Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

JAMS (BYOL)

JAMS, A HelpSystems Solution | 7.3.381 (AMI)

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base 2021.11.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

123 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    mike p.

Powerful and flexible workflow builder and job scheduler

  • February 08, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I can use tasks to execute based on numerous triggers or combinations thereof. There are tasks that can be done with PowerShell programming and other functions that have modules already built.
What do you dislike?
Debugging scripted tasks is a little bit cumbersome. I wish there were better capabilities to debug within the Jams editor. It's possible to debug things, but not as easy as it should be.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The automation of many processes that used to either be paper-based or those that required a lot of manual work are not being done by JAMS, either on a schedule or based on conditions being met.


    Kammy O.

It’s a game changer for my company.

  • January 22, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The software is flawless. I can see job success, failure, and current. The ETL team set up data feeds, server connections, user logins - and every new client is easy breezy to get it up and running. The dashboard overview is very useful and makes my job as a dba better. I can see the job, the criteria, and 99% of the time the trouble can be identified without further investigation.
What do you dislike?
The yearly purchase and license update is a bit of a pain. The price leaves you with a little sticker shock - but it’s worth the price.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Saving time, keeps the etl team on track and standardized code development is easier in most cases.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do not hesitate - you will find it to be the best decision!


    Utilities

JAMS User

  • January 19, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Monitor screen
credentials stored in the application
History inqury.
Sequence jobs are handy.

The whole purpose of JAMS, getting out of scheduled tasks is why we purchased it. Gives us the benefits of a single place to look and manage regular tasks.
What do you dislike?
Credentials are onboarded with incorrect security in a shared/team environment, i.e. adding a service account. it's a major pain to manage that. Other team members often forget to fix the security.

Parts of the UI arent great - found v6 slightly better. There a trace dumps in places where a user tries an action and they don't have the correct security.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It gives us the benefits of a single place to look and manage regular tasks.
An overview of what's happening in the environment
Historically before we used JAMS there would often go days/weeks where regularly scheduled tasks would fail. We didn't have the monitoring that we do now, better services to our customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great product at a great price, alternatives out there such as Control-M, however this product for a fraction of the price is great.


    Financial Services

Frustrating user interface but backend functionality is satisfactory for batch job scheduling.

  • January 14, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It has custom calendar which is useful for us. Pricing is competitive for paid job scheduler.
What do you dislike?
Desktop user interface is clunky and flicker when scrolling, makes it hard to know if an input has been changed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Batch scheduling that has complex dependency.


    Financial Services

JAMS Scheduler

  • November 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Complexity and variety of jobs and functions that can be used and scheduled with the software. I use this extensively with FTP transfer jobs and file sweeps.
What do you dislike?
My single complaint at this time is an all folder search when trying to find a job. Right now if a search is not performed in the correct folder the job will not be found.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automation of file movement that has many different levels of file complexity and requirements.


    Banking

Awesome Job Scheduler

  • November 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We can manage JAMS Jobs from a straightforward UI of the application.
We can use it on both Windows and Linux platform.
The Product team of the application is very responsive.
There are many tutorials available for the tool.
I would like to recommend the tool to everyone.
What do you dislike?
The pricing of the application is on higher side which has restricted the growth of the application as it has potential otherwise there is no downside in the usuage of JAMS Job Scheduler?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We can schedule any of the Job in our Test and Production Environment. The schduler can work on diffrent timezones. We can integrate with Microsoft SQL Server very easily. R
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would like to recommend this JAMS Job Scheduler to evry organisation.


    Banking

Flexible, customizible and reliable.

  • November 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Our organization has been using JAMS fro more than a decade. We really like the reliability aspect of the tool. On a couple occasions we suffered HW problems which brought the DB host down in the middle of ETL processing which was orchestrated by JAMS. We were able to fix the HW issues and resume processing like nothing happened. We also like the level of customization in JAMS. On a several occasions JAMS team would implement feature request we needed.
What do you dislike?
Our developers who use JAMS v.6 client reside in remote offices, away from the JAMS Scheduler v.6 engine. We have observed a slight lags between the client and Scheduler engine.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use JAMS to run everything - critical ETL processing which supports internal Data Warehouse, backups, file transmissions, jobs that destroy/rebuild lower environments daily & weekly, code deployments and maintenance jobs. Pretty much anything that's important to us and needs visibility goes to JAMS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a shot. It's light and easy to deploy.


    Rob G.

You Need JAMS

  • November 03, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
My favorite JAMS feature is that it can be extended using custom execution methods, written in C#, using their native libraries. These custom execution methods make it easy to schedule repeatable, customizable jobs which are highly tailored to our company's systems.
What do you dislike?
As a counterpoint of what I like best, I'll admit that there is a learning curve for writing custom execution methods. While JAMS support helps get us what we need to know, I feel that more documentation or project templates could help new customers get up to speed at using this powerful JAMS capability.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Most of our JAMS jobs pertain to file movement, ETL, and BI reloads. Before adopting JAMS, we had a small department of file processors who would follow daily procedures to check client FTP sites for files, download them, and import them into our platform. We automated those tasks with JAMS while expanding our business and adding numerous other tasks. Even as the company grew, we did not need to expand the file processing department. Their duties shifted from manual processing of a small number of files to monitoring the JAMS schedule and responding to any issues encountered as the system handles many more files than they could ever hope to process themselves.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I have three recommendations:
1) Shop around. Compare JAMS against other enterprise job schedulers such as Tidal and Tivoli. You will find that the scalable pricing and system architecture make JAMS a cost-effective solution for small companies and a powerful tool for large companies.
2) Create custom execution methods specific to your systems and environment; extending JAMS will pay dividends.
3) Consolidate all of your system-specific schedules into JAMS, i.e. SQL job scheduler, BI app reload schedulers, or Windows task scheduler. This will give you a single location where you administer all scheduled jobs. It will also allow job chains; sequences of jobs which run across multiple systems, in concert.


    Hans K.

It's a great product

  • November 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It helps us in our operation to fulfill the customer's wishes
What do you dislike?
Nothing. It fullfills in all our possibilities.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're using it for all our customers to run their batch operations.


    Government Administration

A great universal scheduler

  • October 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I can have all sorts of things scheduled in one place. SQL, SSIS, Powershell, etc.
What do you dislike?
I wish their website had a more robust user community.

I wish it interfaced with AWS a little easier, but AWS is a PITA anyway.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're able to keep all our scheduled tasks for our company in one location.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Their support is amazing, take advantage of it when starting out. They'll give you lots of great ideas.