Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

JAMS (BYOL)

JAMS, A HelpSystems Solution | 7.2.529

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base 2020.09.09 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

85 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Nothing but first class

  • October 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I can use Power-shell to automate everything and the support has always been prompt and spot on.
What do you dislike?
Nothing at this time. I always look for new ideas on how to improve automation so I will continue to look for this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automation
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you like PowerShell you can customize and automate everything. In my case we even automate the job creation process.


    Scott B.

JAMS Scheduler - excellent job scheduler tool

  • October 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We've had great success with the tool for about 8 years. We've been able to create any type of job or workflow that was needed. We've had some complex workflows with over 100 jobs in it. The database that manages the JAMS data is easy to understand and I often query it. It has great PowerShell APIs when we need to do bulk submissions. The Windows client is easy to use and helpful. The job configuration has a lot of options that we take advantage of (e.g. when most jobs finish, we only send emails on failures, but for a few jobs, we also send emails when the job succeeds.)
What do you dislike?
In complex workflows, when looking for a specific job, somethings it's bit difficult to find where in the workflow the job is located.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We run about 30,000 jobs a day in JAMS, for various applications, on both Linux and Windows. It is easy to manage these jobs, and to fix and retry failed jobs. We had a recent unplanned outage, and because of how JAMS works, we were able to restart jobs in an organized fashion. With the database available for query, we often can find jobs that would otherwise be tough to find, e.g. which jobs that run on a certain server and run on a certain port for a certain client automatically run before 7:00 AM.


    David R.

The Product is Well Supported, Capable, and Actively Maintained

  • May 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease with which copies of jobs (e.g., used as a templates, test/prod reuse, etc.) can be created and managed. Job or Folder Parameters can be used to isolate changes between these instances.
What do you dislike?
I sometimes struggle with the interface. Of course, part (all?) of the problem is due to our own reluctance to expend resources to upgrade to current version - we are way behind on 6.3.27. Amazingly, I am successful using their help resources even though our version is so old - their support is tenacious!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have used Jobs, Folders, and Parameters to specify and schedule automation. We have reduced maintenance costs for scheduled jobs.


    Information Technology and Services

JAMS makes our jobs Easier!

  • April 30, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We can schedule and run many tasks on a repeated basis individually or in a bunch, without having to worry about humane interactions and errors, add dependencies and also notifications, which cuts down the effort by a significant amount. Also the support we get from jAMS is very quick and efficient!We can count on them at any time of the day!
What do you dislike?
Mainly Price!! Sometimes some tasks are inconsistent, like triggers , permissions, security etc .,it would be helpful to add more time and date customization , more logging or maybe add a debug logging level if needed.
Errors are pretty generic most of the times.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
its easy to schedule jobs based on a certain cadence and dependency as opposed to the traditional scheduler features on the servers. We can also club together any number of them.


    Ashok R.

JAMS - Excellent JOB Scheduler Automation Experience.

  • April 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
JAMS Job automation provides options of Workflow or Setups and both are very impressive in terms of an automation solution/approach they provide.
However, here at our organization we have considered Job-Setups combination and its very flexible.
What do you dislike?
Nothing which we have come across as of now.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Oracle FLEXCUBE (FCUBS) provides comprehensive functional capabilities across multiple lines of business and banking segments. JAMS automation was considered for the following critical functions in terms of scheduling automation solution and proved to be the best fit.
1. SLA driven Overnight batch processes (End of Day and Beginning of Day) to complete complex tasks such as interest and tax computation, incoming and outgoing payments processing, loans amortization and repayments, hand-off files consumption and generation from/to various external systems and interfaces, etc. All these overnight batches are automated and are scheduled using JAMS setup approach.
2. The calendar and time bound automation of outgoing payments and settlement processing files to the clearing houses.
3. Comprehensive solution across scheduled tasks followed by status/health tasks, which would send notifications/alerts to the Flexcube support team.

Overall, interfacing JAMS with Flexcube Core Banking product has simplified complex tasks and has brought in stability and robustness to our core banking platform.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
1. Numerous options for interfacing and the best which we have seen is the SOAP interface with Flexcube Core banking system which is a seamless process.
2. Various other features available in JAMS such as SOA, FTP and SFTP which are utilized extensively to interface with various layers and modules of Flexcube Core Banking product (FCUBS).
3. Support services which is the primary requirement for any customer is excellent. Adding to this, the support team is technically sound and always solution oriented.


    Investment Management

A light-weight scheduler that servers all you need

  • April 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
JAMS scheduler is a all-rounded scheduler in comparing to other enterprise products. It is light-weight, while supporting many modes of executions, from batch/shell/PowerShell, to direct SSH command and even database-encapsulations like direct SQL executions, SSIS executions and ODBC supports. Yes you're right that those jobs can always be wrapped using scripts, the JAMS developers know your needs and it saves you times, however. You don't have to login to a particular hosts and check the particular script when debugging. You can oversee your workflow with one screen when comparing to some bulky giant products that usually puzzle you. It is the best product to upgrade if you are still using crontabs or Windows schedulers.
What do you dislike?
Engineering support is responsive. But I believe it helps if their knowledge base can be expanded for users' self-service.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Scheduled jobs that are zero-fault-tolerant.


    Peter F.

JAMS used by RAC for job scheduling

  • April 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Jobs are easy to set-up, manage and monitor. JAMS features are reasonably comprehensive and can be expanded upon by the use of PowerShell.
What do you dislike?
There are some minor inconsistencies between PC client and Web client.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Primarily using JAMS for scheduling file transfer jobs and reporting. The benefits being jobs will be controlled from one place with business units able to manage their own jobs. Our previous scheduling applications were only able to be managed by a few key superusers.


    Market Research

Centralized scheduling of Tasks

  • April 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Function range, ease of use, centralized view of all existing tasks.
What do you dislike?
nothing so far, solution and support are great
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Centralized management and overview of all tasks, each department has access to their tasks only, no need to access the scheduling server (Windows Tasks) directly. High sophisticated reporting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Stable, easy to use and thus high sophisticated solution to centralize tasks in the enterprise. We use powershell, SAS and SPSS scripts as well as Windows cmd.


    Financial Services

Once place to manage DBA proactive and reactive tasks

  • April 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The converting of SQL Agent jobs into JAMS made me realise that it can replace SQL agent.
We deploy standard sql maintenance jobs on each sql instance and use SCOM to alert on failures.
We have our own inhouse deployment process with scheduled scripts run from SCOM database server.

JAMS removes the need for
1. deploying scripts against all sql instances
2. use one template that all sql instance utilise
- code changes done in one place
- new jobs automatcially pickup by others
3. scom only needs to monitor JAMS
- customised alert templates
- one place to check all DBA sql jobs
4. window scheduled tasks
- one place to see\manage all customised SQL tasks

Once relevant access and setup is done there is no need to use local SQL agent or windows schedule task for any DBA specific task.
JAMS to me can be a one all consuming SQL Agent job view.
What do you dislike?
I have not yet found anything that I cant do as yet. Roadblocks were removed once I realised JAMS has the capability to try anything within powershell capabilities.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We decided to use JAMS as a self service vehicle for support, devs and business users.
Majority of our tasks need DBA rights (backup, restores, cloning and environmental scripts) that can be actioned by users with JAMS.
We can also introduce vendor applications in the workflow that we are doing with data masking.

Another main factor was moving to vendor SQL backups solution instead of old tried and true SQL native backups.
JAMS allows us to make vendor API calls and customise jobs that basically will replicate the native backups regime and management.

This remove the need for any inhouse dev as maintaining it requires effort that can be spent elsewhere.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you know a little powershell then JAMS is the tool to help you do all that you wanted against alot of machines though the one GUI.

The power of one template job that can be utilised by others with just paramters and variables provides satisfaction that this is the right tool,


    Insurance

Excellent support

  • April 13, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the online chat feature that allows me to get quick and accurate answers to very technical questions.
What do you dislike?
Documentation could be better, but having great online support makes up for it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using JAMS for enterprise scheduling. Every process that can be setup to be automated goes though JAMS. From running batch jobs to transferring files.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a very powerful tool that is flexible enough to do anything we need.