Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

JAMS (BYOL)

Fortra | 7.5.1

Windows, Windows Server 2022 Base 2023.01.19 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

139 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Financial Services

Frustrating user interface but backend functionality is satisfactory for batch job scheduling.

  • January 18, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It has custom calendar which is useful for us. Pricing is competitive for paid job scheduler.
What do you dislike?
Desktop user interface is clunky and flicker when scrolling, makes it hard to know if an input has been changed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Batch scheduling that has complex dependency.


    Financial Services

JAMS Scheduler

  • November 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Complexity and variety of jobs and functions that can be used and scheduled with the software. I use this extensively with FTP transfer jobs and file sweeps.
What do you dislike?
My single complaint at this time is an all folder search when trying to find a job. Right now if a search is not performed in the correct folder the job will not be found.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Automation of file movement that has many different levels of file complexity and requirements.


    Banking

Awesome Job Scheduler

  • November 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We can manage JAMS Jobs from a straightforward UI of the application.
We can use it on both Windows and Linux platform.
The Product team of the application is very responsive.
There are many tutorials available for the tool.
I would like to recommend the tool to everyone.
What do you dislike?
The pricing of the application is on higher side which has restricted the growth of the application as it has potential otherwise there is no downside in the usuage of JAMS Job Scheduler?
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We can schedule any of the Job in our Test and Production Environment. The schduler can work on diffrent timezones. We can integrate with Microsoft SQL Server very easily. R
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would like to recommend this JAMS Job Scheduler to evry organisation.


    Banking

Flexible, customizible and reliable.

  • November 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Our organization has been using JAMS fro more than a decade. We really like the reliability aspect of the tool. On a couple occasions we suffered HW problems which brought the DB host down in the middle of ETL processing which was orchestrated by JAMS. We were able to fix the HW issues and resume processing like nothing happened. We also like the level of customization in JAMS. On a several occasions JAMS team would implement feature request we needed.
What do you dislike?
Our developers who use JAMS v.6 client reside in remote offices, away from the JAMS Scheduler v.6 engine. We have observed a slight lags between the client and Scheduler engine.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use JAMS to run everything - critical ETL processing which supports internal Data Warehouse, backups, file transmissions, jobs that destroy/rebuild lower environments daily & weekly, code deployments and maintenance jobs. Pretty much anything that's important to us and needs visibility goes to JAMS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a shot. It's light and easy to deploy.


    Rob G.

You Need JAMS

  • November 03, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
My favorite JAMS feature is that it can be extended using custom execution methods, written in C#, using their native libraries. These custom execution methods make it easy to schedule repeatable, customizable jobs which are highly tailored to our company's systems.
What do you dislike?
As a counterpoint of what I like best, I'll admit that there is a learning curve for writing custom execution methods. While JAMS support helps get us what we need to know, I feel that more documentation or project templates could help new customers get up to speed at using this powerful JAMS capability.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Most of our JAMS jobs pertain to file movement, ETL, and BI reloads. Before adopting JAMS, we had a small department of file processors who would follow daily procedures to check client FTP sites for files, download them, and import them into our platform. We automated those tasks with JAMS while expanding our business and adding numerous other tasks. Even as the company grew, we did not need to expand the file processing department. Their duties shifted from manual processing of a small number of files to monitoring the JAMS schedule and responding to any issues encountered as the system handles many more files than they could ever hope to process themselves.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I have three recommendations:
1) Shop around. Compare JAMS against other enterprise job schedulers such as Tidal and Tivoli. You will find that the scalable pricing and system architecture make JAMS a cost-effective solution for small companies and a powerful tool for large companies.
2) Create custom execution methods specific to your systems and environment; extending JAMS will pay dividends.
3) Consolidate all of your system-specific schedules into JAMS, i.e. SQL job scheduler, BI app reload schedulers, or Windows task scheduler. This will give you a single location where you administer all scheduled jobs. It will also allow job chains; sequences of jobs which run across multiple systems, in concert.


    Hans K.

It's a great product

  • November 03, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It helps us in our operation to fulfill the customer's wishes
What do you dislike?
Nothing. It fullfills in all our possibilities.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We're using it for all our customers to run their batch operations.


    Government Administration

A great universal scheduler

  • October 26, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I can have all sorts of things scheduled in one place. SQL, SSIS, Powershell, etc.
What do you dislike?
I wish their website had a more robust user community.

I wish it interfaced with AWS a little easier, but AWS is a PITA anyway.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We're able to keep all our scheduled tasks for our company in one location.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Their support is amazing, take advantage of it when starting out. They'll give you lots of great ideas.


    Retail

Jams support is great!

  • October 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
One spot for scheduling all your job scheduling needs and ability to view status of everything in one area.

There support staff have always been able to assist with any questions or problems I've had. They are friendly and know the product very well. Truly impressed every time I have needed support. Can't say that about many other companies.
What do you dislike?
Have had some issues with software bugs but support has always helped and fixed any issues promptly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Automatically scheduling and submitting tasks when we need them to run.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend JAMS if you want ability to monitor all scheduled tasks in one spot.


    Real Estate

JAMS scheduler Review

  • October 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's very user-friendly to set up jobs. In our organization, We had to set up a lot of SFTP jobs, SSIS package execution schedules. A lot of SSIS packages have a dependency on other SSIS packages. JAMS scheduler has multiple execution methods for scheduling SSIS packages sequentially. We can also add a dependency for the jobs to handle the execution of the jobs. The email alert functionality helps to receive the alerts and log files if any job fails. The JAMS client monitor window is handy to monitor daily jobs.
What do you dislike?
JAMS WebClient still requires better performance. JAMS monitor is not displaying JAMS job execution status accurately.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The process is simple to create jobs. JAMS scheduler has helped us automate the execution of SSIS packages for daily file uploads and SFTP the reports to external vendors. The email alert functionality is helping to alert us about job failures. JAMS scheduler has reduced the manual efforts of the support resources to manage the daily file uploads and generate the reports.


    Legal Services

Great Software

  • October 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Jams schedule is a great program. I use it to schedule and monitor many jobs on many SQL servers. The interface is solid and works great. Their Tech Support is top-notch. This is an Enterprise-Ready Solution
What do you dislike?
Report creator takes some practice but you can use PowerShell to create your own faster reports.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Centralized Job Scheduling for an enterprise-level topology