Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Teradata Vantage Advanced (DIY)

Teradata | 17.20.03.01

Linux/Unix, Other SLES 12 SP3 TDC - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

126 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

Good for data extraction

  • January 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Language is very straightforward.
It's great for data storage and extraction.
What do you dislike?
Run time may get too long.
Sometimes there isn't enough spool space.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Getting data and manipulating with data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Learn the language first. Sometimes there are other ways to run it faster.


    Internet

Enterprise Datawarehouse Senior Database Administrator

  • January 09, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature about Teradata database is that it is massively parallel processing system with high scalability, high availability and high performance providing the businesses to perform complex analytics and analysis thereby allowing businesses to make better decisions and earning more revenue.
What do you dislike?
I dislike the fact that the cost of installation of a single Teradata node is very expensive as compared to other relational database management systems available in market.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Teradata to store our massive amount of data, building semantic data marts for serving our end users and for performing complex analytics to drive our business and earn large revenue.


    Information Technology and Services

Fast database

  • January 04, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Terada handles huge volume of data efficiently, the retrieval rate is faster and performance is very good.
What do you dislike?
Teradata does not have option to create materialized views
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Teradata is used to store historical data in data warehouse and we build analytical reports and dashboards on top of it for management


    Ankit S.

Teradata Geek

  • January 02, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It allows mass of structured data to be queried with great speed
What do you dislike?
Inability to connect with hadoop platform
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Cross channel customer journey analytics. Allows me to include all data elements i need in order to come up with insights


    Financial Services

We use Teradata as our EDW for storing massive amounts of data and performing complex analytics.

  • December 25, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature about Teradata database is it’s massively parallel architecture, high scalability, high availability and high performance allowing the end users to store, retrieve and access data at any point of time with fault tolerance capability.
What do you dislike?
Teradata is not that efficient for OLTP based systems.Also I dislike the fact that it’s bit expensive for smaller customers and the price of a single Teradata node is on higher side as compared to other RDBMS’s available in the market.Lastly Teradata performs less marketing about it as compared to other databases and still needs to penetrate into the market.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Teradata for storage, building data marts and performing data analytics for driving better business decisions and improving our business.


    Internet

Extremely slow and overpriced database

  • December 23, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I don't think Teradata has any appealing feature. INstead every little thing about it makes me hate it.
What do you dislike?
The queries take too long. The client they offer - Teradata Studio Express - is extremely slow and unstable. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I think our company started using Teradata to make database actions faster. But with time, it actually became slower than Oracle DB.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do not use this product, you're better off using a better database.


    Lakshmi V.

Analytics

  • December 22, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The performance of this system is outstanding
What do you dislike?
Complexity of setting up this system is too much
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Analytics


    Jamie O.

Security is the number one priority

  • December 20, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great partner, and open to creative funding model. Security is the number one priority for Teradata IntelliCloud™ services, and that’s why they deliver across-the-board support for every facet of cloud security.
What do you dislike?
The system is very stable but is not very agile and can't provide the performance we need at the cost we desire in order to serve our goal of providing real-time analytics/BI against billions of rows of data.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The vendor has been extremely agile and involved in suggested improvements for performance and scalability.


    Paramasivan P.

Best RDBMS

  • December 14, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Teradata Database is used widely many retail/banking organization. It serves as the data warehouse. It addresses many problems related to large amounts of data.
What do you dislike?
Its not recommended for OLAP operations. Update operations are costly in teradata.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using for building many semantic tables for customer analysis.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best RDBMS for any analytical solutions.


    Retail

Teradata DW the best

  • December 14, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The performance is really good. The response times are low without taking too much of CPU time
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the application that i use hangs. Not sure if its the application or the dbms.
Session level troubleshooting options could be better.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We generate sales and inventory reports for a retailer and taking business decisions on it. The data is always accurate with very low margin of error.