Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

AWS Storage Gateway

Amazon Web Services | 2.1.5.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2018.03 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

35 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Consumer Goods

Really Easy to Use

  • November 29, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Storage Gateway is incredibly easy to use - multiple virtualization platforms supported, and it makes the setup and configuration very straight-forward.
What do you dislike?
Not a ton of flexibility on configuration, you're kind of locked in to the options they have.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
COnsolidating file servers, backups, and ROBO storage.


    Media Production

aws storage gateway

  • November 28, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The product is easy to setup and manage.
What do you dislike?
The reads and writes gets delayed sometimes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
archival of huge data


    Information Technology and Services

Gateway for microservices

  • November 28, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ease of use when deploying applicaiton as a service
What do you dislike?
compatibility to other gateway sevices to make it more easy
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Monolith to Microservices


    Civil Engineering

Great service

  • November 28, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to store all my data in one central location.
What do you dislike?
The amount of time it takes to upload data.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
On premise storage and tape backups. I’ve realized that it’s cheaper to upload to the cloud.


    Information Technology and Services

Great tool but no backup software

  • November 28, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We work with lot of small and medium businesses they love the cost of backing up their data and having AWS as their DR plan.
What do you dislike?
Having a backup software packaged as a deal will help small and medium businesses to save additional money for setting up their backups and DR in cloud.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Problem: Two places to shop for setting up the solution.
Benefits: Cost savings to have backups and DR in cloud.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Having storage gateway tied with backup softwares with multiple options for customers.


    Information Technology and Services

Tape backup?

  • November 28, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I do not want to do tape backup anymore, so using a more modern approach to a tedious task is awesome.
What do you dislike?
I would love if the price was lower as I have had projects where the cloud storage cost was a dealbreaker
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Backup


    Government Relations

Easiest way to achive hybrid architecture

  • November 27, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
You can easily deploy and configure the storage gateway within a matter of mins. Once it's deployed you can use it to write data direct to S3, doing that means you can have a fully replicated DR solution, or bring a very old application into the cloud and take snapshots of it.
What do you dislike?
The number of updates done to the gateway is more than expected, but notifications of the updates is very good, more detailed information regarding bandwidth recommendions would be appreciated
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fully replicated backup data, we write all of our backups direct to S3 using the gateway and saved about $30,000 YOY


    Insurance

Enterprise level ease of use

  • October 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
High level enterprising ease of use. Encryption level access.
What do you dislike?
Could use a more user friendly UI. System at times is slow.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ease of storage. Not having a physical storage on site saves a lot of space.


    Casey G.

Cloud Storage

  • October 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is like icloud but easier to use in a work setting and more reliable than icloud. Better for business use rather than personal use. If you are a usual amazon user, this platform is enjoyable and easy to use. This platform connects to all other Amazon platforms such as Amazon s3 EBS, etc.
What do you dislike?
It is not directly connected to the current platforms we use in the workplace. Sometimes the buffering process takes time to load documents and data, but that is with any type of storage platform or site. meta data stored on s3 cannot be mapped across different protocols.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Out of all the platforms I have used in each job, Amazon S3 has the best plan for data protection, recovery, migration, etc. When data or files are lost, it can be detrimental to all aspects of the company, we do not have to worry about this happening with our data stored in Amazon S3.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommend. We even uploaded images and pulled them from s3 for our Etsy site.


    Real Estate

Simple and easy to categorize

  • September 28, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the ability to move our files off of our Wistia video hosting site
What do you dislike?
The monthly cost is not commensurate to the storage value
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Extreme collaboration and efficiency in accessing docs
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Negotiate pricing or consider the enterprise version