Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

AWS Storage Gateway

Amazon Web Services | 2.1.5.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

35 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Entertainment

Storage Gateway AWS

  • November 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It´s easy to integrate, and usability is very intuitive; authorization for different levels and different services is made on the fly through defined roles or AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM)
What do you dislike?
Nothing at all, just the first time access is a little slow, but for continuous use, it provides reasonable response times, and latency is excellent; in fact, the delay is not detectable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Access data instantly with very low latency and virtually unlimited storage; I can store images files, huge volumes with a very efficient data transfer mechanism.


    Muhammad Hozaifa E.

cheapest and safest cloud storage

  • November 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to maintain and store any type of data files, you can also use this as a static website and share a public IP with it.
Its very cheap as compared to any other cloud storage in the market
What do you dislike?
AWS S3 should do proper marketing to target relevant customers, like Dropbox - Google Storage - Mircosoft are doing, I think if they do proper marketing they can change the market dynamics
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Uploading data into the cloud is Safe, Reliable and at the same time easy to access. It's easily scalable, durable and secure, the best part is you just download the AWS Deployment tool to your local machine and use all the features of Storage cloud on your local machine.


    Architecture & Planning

awesome storage

  • October 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
multiple formats, speedy GET and high SLA PUT
What do you dislike?
authentication and authorization shouldbe integrated with multiple auth providers
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
access anywhere and everywhere


    Ankit J.

Best Storage service and gateway -AWS

  • October 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy configuration and management. Using cache it can work faster and for security purpose its use SSL. Tape, S3, File and volume gateway setup on AWS is the easy part.
What do you dislike?
Storage gateway setup in on-premises is a little bit difficult for me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using S3 and solved many real-time issues. Like Avabilitties, Latency and storage space. We have configured with web-mobile based app and we are storing all data in S3. Working fantastic currently.
For Backup purposes also we are using S3 and very easy to configure automation using CLI and lifecycle.


    Wilcox Y.

Product Works well in hybrid environments. Easy to setup and configure

  • October 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing I like about this service is the easy low cost secure. It has all of your storage needs and you know everything is securely backed up. Allowing clients access via AWS S3 to only their files is important. Confidentiality unpins my business. I also store all my course modules on AWS, this allows me to know the course content I produce is not sitting on a website or other platform - everything links with one click.
What do you dislike?
Remembering not everyone is an IT person - could be more user friendly. I am technical so it's easy to understand but maybe more challenging for those standard users so sometimes you have to dumb down the technical jargon on the site.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
AWS storage gateway provides this service for high availability and low latency. It is good for items such as being good for data backup solutions, S3 attachments to traditional servers and relatively easy to manage once it is configured and setup.


    Ajit Kumar k.

AWS Storage Gateway easy way to share storage workload to cloud

  • August 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It gives a hybrid environment for data storage wherein you can store your data in a cloud environment from your datacenter/application.
What do you dislike?
Nothing such dislikes but If it can have any tool integration for faster data transfer feature(May incur some cost for it) it would be little better
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have an on-premise application that stores data into the cloud, so we used this service to perform data transfer seamlessly.


    Abhinav J.

Amazing for storing all our files, movies and stuff, without any limit to Storage

  • August 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
AWS S3 backs AWS Storage service; I use it to keep all my videos and photos on this. it provides access to those files from anywhere and that too with very low latency.
What do you dislike?
It's bit costlier compared to other products in the Market, but the AWS ecosystem compatibility provides a great addition.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using AWS Storage Gateway for storing all my files as after I started using this, I never have to think of a Storage limit anymore. The compatibility of this with other AWS Services provides a great addition to those who are using AWS Services.


    Confucius

Needs clarity on Documentation

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Storage Gateway works when configured properly, BUT the documentations are not clear. There are different types of Storage Gateway to choose from and it gets confusing when the documents does not specify each options.


    Frustrated

OLD VERSION! DOES NOT WORK!!!

  • July 14, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I spent two days working with AWS Support running through their Tier 1 checklist before I figured out that this is an old version of the Storage Gateway AMI that DOES NOT WORK! DO NOT USE!!!


    Juliet M.

Excellent Cost Effective Cloud Storage Service

  • April 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
AWS storage gateway has all your data easily & securely backed up. It is also very economical. You simply pay for whatever place you use only. It can be used as file backup and at time of disk crash you can restore them quickly. Its snapshot restore is an amazing feature that lets you keep track of files even if you delete them. They have efficient and robust customer services. It is a perfect tool for taking backups, archiving and disaster recovery.
What do you dislike?
AWS storage gateway does not provide enough transparency around data consistency between local and remote copies. There’s no consistency of snapshotting. All snapshot copies will seem like “crash” copies of data. Its reporting is also quite poor and inefficient. The lag in time of having the AWS console pull back latest configuration information from a gateway appliance is also quite annoying.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
AWS storage gateway provides this service for high availability and low latency. By chance, if any server crashes then AWS storage gateway provides a backup Machine to the user to continue using their services. It also reduces the risk of losing data. Medium or big scale organizations can use it to protect confidential data and files. It is also quite an inexpensive solution
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Medium or big scale organization uses this feature to protect confidential data. This is a very useful service in any organisation. It provides high availability and the user can observe that Machine is always up to use. It provides local performance with virtually unlimited scale. We can transfer the data into and out of the Cloud. We can use the service for backup and archiving, disaster recovery, cloud data processing, storage tiering