Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Teradata Vantage Base (DIY)

Teradata | 17.05.03.01

Linux/Unix, Other 4.4.140-96.77.TDC.1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

138 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Insurance

Teradata Encryption

  • February 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is fantastic at running analytics. I like how they are moving everything toward the cloud and not worrying about storage as much as the actual analytics, which is where the focus should be.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing that I dislike. They are really working on being more scalable and realize the cloud is where they need to be moving forward.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This is a great platform for performing data analytics.


    Information Technology and Services

Teradata- A complete datawarehoousing platform

  • February 15, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Teradata is the best in processing data as it uses AMPs to do parallel processing on a massive data. The each AMP shares the same amount of work so that no resource stays idle and the output can be quicker. The time taken to process data is the key element to choose any database.
What do you dislike?
The Teradata is good in any many ways for data processing. But. the services provided on Platform are a bit less. Reporting services can be developed on top of the database to maintain integrity.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The datawarehousing solutions can be easily managed on Teradata. We can use BTEQ, FLOAD and MLOAD utilities for fast processing of data. The seccurity layers on Teradata are more and can process humungous data with ease unlike Oracle, SQL server.


    Pharmaceuticals

Teradata review

  • February 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It can handle huge amounts of data
Easy to execute actions and commands
What do you dislike?
Coding/commands are not for beginners
Interface is not very user-friendly
When you encounter an issue while on it, it cant be fixed by doing basic things. Always has to contact Teradata support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used to be a support for this program. simple terminating sessions and password resets/unlock.


    Financial Services

Teradata usage

  • February 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
One of the best databases I have used and helps greatly
What do you dislike?
Nothing in particular it is very user friendly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Business continuity


    Al S.

Clunky and awful

  • February 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What do I like best about Teradata? Not much. Seems like it was made by a kid in a garage somewhere. I hope we don't pay for this.
What do you dislike?
What do I dislike about Teradata? Everything. Not much. Seems like it was made by a kid in a garage somewhere. I hope we don't pay for this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The business problem we're solving here is looking like we're actually busy doing work because otherwise not much else is getting done on this system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
don't use it


    Information Technology and Services

The best Relational Database Ever

  • February 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Performance, Muti-process, Handling huge volume of data effectively. Ease of use.
What do you dislike?
Does not support Non-ANSI SQL statements in stage generated SQL statements.Does not support byte data types. Other than this we don't need anything to dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Extract Transform and Load. Bteq queries, fastload,fastexport


    Rmn C.

One size fits all

  • February 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Data processing, really helpful when you have to troubleshoot an error because it provides great diagnostic information, Parllelism
What do you dislike?
The client tools, weird/lame installation process on windows, table mapping features
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To store and retrieve our huge traffic history data. Teradata is helping us to move the real material across US with efficiency
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Big data equals ease in Teradata. Teradata's connectivity capabilities to other DB systems is a big plus. Implementation with JAVA was very easy. The only thing with Teradata is you should have clear picture about what you want to do with Teradata because if you don't scale it right it will be like they say, it will be killing a fly with an atom bomb.


    Information Technology and Services

Teradata Databse

  • February 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great place to warehouse data, create new tables, manipulate current tables and extract to Excel for additional analysis.
What do you dislike?
Syntax differs from basic SQL, no unified help function to quickly correct mistakes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Lots of data analysis from predictive models to specific adhoc questions for the business on commercial sets of data.


    Information Technology and Services

Good relational database

  • January 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It take very less time to execute queries
What do you dislike?
It’s cost, the database is very expensive
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It’s throughput is fast


    Computer & Network Security

Teradata

  • January 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple interface catering to complex needs
What do you dislike?
Huge time taking full table scan. Performance is impacted. More memory required
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using it for analytics purposes.