Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

ManageEngine ServiceDesK Plus Standard Edition

ZOHO Corporation | 9423

Windows, Windows Server 2012 2012 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

183 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jamie I.

Says it can do a lot - but try it first.

  • June 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Clean request interface

Contains a lot of the basic functionality you need to run a service desk

A lot of customisable notification features

Individual accounts can be mapped against technician groups, SLAs, etc (in MSP version).
What do you dislike?
Although the configuration allows 'walled garden' approach to accounts, for example, allowing certain technician groups, departments and solutions to be assigned to certain accounts, managing a large number of accounts can result is an unsustainable amount of administration.

Although SDP has a large range of functionality, you can tell it hasn't been developed in depth. Although it does the operation on paper, day-to-day use can end up being frustrating.

Design can be a bit ugly - windows not sizing correctly, incorrect English, HTML breaking preview windows etc.

Support operates in India Standard Time.

Functionality can often just break.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use ServiceDesk Plus MSP to run our incident, request, problem and change management. We provide managed network and cloud services to multiple external customers, and need a system that can handle managing multiple customers with multiple services, whilst adhering to multiple SLAs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Really get your use cases right before evaluating - some of the functionality you may assume that is there may not be and trip you up.

Actually try the functionality for yourself rather than taking the systems word for it.

If you require MSP functionality, make sure you know what is involved in the administration of multiple accounts (eg adding technicians to teams, when each site has it's own team configuration).


    Hospital & Health Care

Product is improving - Still room for improvement

  • May 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have been administrating this product for a couple years now, and have been more involved on the server and billing side. The integration between the products I believe is both it's best, and weakest feature at the same time.
What do you dislike?
My original review was rather negative. Since then a higher-level agent, Charles reached out to me and our company. I have to say that while there have definitely been snags in the product here or there, it has been nice having a dedicated contact person. The integration between the products is great when it works, but it can be difficult to get all features to work together properly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have the product for several reasons. We need an Inventory system. We are a relatively small organization and need a helpdesk system, and we do not have SCCM, so we need a software deployment method. We also have AD Manager to manage AD credentials, and will eventually roll out AD SelfService, and use the Project module. So I think we use most of ManageEngine's products. Service Desk Plus has gone through a major visual uplift, that isn't quite as colorful going for more muted tones. I think this is actually a plus as it causes a little less eyestrain and was a smart move.

The Asset management is okay, but I'd like to have more control in the organization of the objects. Desktop Central is quite handy if you do not have SCCM or LANdesk, it allows you to do a lot of things, like file pushes, application installs, upgrades, etc without having to have in-depth knowledge. I can't say that it always works, but it's considerably powerful and pretty reliable. It works very well with AD and deploying in a multitude of ways. Desktop Central integrates with Service Desk Plus, and can scan your machines, and place asset information into the listing. I've had some issues with full integration that we are currently working on - however it seems like it will work pretty well when we get it working. I think we're about halfway there.

In short - The support has improved, definitely. The product is moving towards the right direction in my opinion.

For the Helpdesk functionality, I am very satisfied with it. I think this is the best part of the program and I have relatively few issues with it. Some of the reporting could be a little better, I often have to fight errors in the system when I pull a lot of reports to pull different stats. The helpdesk itself though, I don't quite use it 100% as it's intended, but it works well and when you put the time in to set it up properly is very easy for the user to understand. Our users can create tickets easily with a minimum of clicks. It's up to you to architect the structure, but I could see how you could set this up in a variety of ways.

While I think there are some improvements to be made, I do believe that Manage Engine has become a truly viable option in it's field. For the features you receive, I have to say that the value for what you receive for what you pay is rather high - just set some time up to truly work with the system and understand it before you implement in production. While it's gotten much better, it's not always intuitive. With that being said, you can call manage engine support and ask even the most basic questions - I have had great success with learning the product with this method.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The real competition would be LANdesk, that I am aware of. LANdesk is nice, solid, and very easy to understand and work with. However LANdesk is also very expensive of a product by comparison. For organizations that are on a budget, or smaller organizations that are more budget-minded, ManageEngine products would be a strong choice.


    Sreeni V.

It is great product that is easy to use and has full functionality

  • May 16, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is very simple to setup. Very easy to use
Price is very attractive
Support is extremely good
Reporting function is really good. we can run our own reports
Reporting functionality is very useful
Active directory integration helping greatly
Single sign on make users to login seamlessly
Business Rules are great feature that automate the Tickets
Change Management follows the ITIL Framework that help a lot
Dashboard gives quick view for the management and save managers time to monitor this system
This can be implemented to multiple countries and also can be implemented for multiple Depts
What do you dislike?
I do not dislike anything in the Service desk Plus product
There are not many things that anyone would dislike
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Stream line the helpdesk function
Requests can be added, and followup easily
Reporting functionality is very useful
Active directory integration helping greatly
Single sign on make users to login seamlessly
Business Rules are great feature that automate the Tickets and this save time for the ticket resolution
Change Management helping greatly
Change Management follows the ITIL Framework that help a lot
Dashboard gives quick view for the management and save managers time to monitor this system
This can be implemented to multiple countries and also can be implemented for multiple Depts
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great! We recommend the product very much as it offer great performance and functionality at affordable price. it come with great support


    Sebastien L.

Excellent product for helpdesk and inventory !

  • May 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
All we need within one software : Helpdesk, inventory, reports, problems and solution management. Software is very responsive and its support team is also excellent. The software also feature a project management section, a contract support section and a purchase module. We use it for our helpdesk : opening a request is fast and efficient and it's easy to forward it to concerned people. You can configure automated emails which are sent to the users and keep them informed about the status of their request. About the inventory module, you can add personnalized fields to keep the informations you need. Doing search in requests or inventory is also very easy and it brings accurate results.
What do you dislike?
Nothing special, we almost never experience bugs and when sometimes there is an issue, it is quite quickly resolved. Sometimes, software updates are bringing new problems but almost always, it's fixed in the next release.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our call center people and IT technician are using it everydays to manage all assets (hardware and software) and all the support calls.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should give it a try. Easy to setup, easy to use !


    Wayne L.

Best IT tool we could ever have.

  • May 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Efficient way to organize and keep track of end user requests and internal projects.
What do you dislike?
There are a few restrictions on how users can edit their own existing open help desk cases. otherwise, there is very little in the way of any negative comments.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are able to keep track of issues and ensure proper follow up. Analysis of what out Techs are doing and their performance can be seen as well.


    Education Management

Service Desk Pro

  • May 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Price is great!
Functionality is good
Tech support seems good.
What do you dislike?
Reporting seems convulated and not easy to try and setup. Getting the detailed information you are looking for is not as easy as it could be.

Needs more customization.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Streamline helpdesk requests for support from a variey of user bases.


    Rosie Q.

Service Desk Plus

  • May 11, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease with which Service Desk is able to be used by support staff at any level
What do you dislike?
There is nothing about this product that I really dislike
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Providing a reliable, interactive, service to clients


    Dustin M.

So far so good.

  • May 11, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Reports and customizations make this a very robust service desk platform
What do you dislike?
The interface is a little bit clumsy....
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The reporting is very good and just what we needed to document our work. Also end user ticket submission it a bonus.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try and spend a little time configuring all of the features to your needs....It's easily tailored to any environment


    Banking

ManageEngine user review

  • May 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The layout is user friendly--easy to move from one application to another
What do you dislike?
The parent-child relationship is not as well defined as other platforms I have used
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I mainly use this for receiving order requests and it fails miserably for this application. It is not what is was designed for so I can't fault the platform.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Decent ticketing system though not as robust as some


    Information Technology and Services

Fantastic ITIL based ServiceDesk which we use not only for IT but also our Online Services team

  • May 06, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It allows resolutions to be saved as ongoing solutions, manages our IT assets and associates them with requests and all our customer touchpoints
What do you dislike?
Needs updates too regular and often minor updates in between, should be scheduled at set time points
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Sole point of contact for all IT and Online requests and historical data, also removed the need for separate IT asset management and IT contracts and subscriptions