Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

JAMS (BYOL)

JAMS, A HelpSystems Solution | 7.1.579

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base 2020.05.13 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

75 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Richard V.

Installation and training was on target.

  • April 13, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The options to schedule a wide variety of different job types.
What do you dislike?
The only dislike was FTP options but they are much better in v 7.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are solving the problem of multiple schedulers like cron and SQL now use just one scheduler JAMS.


    Investment Management

JAMS Scheduler is an great solution to scheduling/creating/managing batch jobs on a single platform

  • April 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- JAMS Documentation and User Manual
- Vendor Assistance and Support
- User Friendly Platform
What do you dislike?
- Platform Stability
- Troubleshooting Performance Issues
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Time Saved
- Managing Batch Jobs
- Meeting Business Requirements
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- Provide training for end users
- Require knowledge in Powershell


    Financial Services

JAMS Review

  • April 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of complete automation using underlying coding for any module that you need to create. Plus the workflows are pretty cool if you're not a coder.
What do you dislike?
When I undock my laptop from the docking station, JAMS needs to be restarted. That is the only thing I can think of that is negative.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Downloading any and all files from our SFTP server with 1 single job. It's parameterized, so maintenance is easy for 1 job.


    Michael T.

JAMS Enterprise Job Scheduler Is a Great Enterprise Tool for Manage Different Tasks

  • April 10, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
JAMS Scheduler is a great central place for our all DBA related automation tasks, integrated with application servers. It simplifies the maintenance and monitoring, reduces the operation cost.
What do you dislike?
JAMS has many functions and we only used part of them.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Central place to schedule and monitor multi tasks from different platform.


    mehul s.

Exceptional Job Scheduler Tool

  • April 09, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The most useful feature we found is scheduling of job(s) based on workflow. In which critical business jobs are scheduled and executes in sequence. Without workflow feature we may have to create no of independent jobs.
What do you dislike?
There's none downside of JAMS scheduler. Though with any software/suite there's always room for new features.

Eg: JAMS web client is not as good as desktop client to create complex jobs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Some business critical processes are now handled by JAMS. Eg: Moving, copying, ftping files around internal and external servers for printing and then to ship to customers.

We moved hundreds of windows based scheduled job to JAMS and eliminated some manual intervention by integrating jobs in a workflow. That freed up some man hours which can now be used somewhere else.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One word, exceptional scheduling tool.

JAMS support is amazing. There's always someone available to answer your question and if need be for Gotomeeting or webex. You can bet all your money on their tech support team.


    Ryan A.

Very useful tool with excellent customer support

  • April 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to use import custom DLLs. Our company has a lot of very specific scheduled tasks, so we found the integration with our own code to be very useful. Also, very knowledgeable Customer Support. JAMS has a lot of different execution methods and different ways to accomplish tasks, so it's hard at first to understand its full power, but Customer Support and the online support knowledge base always has a good answer
What do you dislike?
There are a few limitations in version 6 that we've found, but there is usually a simple workaround available. For example, custom scheduling (which I know is available in version 7).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Most of our jobs are file transfers, especially across our corporate domain and SCADA domain. Also, we created a lot of custom jobs that integrate with some of our enterprise applications.

JAMS is a nice place to centralize all these scheduled tasks so that certain users can keep tabs on jobs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Learn all of what it can do, because you will likely find a solution for your job. Lean on customer support, they are incredibly helpful.


    Jason F.

One Ring to Rule Them All!

  • April 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We had a myriad of Windows Scheduled Tasks and SQL Agent Jobs spread about on multiple servers. Just keeping track of what jobs, lived where was a job unto itself. There was also risk associated with these jobs running as the SQL Agent or System account when often that was not the best choice. JAMS delivered as advertised by giving us a single place to create, manage, and monitor all of our scheduled processes!

In many cases we were able to leave the functional code in place (i.e. SSIS packages, custom PowerShell scripts, custom executables.) We simply eliminated the SQL jobs and scheduled tasks and replaced them with entries in JAMS. This approach allowed for a quick conversion with greater control over security and an immediate improvement in our ability to monitor jobs execution. Now we're finding many of our new jobs are more easily implemented directly through JAMS using the numerous templates for things like (s)ftp transfers, database maintenance, emailing daily reports, etc.
What do you dislike?
This may be an odd "dislike", but I did find JAMS to be too "all-inclusive" in one regard......

We have a non-prod and prod instance of JAMS. The former is used as our develop and test environment. JAMS provides it's own version control for every job and an interface that makes it easy for an authorized user to copy a job from non-prod to prod as a means of deploying to production.

So what's not to like about all of that?

Once you get used to using the same tools for all of your development, source control, builds, and deployments, it can be a hard habit to break when something like JAMS includes all of that functionality. And while we have tried to make JAMS work using our regular toolset (i.e. Visual Studio, Git, TeamCity, and Octopus Deploy) thus far it has proven more trouble than its worth. Instead we've been working on ways tailor our change control process and continue to use JAMS as designed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Consolidation of scheduled jobs and tasks to a single server and a common interface.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have scheduled tasks and jobs running on more than one server using more than one solution, you should give JAMS a try!


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Great support with JAMS helped us running on daily ETL process on time

  • April 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Support is helpful to setup the jobs with new features.
What do you dislike?
Nothing as specific, all are very good..
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All of our scheduling jobs is done through JAMS at enterprise level
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes strongly recommend


    Retail

JAMS Scheduler

  • April 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
JAMS is incredibly easy to use once configured, and allows for several levels of access and security so we can have different teams with different access to the application. The support from Help Systems is also very, very good. We've had several speed bumps getting things automated and even a system failure or two, and support has always been able to remedy the situation quickly. JAMS can automate just about any application you can think of.
What do you dislike?
This is on us for our rollout procedures, but having licensing tied to the machine name vs some other characteristic has made it difficult for us when we moved a server from testing/development into a production server. The machine name would have changed, but because the license is tied to the name, it made things difficult and the result would be a machine in production with a name that implied it is a dev server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We moved our core business application from a mainframe where everything ran in one place and was easy to automate to a collection of Windows servers where jobs were now spread across several machines and databases. JAMS "speaks" the same language as our mainframe did so migrating jobs over was easy, and by using JAMS, we continue to have one place where all jobs can be scheduled and monitored. Without JAMS, transitioning to the Windows port of our application and keeping all of our automated jobs would be a nightmare. Using JAMS, we've not only moved over hundreds of jobs but have been able to add hundreds more and automated processes that would have been impossible on the mainframe version of the application. We can also manage all of this with a very small team.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Price out the competition, and then price out how much it would cost to automate everything in-house without a scheduler like JAMS. For a small team with limited resources, I can't think of a product that handles the level of automation that JAMS does for the price.


    Financial Services

One stop shop for what's running

  • March 25, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. The historical view of what jobs ran across all environment.
2. For the SSIS part, before when it was scheduled as a SQL Agent job to run the SSIS, we look in the history of the job only to be redirected to the SSISDB Catalog. Now, with the SSISDirect, we can see the log (as part of the notification), but if too big of a log, we can just go to the JAMS Desktop and see the execution log.
3. The Maintenance window. If all the jobs are already migrated to JAMS, set the maintenance window once, and you can be sure that nothing will run until that is lifted.
What do you dislike?
It looks like JAMS still has a lot of untapped potential. We haven't really looked at all it can do although we are positive that there's still more. But, what I dislike is, cannot move a job from one folder to another (when we reorganize) without losing the historical execution information.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main problem solved is the part that before, we have to go to several sources/machines/logs to view execution log or historical information. With JAMS, it's just in one place.