Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Couchbase- Distributed NoSQL document database software

Miri Infotech | 3

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 2016.03.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

92 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Government Administration

Couchbase Server

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to use, with options that are flexible to customize and meet the needs/requirements. Other competitors have limitations whereas more can be done here if you take the time to understand how to use the available tools.
What do you dislike?
Nothing specific I dislike about couchbase. Perhaps more documentation could be available and interactive training user interfaces might make it easier to start using the tools much quicker versus having no experience.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Flexibility with other options for database platform. Benefits allow ease of integration with other third party tools and resources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Watch any videos or webinars available to get a basic understanding.


    Non-Profit Organization Management

Great platform, so engaging and friendly

  • November 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The way the platform is able to update documents and make micro-changes is great, they have reliable high-speed uploads, and overall performance worked as well as can be expected. Couchbase is a great database and it is reliable, affordable, secure, and mostly easy to use.
What do you dislike?
At times it can be a bit cumbersome but overall it is great.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Helps to provide a singular place for all documents to live and be edited by collaborative teams
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just use it!


    Information Technology and Services

Couchbase for everyone

  • November 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Query lang N1QL is convinient, detailed and very fast.
Faster key-value storage.
Integration with other platforms viz Elasticsearch.
Scalable across multiple locations.

Couchbase has been quite a usable for our implementation. We had similar experience with our previous "trial" implementation, however it was short lived.
Couchbase has so far exceeded expectation. Our implementation team is more confident than ever before.
What do you dislike?
We're still evaluating the business outcome, so far we are observing inconsistent resource utilization (viz memory, cpu), may be we need to optimize further.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We wanted a multi-region multi-cloud Infra statistics storage platform for Analytics and Decision making. So far it has solved the purpose of multi-region multi-cloud Infra statistics storage.

We're using couchbase to gather Infra health, stats for near real time analytics, to make decisions to scale out or up the Infra.
We have more than 40K servers in our Infra, both virtual and physical. We've historically had slow processes, to reading performance statistics from each of them and analyzing them. Before we could react to a need for server upscale, an incident would have happened. This is where we tried other solutions and are currently using Couchbase. We are able to load vast amount of data every second and come up with near real time decisions.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
My recommendation would be for scenarios with real time analysis where we are satisfied. I'm not yet able to provide recommendation to scenarios which involve real time processing, I'm also less knowledgeable here.


    Aniello S.

the best nosql database

  • November 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
slq like queries, transactional queries, optimistic locks, reactive programming interfaces.
What do you dislike?
complicated cluster management, you need a skilled administrator
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fast access area for identity management handling, instant query response time for subsecond microservice response time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
if you only need a key value store then use redis if you need a document store that allows you advanced features such as sql like queries, transactional boundaries, sub-object retrieval, optimistic lock, superior response time capability, and much more then you need couchbase.


    Jose Alberto E.

Great NoSQL Server, flexible and easy to manage

  • November 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The NoSQL Couchbase Database server , is highly flexible in the usage and configuration. You can easily go from a community server to a licensed one. Great customer service, their support and assessment have been highly valuable.
What do you dislike?
It would be great to have more certifications on their side, so we can have more developers that we can be sure that have more knowledge of the platform. Right now, is more hit-or-miss with developers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have used it for our internal developments, for Product Catalog developments, and some time-series database solutions. The benefits are the flexibility and support for the platform.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider Couchbase when you need a document-based noSQL Server. It is recommended highly above MongoDB, because of support, ease of use, and great flexibility and tools. Finding developers that know about the platform could be a little difficult, but it is very easy to learn.


    Sports

Couchbase Caching excels

  • November 02, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, product support and customer experiences.
What do you dislike?
Need for external analytic tools for more in depth system performance and data analytics.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We utilize Couchbase for both fully in memory caching as well as persistent data storage of large amounts of data.
Document management and document lifespan has been managed much better.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The customer service / account representatives have all been outstanding. And go out of their way to offer support and assistance with utilizing as much of the product and features as possible.


    Yev K.

Need to scale and minimize data storage infrastructure?

  • November 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Couchbase provides a really great toolset to support data/search/caching and an ability to scale. Typically you need multiple infrastructure components to support such capability, with Couchbase it’s all in one.
What do you dislike?
Coming up to speed and sizing, and learning to monitor your environment requires training and working closely with Couchbase support. It is imperative to understand operation of Couchbase to be successful. I don’t specifically dislike that, but it is an important aspect of implementation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In the most recent implementation, the Couchbase cluster supports global metadata and orders from 3rd parties. Additionally FTS provides fast searches to enable good user experience.


    Eugene M.

Proven reliability for the multi-tier CRM backend solutions

  • October 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We've been using Couchbase along with a multi-tier CRM backend for hundreds of our customers and never had a headache with it: simple to configure, easy-to-use CLI and clear documentation makes it a valuable part of our backend system.

It is low enough on VM resources consumption and single instance handles a few backend environments, seemlessly.
It is also easy to work with Couchbase in local environments: both linux and windows distributions are available.

I can definately recommend this tool as a cache service for your products: self-hosted or in the cloud.
What do you dislike?
There is not much to say about the disadvantages of it. Maintenance and deployment are easy, experience was good.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is a cache server for user login session tokens and some static content.


    Rasheed K.

Access data faster more efficiently by levering Couchase Caching and Session Management

  • October 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Optimized database calls back to on-prem utilizing cloud hybrid model. Also the Caching and Session Management dramatically reduce our common database calls.
What do you dislike?
Inconsistent memory, CPU consumption pattern which took some time optimize resulting in outages during large calls. However, we were able to resolve these issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
During peak usage time calls to databases caused latency and redundant calls needed to be eliminated. Couchbase in memory Caching and Session management was the optimal solution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider long-term scalability and cloud migration


    Brant B.

Couchbase Server delivers on the promise of rapid microservice development in the cloud

  • September 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Couchbase Server makes continuous delivery of microservices in the cloud very easy with its schemaless approach to JSON data. For most cases, it's as simple as just deploying a new microservice version, no DDL changes required at all prior to deployment. We're also very excited about the forthcoming scopes/collections feature and how that may help us more easily ensure data separation between microservices.

Couchbase's memory-first architecture flat cluster topology also deliver on performance, especially for transactional data with significant mutation rates.

The N1QL query language is great to work with because it's so SQL-like, and much easier for developers to learn and reason about than other NoSQL platforms while also being more feature-rich.

On the IT operations side, managing the cluster itself is made incredibly easy using Couchbase Cloud or the Autonomous Operator for Kubernetes. The architecture itself also makes things easier, with auto sharding and no need to configure read-replicas.
What do you dislike?
The full-text search system is great for small-scale operations, but is still a somewhat young product offering. In some cases, use of a separate system like Elasticsearch is warranted.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Couchbase has allowed us to operate at scale with low-to-zero downtime for maintenance in a continuous delivery microservices architecture.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When implementing a Couchbase Server proof-of-concept, the learning curve can be slightly steep compared to more traditional RDBMS systems. However, the curve is typically less steep with Couchbase than with other NoSQL platforms. There is a great community online on their forums and Gitter that can help with any questions during a proof-of-concept phase.