Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 6.9 Minimal HVM

Technology Leadership Corporation | 1.1

Linux/Unix, CentOS CentOS 6.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

208 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Peter R. G.

I have used CentOS since 2009 and can highly recommend it.

  • October 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It has all the benefits and conveniences of a RedHat, minus the licensing limitations, even on purposefully unsupported Enterprise installations. RPM is a decent standard on Linux, and is well supported by the CentOS platform, down to RedHat-specific packages.
What do you dislike?
I don't have anything I specifically dislike about CentOS, though I would prefer it be distributed as a server system, and remove the overhead of any UI/X.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS is our central and most preferred distribution; with it we host all of our Linux platform. It is flexible, easily packaged as an image, and deployed full-featured and useable out of the box in most production environments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS7 switched to SystemD from CentOS6's init/upstart; this is a bit of a learning curve.


    Britton D.

CentOS is a great pick for a stable server for small-medium business

  • October 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS combines the best parts of an Enterprise-level Linux-based operating system (repackaging the Redhat Enterprise Linux Open-sourced pieces) and providing it free of charge without a subscription.

I've used CentOS since CentOS 5, and have been using it daily for servers running Samba and the like since 2012. I've since migrated those servers to CentOS 7, but the stability really can't be beat for the ease-of-use.

Support for products are also very solid for CentOS, due to the alignment and source-compatibility with RHEL. The same can be said for Debian, however I'm also a very big fan of the YUM package manager, which seems to help with dependency-resolution a fair bit better than apt.

EPEL is also a huge benefit to CentOS and RHEL. EPEL is software packages and extensions that provide updated/extended functionality over what is provided by default in CentOS. This allows being able to have newer versions of software installed without having to compile or download untrusted software from the Internet. EPEL forgoes some of the ultra-stable packaging CentOS is known for (sticking to older releases of software in order to not break compatibility), while gaining a very wide assortment of software that wouldn't otherwise be available.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes driver support is lacking, since the kernel versions being used tend to err to the 'oldstable' spectrum. Also, i'm not totally convinced that XFS/BTRFS is ready for the enterprise, as I've experienced issues with BTRFS snapshots in other Linux distributions (such as SLED). Sometimes as previously mentioned, packages are sometimes not updated as frequently as I'd like (this is done to preserve a cohesive environment and inter-operatibility between systems per release), but this is somewhat mitigated with EPEL packages.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I needed a stable system to provide Samba4 AD controllers for small business. I was using Fedora 14, when I realized support for various required systems weren't going to work (such as Quickbooks Enterprise), so I switched to CentOS, which has proven to be a very-wise choice. I virtualize several servers with XenServer, and have been very pleased at the ease-of-deployment and setup that is required with CentOS.


    Information Technology and Services

Amazing. why use red hat

  • October 05, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
everything but the support which the community gives you. why use anything else?!
What do you dislike?
N/a the product is free. This is 100% the positive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
costs


    Davide V.

My favourite OS for web servers!

  • July 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is my first choice for web servers. I love the speed it provides along with yum, which is a great package manager.
Security is a focus in CentOS and this makes it perfect for this role.
What do you dislike?
I can hardly say I dislike something about it, Maybe they should try to make it as popular as Ubuntu is, so that even "normal users" can understand that Ubuntu is not Linux and make their choice if they need to run a server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am running CentOS on a VPS which hosts a website. I also have used it in the past to host the backend for a web application with great results.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get accustomed to the differences if compared to Debian derived distributions.


    Wei M.

Perfect for enterprise

  • April 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Most of our servers (which serves billions of requests per day) use CentOS, and it works quite stable. After a major release software packages are not usually being upgraded to latest upstream version (which might break something), but only focus on bug fixes and security fixes.

Fits very well in enterprises which has high demand of stability and security.
What do you dislike?
While focus on stability, new features of upstream packages are usually not being introduced after a major release. Also, some software such as ROS (http://ros.org/) only supports Ubuntu natively, on CentOS it requires some work to build from source. CentOS is also not suitable for personal desktop computers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Basic Operating System for online services which has billion requests per day.
Benefits: most of our services runs quite stable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS is THE choice for Enterprise environment with focus on security and stability.


    wendy H.

A Linux OS with almost everything you want.

  • March 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS has everything I wanted in a Linux operation system. It is easy to install and solid.
It has a large community, and you can find many helps.
What do you dislike?
Some new softwares landed on Ubuntu before CentOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use centOS on servers which hold programming competitions in my school. We use it to host PC^2 server and host python applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS is a good choice for server. It has many great softwares. You can find many help about OS and problems on the Internet.


    Hospital & Health Care

As Good As Redhat and Free. Fit for our small team in a nonprofit organization.

  • February 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Our small team selects CentOS simply because that it is very similar to Redhat and it's free. We are in a nonprofit organization, so it's very important for us to reduce the cost while providing with almost same service. CentOS is a perfect option.
At the same time, all the team members are happy to invest time on the most popular platform(such as CentOS) instead of other Linux distribution(such as openSUSE), since we don't want to waste any minute on the less-famous platform and their tools.
What do you dislike?
Occasionally, we will find some open source projects which supports Ubuntu primarily and leaves CentOS in the non-fully-supported list. For example, Wine project(www.winehq.org) supports Ubuntu best. In this case, it will be a little bit inconvenient. It needs your a little bit more time to fix the problems. So, usually, as a backup of CentOS, we also invest time on Ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our small team uses VirtualBox+CentOS+Our homemade software tools to provide service with the users.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very fit for nonprofit organization and the team taking full responsibility of it instead of needing Redhat being responsible for problems.


    Antonino Francesco M.

A solid choice for every server

  • January 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is one of the top server enterprise Linux distributions. It has an amazing long and support lifespan, and great compatibility and support.
CentOS has a very long development cycle, witch means that it has a very well-tested and proven code.
Community is very large too, making the search for a solution very quick and easy.
What do you dislike?
The worst thing in CentOS is the need to add EPEL package repository to install some useful software that's not part of the CentOS universe.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our team uses CentOS+Jira+Bitbucket+Jenkins in order to organize our repository and to continuous delivery our web sites in production server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a server, the choice is CentOS.


    Accounting

Effective product

  • January 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to use yet highly affective Linux based program
What do you dislike?
Unless you know Linux it is hard to use, has custom queries for CentOS only
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS runs on a few of my servers to host applications. It is highly stable and very rarely requires updatea
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly stable product, front runner for Linux based systems


    Timothy S.

Centos for servers

  • January 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Centos has all the Linux features I need and all the enterprise features I needed from RHEL without the price. it runs Java, cloudfoundry, gemfire, spring, spring xd, open stack and all the tools and development tools as well as servers you need. Centos is fast, lean and a great general OS.
What do you dislike?
You either like RPMS and yum. It works if there's an RPM or it's in a YUM repo. If it isn't compiling stuff from scratch is often a pain and getting all the correct versions of build tools and libraries can be difficult. Sometimes I think Ubuntu is a little easier to work with and has some upgrades for containers not yet in centos.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running virtual machines at a cheaper way. This worked and worked well. It's not the newest version of linux, but it is really solid and you'll never see it crash.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Download it and try it.