Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Teradata Vantage Developer (Free, DIY)

Teradata | 17.20.03.01

Linux/Unix, Other SUSE SLES 12 SP3 TDC - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

126 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Teradata- A complete datawarehoousing platform

  • February 15, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Teradata is the best in processing data as it uses AMPs to do parallel processing on a massive data. The each AMP shares the same amount of work so that no resource stays idle and the output can be quicker. The time taken to process data is the key element to choose any database.
What do you dislike?
The Teradata is good in any many ways for data processing. But. the services provided on Platform are a bit less. Reporting services can be developed on top of the database to maintain integrity.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The datawarehousing solutions can be easily managed on Teradata. We can use BTEQ, FLOAD and MLOAD utilities for fast processing of data. The seccurity layers on Teradata are more and can process humungous data with ease unlike Oracle, SQL server.


    Information Technology and Services

The best Relational Database Ever

  • February 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Performance, Muti-process, Handling huge volume of data effectively. Ease of use.
What do you dislike?
Does not support Non-ANSI SQL statements in stage generated SQL statements.Does not support byte data types. Other than this we don't need anything to dislike.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Extract Transform and Load. Bteq queries, fastload,fastexport


    Al S.

Clunky and awful

  • February 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What do I like best about Teradata? Not much. Seems like it was made by a kid in a garage somewhere. I hope we don't pay for this.
What do you dislike?
What do I dislike about Teradata? Everything. Not much. Seems like it was made by a kid in a garage somewhere. I hope we don't pay for this.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The business problem we're solving here is looking like we're actually busy doing work because otherwise not much else is getting done on this system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
don't use it


    Rmn C.

One size fits all

  • February 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Data processing, really helpful when you have to troubleshoot an error because it provides great diagnostic information, Parllelism
What do you dislike?
The client tools, weird/lame installation process on windows, table mapping features
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
To store and retrieve our huge traffic history data. Teradata is helping us to move the real material across US with efficiency
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Big data equals ease in Teradata. Teradata's connectivity capabilities to other DB systems is a big plus. Implementation with JAVA was very easy. The only thing with Teradata is you should have clear picture about what you want to do with Teradata because if you don't scale it right it will be like they say, it will be killing a fly with an atom bomb.


    Information Technology and Services

Teradata Databse

  • February 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great place to warehouse data, create new tables, manipulate current tables and extract to Excel for additional analysis.
What do you dislike?
Syntax differs from basic SQL, no unified help function to quickly correct mistakes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Lots of data analysis from predictive models to specific adhoc questions for the business on commercial sets of data.


    Information Technology and Services

Good relational database

  • January 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It take very less time to execute queries
What do you dislike?
It’s cost, the database is very expensive
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It’s throughput is fast


    Computer & Network Security

Teradata

  • January 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple interface catering to complex needs
What do you dislike?
Huge time taking full table scan. Performance is impacted. More memory required
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using it for analytics purposes.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Fast and powerful enterprise data warehouse

  • January 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is a powerful database platform. It is very comparable to Oracle.
What do you dislike?
The stock query application that comes with Teradata is very basic and does not provide many features at all. Using third party software is preferred.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Platform for enterprise data warehouse used throughout the country in multiply locations.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This platform can handle a lot of users and data. However, you should consider third party software for writing queries.


    Information Services

Simple yet Powerful MPP database

  • January 07, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its a simple and comes prebuilt with most of the tools required for any development.
What do you dislike?
Even tough the overall performance of the system is great the cost of the support is very high
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Reporting and Patient Analytics


    Food & Beverages

Awesome performance

  • December 27, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Teradata is being used as Enterprise Data Warehouse in our organization and its performance is awesome.
What do you dislike?
Teradata could not match the speed of market in technological war fare like cloud etc.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we are utilizing Teradata as Enterprise Data warehouse and we are amazed from its data fetching and loading performance