Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Oracle Enterprise Linux 7.2 supported by Navisite

Navisite | v1.1

Linux/Unix, Other 7.2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

113 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Hospital & Health Care

Solid Linux distribution

  • September 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very little to go wrong here, has a good pedigree. Basically works as expected.
What do you dislike?
There have been a few issues with package upgrades, sometimes dependencies don't have the right version available.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using Oracle Linux for development has had many benefits over using Windows since it is the same platform as our servers.


    Financial Services

Linux sys admin

  • September 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like best about Oracle Linux is the ease of installation. Having only started administrating the software 2 years ago, I have been able to install and configure 4 production level servers and hardened them. There is lots of information to be found and it has helped a lot
What do you dislike?
there seems to be too many ways to configure ethernet setups. We had a 3rd party configure one of our environments, now whenever I try to do an update, I lose the ethernet settings, and I have not figured out why
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
the best benefit with Linux is unlike Microsoft, I don't have to reboot as often, patches are more easily applied and managed


    Information Technology and Services

Manager, Business Information Systems

  • September 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We have been using ODA over 3 years now and base OS is Oracle Linux. I found it robust, easy to navigate especially it works well with the ODA component and never had problem at the OS level.
What do you dislike?
Frequency of patch updates. It hard to keep up with the patch deployment
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
biggest benefit - All in one & 1 stop shop


    Anthony M.

Oracle Linux Review

  • September 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It i very good at managing ram/ memory and sharing it among various programs that are running concurrently.
What do you dislike?
It is sometimes clumsy and slow and the support levels are wanting hence when an issue surfaces a user has to bear all the workload to fix.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
running concurrent software inside the same environment. The benefits have included efficient memory sharing and usage among the applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a good environment especially if you have a need for running multiple applications simultaneously.


    Musa V.

Oracle Linux: High performance and stability in operation.

  • September 03, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Oracle Linux is a replica of Red Hat Linux, a well-known version of Linux, and is very stable. This helps protect systems that are quite error free. The software is very helpful and I like the cloud-centric interface, which increases the connectivity between them. It is a scalable system and is compatible with many hardware brands.
What do you dislike?
There is a lack of integration with Microsoft and Mac networks to share network services. Add-ons for popular tracking tools such as Oracle and Zabbix are insufficient.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The operating system was built and packaged from scratch, making it the best and easiest operating system to run the Oracle database. Oracle Linux is your best choice if you are going to deploy Oracle to an Intel or AMD-based server. However, although it is a special solution, an operating system is more than the other viewers from the administrative point of view.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Oracle Linux is easy to implement packages that work well with Oracle databases. It is easy to hire resources because any Linux administrator can work with Oracle Linux, because the Linux administrator can run with almost zero changes to their existing Linux.


    Abdelhamid B.

Oracle

  • August 27, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It gathers al kinds of information and summarize it.
What do you dislike?
Its a little bit old fashioned, not the best erp out there
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It makes my work easier
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be like sap


    Mateo G.

Pretty simple Linux distributive.

  • August 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
High performance. Useful controls. Easy to customize.
What do you dislike?
Pretty meager user interface. Requires improvements.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Used as an operating system on some PCs.


    Jasmin S.

Operating system with more capacity for programmers

  • August 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like Linux because you can actually customize it according to your liking as long as you can program the computer/do some coding yourself. Linux however is not for people who don’t have that capability and aren’t great with computers.
What do you dislike?
Not great for people who aren’t used to using computers frequently.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Benefits are it’s more customizable according to your programming abilities.


    Bill S.

We use Oracle Linux every day OCI runs exclusively on Oracle Linux

  • August 13, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Oracle Support for OEL is good but you have to get the right person on the other end of the ticket. We sometimes have to waste time while we wait to get to the right person. That right person is knowledgeable for our specific problem. I do like the dedicated support team we have from the account people that want to make our project a success.
What do you dislike?
Hard to get to a knowlegable person. The first people that get assigned a ticket seem to have a script for what they require you to collect and it feels like they invent things if you provide what they were looking for in advance. lie the SOSReport that every single ticket needs. They also require all the OCI ID's for every instance and ticket.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Oracle Linux is the OS of choice in the Oracle Cloud. Oracle has much of it's automation based upon Oracle Linux.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The best way to do Oracle Cloud (OCI). The dedicated team we have to make your project a success is a must.

G2 NOTE: Your Searches are not working..... Above (Product Integrated) is JDE or JD Edwards wlll not return anything in my search.

G2 NOTE: Below 3rd Party is Tech Mahindra


    Sylvia M.

It is a good overal choice

  • August 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
this OS can be used to support other platforms and tools throughout an organization as it provides stability and security, it has well documented solutions for issues on Oracle support site, the OS kernel can be updated without having to reboot the system
What do you dislike?
it has issues such as cloud compatibility, can be slow, sometimes customer support from oracle could be challenging, there are fewer users of oracle linux than other versions, potentially making it hard to obtain outside support
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
i realized that it is good for emails and correspondence servers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
the software does really work well with databases. it provides a fairly stable functionality for remote systems that have users requiring limited assistance