Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

JAMS (BYOL)

JAMS, A HelpSystems Solution | 7.2.529

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base 2020.09.09 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

81 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Needed an Enterprise Scheduler for better control.

  • February 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
On top of the software being able to control the many job dependencies we have, the response time of their support staff has been truly amazing when entering support tickets.
What do you dislike?
Took a bit to fine tune the amount of history records we wanted to keep per job but once we engaged the support team they helped point us in the right direction.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Being able to control dependencies between different jobs, processes and platforms. This has allowed us to save a good deal of manual work time when an error would occur.


    Nick G.

Automating Enterprise Tasks with Jams

  • February 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Jams provides a number of features that make it very flexible and able to meet a number of our needs. The features that we take advantage of are the multiple job types, scheduling, and extensability. In my organization it is important provide end users flexibility with the technologies that they can use and customize. Jams allows us to meet these requirements and allow our users to use their preferred technology. Additionally, we're able to create customizations that further extend Jams capabilities and give our teams exactly what they need.
What do you dislike?
While there isn't a whole lot that I dislike about Jams Job Scheduler, there are a couple of pain points we've had to deal with. Deploying customizations to multiple servers can be a bit of a headache, due to the time it takes to get setup for the first time. However, when deployed using an automated process, this is only a temporary discomfort. Additionally, I have had trouble with the online documentation not being up to date with the latest version. Although, that problem was remedied quickly by the Jams staff.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main problem that we solve with Jams are automated scheduling. In our environment we rely on a service oriented architecture, and want a system that is easy to modify how tasks are triggered. Jams provides this additional outer layer enabling us to customize how tasks our carried out in our environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Jams has excellent documentation and very helpful support staff, so I wouldn't hesitate to dive in and tackle any automation task.


    Timothy K.

You can Depend on JAMS to make your work easier

  • February 25, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
JAMS simple to use interface and functionality with JDE made it easy to implement and use. The dependencies on jobs and groups of jobs (setups) allows for the most efficient use of system time. Grouping jobs together as a setup allows flexibility to make changes very quickly for entire groups of jobs at one time. The projected schedule gives great visibility. Having windows scripts, FTP, and JDE in one place makes for easier system monitoring. Lastly, alerts give you the exception handling that is required to handle issues when they arise, without it propagating an issue.
What do you dislike?
I honestly have no dislikes of this toolset or the people that I have reached out to for help with any questions. JAMS has been one of the BEST solutions that we have put in place. It's positive effect on the Business Applications department has been fabulous.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have decreased the time to perform system activity and improved the ability to react to issues if and when they arise. When a temporary or permanent change in schedule has arisen, the time to accommodate has been small and simple. Condensing system time for batched activities has opened up additional time for other IT system activities.


    Natasha F.

Fast Service

  • February 21, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Great support team, Fast responses, friendly staff
What do you dislike?
I am still learning how to use this so i do not have any dislikes
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ease of import, great support, great documentation
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Thorough testing


    Sam H.

Wonderful product and support

  • February 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The support to allow our teams to explore new automated jobs.
What do you dislike?
Keeping jobs in sync between different environments was a home grown deployment method
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Consolidated multiple tools to one job scheduler with more opportunities to move our company forward


    Higher Education

JAMS--it just works

  • February 20, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Smoothly handles impersonation; allows for powershell, old style batch, and other Windows scripting languages; has cli for job manipulation; provides alerts on job failure. Scheduler supports node failover and queue mechanism can support failover in the event of an agent/worker node failure.
What do you dislike?
lacks a panic button (stop all work immediately); licenses per agent so it would be expensive as a compute farm grid management tool.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When we migrated from an OpenVMS cluster to a Windows domain JAMS allowed us to schedule across both systems during the transition, and under Windows to support complex job dependencies. Continues to allow us to run many maintenance tasks with minimal operator/programmer supervision. Complements the system health monitor--JAMS can run jobs to check on the health of the monitor, and vice-versa.


    Dimitrios A.

Works, although the UI needs more work

  • February 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The installation procedure is relatively simple
Working with it is (mostly) intuitive
The support team is hands down AMAZING
What do you dislike?
The UI feels buggy, it definitely needs more work
Working with parameters and variables (esp. when using recursion) is counter-intuitive and could be improved
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's our main task scheduling system. We migrated from an older system and have seen the logging capabilities and technology reach vastly improved.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
reach out to the support team for any problem you have, they're really good.


    Medical Devices

JAMS Helps to easily move jobs from infor ERPLN Crontab jobs to JAMS

  • February 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It helps to maintain folders structure, authorization by folder, Monitor current running in centrally,
Dashboard support, Reporting and worderful support servicees. Also jams team help to provide solution for enhancement request raised.
What do you dislike?
Most of the feature in JAMS very helpful automating the jobs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Centralized job monitoring, Dashboards to shows specific job by daily, hourly ..etc,


    Accounting

Great product with some issues

  • February 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It provides lots of features which are valuable fr business
What do you dislike?
It has some bugs , and sometime not as intuitive as I expect it to be
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Batch jobs running on a daily bases.


    E-Learning

Experience with JAMS

  • February 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is centralized scheduler which makes our job very helpful. Central management with ACL and folder security makes it very much manageable with different level of audience.
What do you dislike?
Till v6.5 it was good experience with JAMS, but when upgraded our lower environment to v7.xx then the problem started, we are working with JAMS as their QA to their code. lots of bugs in v7 series. Not complaining about JAMS Support but its newer software comes with more bugs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
bunch of problems like time zone issue, job lagging issues; we can not do automatic installation of JAMS with all configs. and many more issue.

There are many benefits as well with JAMS solution.

Benefits: Central managment, security, logging, multi scripting/programming language support.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is nice product and easy to manage with security, supports multiple scripting languages for jobs. Integration with other software using API is really useful to customize your experience with scheduling jobs and can enable auditing on it.