, it needs to be implemented in LUA.


    Subhendu G.

Api Abstraction to the best

  • March 04, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
No worries about implementation, Takes very little time to setup and get things running. I was using way2sms api to send sms for my project work. I used their python library which was great
What do you dislike?
I was a bit doubtful about the auth system. which involved sending the sms text, and login credentials as url parameter in the GET request.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was trying to implement phone verification using sms
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I used a very small portion of serrvice that kong provides and i was pretty happy :)