Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

LAMP packaged by Bitnami

Bitnami by VMware | 8.1.9-0 on Debian 11

Linux/Unix, Debian 11 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

38 AWS reviews

4-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    RussellG

Good for new Linux users, not so good for experienced users.

  • June 04, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This LAMP Distro is definitely aimed at Linux new comers more than for experienced Linux cmd-line users. The web-based application management system reminded me of cPanel, though command-line tools are available for many functions in the Bitnami package. But they are not the "standard" Linux commands due to their packaging and location in /opt.

Thus my recommendation is that this is fine for newcomers or cPanel users, but advanced users will probably want to build out their own LAMP distro so that packages are located and function as they are already used to.

Note, if you are training to be a Linux Dev/Ops person, build your own LAMP stack from scratch, so you can learn the default layout and commands that your distro (Ubuntu, CentOS, Fedora, etc.) uses instead.

1 person found this helpful

    Marina Yerkes

Great

  • June 28, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is exactly what I expected! It works great and I haven't had any issues with the software. I recommend it to all.


    Andy Cho

seemless installation!

  • April 13, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was able to be up and running in less than 20 minutes, very efficient!
Great way to try a LAMP stack on cloud!


    Nick

Excellent

  • July 02, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This AMI works exceptionally well and seems to be relatively secure. The only thing I had a hard time with was getting the password for the root account/mysql so I could access phpmyadmin properly. I inadvertently discovered that the default password is actually randomly generated during startup on another support forum for a different AMI. The instructions for this AMI indicated that the password was simply "bitnami" when it was in fact the randomly generated password created at startup. After I figured this out I was able to use the AMI to deploy a web application with relative ease.


    Aleksei

Satisfactorily

  • February 27, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Everything is quite transparent, but without file holder still can not do both in general and in any system that needs to be sharpened for themselves.


    Jacob

Everything I needed plus some I didn't

  • February 16, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was looking for a light weight install to just get a server up for testing/dev purposes. I have not tried to use this in a production environment simply because when it comes down to it I thing when you set up a server it should not be a blind process.
I would prefer this to not include phpmyadmin but if you are a newbie to PHP development and just want something there then this should be your choice.


    Chris Morton

Easy to install but headache trying to find things

  • February 12, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

You must read the docs at some point to figure where everything is. Spent secs installing, hours trying to do little customizations!


    Alvaro

So far so good

  • June 17, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The Image and stack was ready to use, you can deploy it almost instantly and no problems have been found till now. Very pleased so far.
Every tool/service worked well and was updated and had my Symfony 1.2 app working very quickly.
We are still testing this infrastructure.
The LAMP stack is structured in an unusual way, for people that is not used to linux servers's enviroments may be usefull and for those who do are familiar it takes a short time to adapt and for this you have the official documentation.
Seems to be very well documented in the web site of the creators.


showing 1 - 8