Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Community Edition

GitLab | GitLab CE 15.4.0 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

7 AWS reviews

External reviews

626 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Automotive

Great version control tool

  • July 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is great version control tool. Helps with CI/CD.
What do you dislike?
Nothing as such that i dislike about Gitlab.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Helps strem lining the software release process. Very easy to merge branches to master and release them.


    SC

Impossible to use

  • July 09, 2022
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

As most other reviewers state it is impossible to connect to the EC2 after creation. SSH will not work as connection times out, and ports 80 & 443 timeout. VPC is correct, server does not respond


    krishnaprem p.

Version Control made easy

  • July 08, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's a must for version control. Keeps your whole team organized.
What do you dislike?
You can run into merge conflicts which can be annoying, and there is a possibility of losing information if not carefully used.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Multiple users can collaborate on a project at a time without having to worry about overlapping changes


    Rohit M.

collaboration made super easy!

  • July 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Gitlab is very good tool, you can collaborate with you team smoothly and it is beginner friends so you dont need to spend a lot of time on learning github.it is super easy.
What do you dislike?
few function are not that easy to understand, means for things you need complete understanding otherwise things will become nightmare and you will got trapped.ottherwise it is okay to have it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Gitlab is act as centralized place for the code base, we collaborate here with teams and work together. without any version control system, it is impossible to build a high quality and big software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
it is best version control available in the market.


    Sanjaykumar D.

Migration from GitHub to gitlab

  • June 30, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to push and pull code. Can create group and assign role to members. Easy to raise pull request and merge request.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes face issue in granting owner privileges to users.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Gitlab solves cloud storage for storing codes. And security for private repositories. Also we can easily work with git in order to version control repository.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I found out that gitlab is better than GitHub. Everything is transperant in gitlab and can quickly learn and start working on.


    Sachin R.

My first source control management tool

  • June 29, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use.
Simple commands and almost all the commands are avail in Google as well.
What do you dislike?
I have been using gitlab for the past 3 years and apart from repo management and CI-CD, I havent used any other feature.
CI-CD could be more customised and easy just like Jenkins.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Source control manager where I can keep my source code and share across teams.


    Computer Software

GitLab

  • June 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Gitlab is one of the most used source code version control tool across the industry. Gitlab is very easy to install and use that allows the developers to manage various project artifacts such as application source code, test cases and data. Gitlab comes with a powerful workflow process that enables users to follow the SDLC cycle for the development of applications.
What do you dislike?
nothing to dislike. Gitlab is a great tool
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Gitlab is a great version control tool. At my company, we use Gitlab to manage application source code and send notification emails when the code has been checked in by the developers. This email notification triggers a workflow task for the QA team to begin testing. Once the testing process is complete, the code is deployed into dev and production. We also use Gitlab to manage the test cases and the test data.


    Deepak Kumar J.

GitLab awesome tools for Devops and Development activities

  • June 20, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Version control concept, which helps us to resolve multiple issues, Review control without review not will merge in the main branch. Better than SVN where we don't have this option
What do you dislike?
resolving Conflict using UI/UX is not correct. yes i faced multiple challenges while resolving conflicts from UI. Resolve the bug. In conflict resolving option from UI
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Earlier we were using SVN for Development and we faced multiple challenges while deployment. Git lab resolves that issues and we're able to deploy our changes within 2 hrs on productions.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're facing challenges with Version control, Must try GitLab.


    Johannes B.

Code Repository with great pipeline capabilities

  • June 17, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Besides the common functionality of managing code in a repository, the pipeline capabilities are outstanding. They offer an integrated experience of building the applications directly within the tool. The definition is based on docker images which give you great flexibility in what you can do. Besides storing the definition as a file in the code,it is event possible to share pipeline-steps between projects.
What do you dislike?
The planning capabilities of having tasks and epics are not sufficient for larger teams or project setups, where you have several small and independent repositories. Also, it was not really intuitive for us to map the scrum process to the provided issue planning components.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
GitLab helps to provide a common (and also onPrem) git-based code repository with a lot of additional features. Especially the functionality of MergerRequests with dedicated code reviews and approvals helps to increase the code quality. Providing pipeline capabilities along with all kinds of registries for storing artefacts provides a complete solution for managing, deploying and delivering code. The flexibility in pipelines made it easy to integrate with other tools, e.g. with Mend.


    Information Technology and Services

Best tool of version control

  • June 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We can create seperate branche for our individual task. Merging in other branch. Tagging is also good . I used source tree, in-built plugin of git in eclipse or intlije IDE
What do you dislike?
Some time conflict resolving get difficult.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Version control of source code. We can create multiple branch for different purposes. It's being us more productive