Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Secured MySQL 5.6 on RedHat 7.9

Cognosys Inc. | V20.9.1004

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux RedHat 7.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,491 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Education Management

I like it

  • July 29, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It helps me to query data in different forms cloud and databases .
What do you dislike?
The interface and at integrations services that are not provided
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Query the database , cleaning the data


    Vishal A.

Best of the finest for databases

  • July 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Handy commands and easy to write and compile
What do you dislike?
doesn't like the limitations for smaller datasets and irrational databases
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Handling Big databases larger datasets and biggest benefits is the processesing of huge amount of data with shorter keywords, allocating and analyzing datasets for various insights, predictions and many other uses related to store, retrieve and protect data in databases.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
My recommendations would be to consider at the top for Mysql as there are lots of options available however, the best one is MySQL so, If you are looking for something related to relational databases then my first choice on the go would be MySQL and yes there are limitations to it however, these limitations makes it more powerful as there is always a certain criteria that works best for MySQL.


    Meghana R.

Most commonly used database

  • June 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The usage of this database starts right from educational institutions, hence it is most known and most common database.
It is very easy to use. The relational database helps keep track of multiple tables and connect them.
What do you dislike?
Since it is sql, no sql databases are making a lot of noise in the market. They have a lot of advantages for storing huge amount of data.
As Mysql lacks performance or search operations on big data.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mysql is vest suited for a simple application or projects. The integration of Mysql into multiple domains and programming languages is quite feasible. It can be used for average amount of datastore.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for handling big data, try migrating to No sql database for better performance.


    Information Technology and Services

LAMP Database. A Reliable database for small enterprises.

  • June 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MySQL is a non-RDBMS Database but it is more popular in SME's for their LAMP Platform as a database. It has support for SQL Query language. It has provision for data concurrency. Provision for data redundancy, provision for no duplication of data. Gels well with Opensource LAMP Platform. It can also connect with Microsoft visual studio platform. Easy to use.reliable light weight backend database. Mysql database is available for both LINUX AND WINDOWS operating systems.
What do you dislike?
MySQL being no-RDBMS, there can be certain standard RDBMS Features will be missing because it doesn't follow many EF. Codd's rules. The security aspect can be a concern on a large dataset. Integrity constraints not defined well. Stored procedures came in only in recent versions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Being an Opensource Database for the LAMP platform. MySQL gels well with PHP LAMP platform. We can even write stored procedures in PHP. There are provisions to secure the data by means of MD5 Encryption. The performance of mysql is good with large databases. Not only LAMP, But also it can connect with several other frontends like HTML5CANAS, JS Frameworks, and many other open-source ecommerce platforms.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Will recommend to everyone particularly the small and medium players. To all those who wants to spend less on databases can be advised with mysql.


    Computer Software

Excellent tool for querying MySQL databases

  • June 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like best is how simple it is to query and provide readable and workable data for employees who do not work directly with the technology. Management is able to make the best business decisions once I as the developer extract the data for them using MySQL.The table set up as well as the data querying is easy to learn and work with. It also allows for connection to multiple databases so it's easy to jump back and forth from one to the other.

It's also great that when the program does occassionally crash, it automatically saves your work. Once the program reloads you can continue working just where you left off.
What do you dislike?
MySQL tends to crash at times. Often needs to be restarted.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A business is powered by it's data. MySQL gives me the tools to pull this data and analyze it, which allows for the company as a whole to make the best possible business decisions. Having such a dynamic tool that gives me such efficent access to my data increases the turnaround of projects with the highest level of accuracy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MySQL is definitely a great tool to work with for database related work. I use it on a day to day basis and it allows me to work efficiently in conjunction with my web applicaitons. It may crash every so often when running heavy duty queries, but restarting it should fix the issue.

I would highly recommend it.


    Higher Education

Mysql server 8.0 + is flawless

  • June 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Build-in functions. Triggers and transactions
What do you dislike?
Not having full text search in MyIsam engine.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My custom CMS system is written entirely on MYSQL DB.


    Computer Software

I am using MySQL for the last 11 years. From MySQL version 5 to the current version 8.

  • June 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MySQL is best suitable for storing complex relational data features. Now, with the JSON support, it adds more power to the MySQL
What do you dislike?
Still, MySQL lags at text performance. We can't use MySQL for advanced search features. ES and Solr are better for those. Also, it's single point of failure if the Master goes down.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I prefer using MySQL for storing configs, relational data storage. With proper data modeling, MySQL will be the best one to go with it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go with MySQL blindly, if you have fewer data and also if it demands relational use cases. Even if you have a large amount of data, you can use sharding or partitioning to scale it.


    Roman S.

Robust and adopted globally.

  • June 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mysql is fast to code-in,

It has the largest user community of any database management system out there, thereby making it so easy to find solutions to any problem encountered whilst using the program,

Mysql works with practically all mainstream server side programming languages I know.
What do you dislike?
While Mysql does struggle with managing large datasets, we 've successfully navigated this bottleneck by using proper partitioning and indexing on our database tables.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mysql is the DBMS tool for all database needs in my company, from the smallest side projects to our most important projects.
Its smooth integration with a variety of development environments, makes it the ideal dbms for a dynamic organization such as ours.


    Rahul G.

Simplest and easiest DB management software to start with

  • May 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to set up
Simple queries
Allows integration with different tools
Open source
Great community support
Supports storing json datatype
What do you dislike?
UI can be better like Redis insight
Additional features can be added for business use
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use for storing survey data in an organised way
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If yor are a fresher to IT industry then mysql is the best way to start with for DB management


    Alexander T.

The Best Relational Database Management System

  • May 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The thing that I like the most about MySQL is how simple it is to set up and easy to start using. If you know SQL, there is no learning curve for actually using this database management system. It also has integration with various tools that I use on a day-to-day basis, such as IntelliJ Idea. Another thing that I like about MySQL is that it allows for fast and lossless recovery of data if someehting goes wrong during transactions.
What do you dislike?
The only thing that I dislike about MySQL is that it gets a bit slow and takes significant performance hits when working with large databases. Other than that, there is nothing I dislike about MySQL, as it perfectly suits my needs at the moment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
At my company, we are using MySQL as an underlying database management system for almost all internal R&D projects. I use it for a Deep Learning-based project for managing and storing the data that comes from the customer side. One of the most significant benefits of using MySQL in this setting is that it is easy to get your desired database running quickly.