Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

LAMP packaged by Bitnami

Bitnami by VMware | 7.4.33-7-r07 on Debian 11

Linux/Unix, Debian 11 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

38 AWS reviews

1-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Leo

Don't waste your time

  • June 25, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I lost a lot of time trying to get a extra vhost properly configured
needing lots of extra work mainly on the php fpm module

I'm sure Bitnami made a good effort but it ended in me getting a clean ubuntu image and starting from scratch




    Dmitriy Makarenko

Worst expreriense ever

  • May 05, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This image is really awful!
1) All applications are installed in /opt/bitnami instead of their default locations. If an expert, like me, tries to work with it, he has to learn all configs from scretch.
2) All applications are highly coupled. In order to change mysql data location I had to edit 15!!! files.
3) It's not possible to restart single application, as all of them are installed in a bundle.
4) There's no even restart for the bundle service.

The result: 2 work hours lost + moved to other image

Probably it was the worst experience I ever had with preinstalled images.


    Alexander Kim

MySQL access how to find root password?

  • March 13, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was installed this AMI for LAMP development.
Succesfully connected to the instance trough SSH,
and SFTP using putty ppk

Even get working phpmyadmin login page.

But spent several hours for searching a solution how really get access to MySQL got nothing.

There is no way to get root password for MySQL.
I was resetting password through passwd from command line many times. nothing helped.

So I think that Bitnami should create some tutorial of how MySql access should be granted to the AMI user.

After spending several hours to get my LAMP environment ready using this AMI. I just removed that from my AWS EC.

My experience is negative. Hope I'am not the dumbest person.

Good luck to everyone who will try to use it.


    Evan Adams

Garbage cache configuration

  • May 29, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Despite restarting the EC2 instance multiple times, restarting Apache and Varnish services, and disabling APC any files outside of htdocs are cached indefinitely with no documentation.


    Denis R.

I tried...I failed

  • May 21, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Nothing easier than configuring a stack by yourself.
Messy docs as complicated as on AWS.
Why pay for complicated things, I don't have time to waste.


    Giovanni C.

Lost money

  • February 08, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I gave a "service bitnami restart" and found my VPS powered off and terminated.
It's better if you install Apache and MySQL manually on standard Ubuntu distribution.


    Vaibhav Singh

doesnt work properly , mysql crashes a lot.

  • December 18, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

product doesnt work properly ,
it's a buggy product ,had a lot of pain while reconfiguration ,

faced issues with databases ,


mysql crashes a lot.


    S Sharma

SSH login does't work .

  • July 29, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Could not make SSH login work for the instance. Default user id also not found. Not sure if there is image specific get started documentation anywhere.


showing 1 - 8