Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Shippable Server - Startup Edition

Shippable | Shippable Server Startup Edition

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu Server 14.04 LTS (HVM) - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

12 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Shubham S.

best repository available

  • October 26, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is one the best website for those are doing some project. It is integrated with github. Customizable dashboard. Very easy to find somethig related to project. Docker is best one. I think it is better to use docker sometimes
What do you dislike?
Docker has some limitations which should be removed. Project deployment take more than needed time sometimes. There are minor bugs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use shippable for deployment of my project and learn something new. It is very good
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend shippable for learning new in the project and to use docker


    Rohan K.

Great experience using shippable

  • October 25, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Best place for students and professionals those who are working on project. We can explore different projects. We can easily deploy our project. Api integration is good.
What do you dislike?
Dashboard can be improved. It is little expensive as per need. Deployment takes more time. GUI can be improved
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using shippable for my project. it helps a lot
Recommendations to others considering the product:
i would recommend shippable to those who are working on project. it helps a lot


    dvip p.

Best service for developers

  • October 25, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is best service available for developers. Dockers is best product. There are so much features available in dockers. it uses less ram. It has integrations of various repositories like github and gitlab. It is easy to deploy our project.
What do you dislike?
Dockers is not isolated like VMs. It is bit expensive to those who are beginners.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using shippable for continuos deployment of my project
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend shippables to those who are building their projects regularly in different platforms


    Ranit C.

A pipeline based complete CI solution that can run on any server

  • September 02, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Shippable offers developers the ability to automate their workflow, from code review to production rollout, all without writing a single line of code. The build and deploy scripts have to be written in a separate config file which is stored alongwih the code files. This is good for portability

Shippable takes over the moment a developer pushes some code into a repository, managing all the steps needed to push the code into production. It is all automatic and no interaction is needed to build new versions, it is all trigerred by the git push into the code repository

At its core, the platform offers developers a unified, Docker (container-based) application delivery pipeline for heterogeneous source control systems, making it well-suited to unit testing, functional testing for those deploying microservices, stress testing, or security testing. The platform also supports both script and UI-based pipelines. Scripts are more configurable, whereas the visual pipelines are better for simpler cases and provides more insight into he process for everyone. I prefer the second approach for most of our projects.

Also, a feature called Lighthouse allows users to “subscribe” to a Docker image and be notified of any changes, regardless of who manages it. If a change is detected, This is again good because the developers can know that the development environment and not the codebase itself has changed. Builds triggered due to this then should be analysed separately as it is more likely a problem with the changes made in the docker image.
What do you dislike?
Because it is a Docker based solution, standard restrictions on those images always apply. So, it is often hard to find proper libraries with the required version. Even then, as the environment is created and destroyed everytime, it takes some time on every run to create the env. For non-docker based solutions, it can be cached between runs, giving a faster startup time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We host Shippable on EC2 medium instances to control the deployment flow for our interactive documentation projects. Shippable itself is very optimized and running on a powerful box means our tests take somewhere from 2 minutes to 7 minutes to complete.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are fine with Docker restrictions, Shippable is a very good solution for modern projects.


    Suresh S.

Shippable can run on all kinds of servers, hosted on in-house

  • September 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. Build on your own host - Developers can set up Docker containers on their own servers and run Shippable in there. So, you dont need to store your data in external servers, giving better security and savings.

2. Configuration file to describe builds - Builds are described in the shippable.yml file located in the root of your project. So, its more flexible and also can be stored in you code repository as it is just a plain-text file. That is, even the config code can be versioned and reviewed later. If you are coming from Travis CI, Shippable reads your .travis.yml file directly so you can try it out directly - this is a pretty nifty feature.

3. Docker integration - Shippable is built using Docker, a popular Linux container. It was originally built using it's own container but when that started to become too complex, they switched to using Docker. Since the beginning Shippable was different from other CI tools because while Shippable uses a container (Docker), traditionally CI tools have used virtual machines to manage their workloads. Running on docker means creating and destoring build environments are always a pleasure and there is no chance for any leftover from previous version.

4. It also supports testing against multiple runtimes, versions and environments for eg. different versions of the language, library and OS. So, it lets you test the code more thoroughly in many scenarios.
What do you dislike?
Currently, Shippable does not allow for build artifacts to be natively deployed to S3. This can be gotten around, however it is a rather large hole when compared to Travis and should be fixed in the future. Although it is doable with config file, it is harder to achieve.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Shippable to build, test and deploy our codebase. It is done automatically on code-push and can be pushed to staging or master server depending on user privileges.

It is easier to manage the whole process with Shippable rather than doing all of them separately manually.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Shippable runs inside Docker containers. Docker has some specific security measures which may or may not become a hindrance in using Shippable. It may be harder for users who are not very comfortable with a Linux container environment and that can create some security problems. Even for more advanced users, it's still something more that they have to address while using Shippable.


    Ravi B.

Shippable is all about flexibility

  • August 31, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like Shippable because it is a all-in-one solution for our build,packaging and deployment needs. It is easy to configure the .yml file to test the project from source code, build and package it into a binary if the tests pass and then automatically deploy it to test or master environments. It lets you automatically tag the package with version information and store all the versions for future access and rollback.
It is easy to think of it just as a deployment solution, but it also has support for test reports and a dashboard to monitor the status of previous tests and change of coverage percentage. This helps in keeping a quick tab on many projects without having to go into all the projects and analyze manually.
I also like that they have administrative permission manager to control unauthorised access from third parties that you integrate with the project. The test results can be made public without storing the keyfiles publicly.
What do you dislike?
Overall, I am impressed with the number of things they have added over time, but I would like to have integration with some more services like Heroku and DigitalOcean. It is doable with SSH, but a better solution is preferred.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Shippable is used to test and deploy our internal projects. We have tried doing it earlier by writing our own applications, but concluded that it was not the effort as many mature solutions are available on the market for a low cost.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Shippable is a good alternative to Travis CI


    Bhargav N.

Fast, simple, powerful

  • June 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the build speed as it is based on Docker and it's web hooks integration with BitBucket for reporting build status which posted by BitBucket to Slack.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes builds hang-on at node provisioning step and it generally takes a long time to complete this step.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm a sole Engineer and Developer for the project so it is important for me to have system that let's me automatically deploy code as soon as I test and push to BitBucket. This was easily solved with Shippable CI where it automates the build and deploy for me.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Shippable is simply one of the best CI and CD service out there. Their Docker based CI and CD is fast, simple and powerful.


    Entertainment

Useful when it works

  • May 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Integrates seamlessly with Github and the services we use like Ansible.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes there are non-deterministic failures like 'out of memory' or 'mongo service failed to start'.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am working on a mobile application and use Shippable as a continuous integration tool before deploying my code.


    Ross D.

Docker-based testing with easy configuration

  • May 04, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We use Shippable as Continuous Integration provider for our enterprise because we like -

A. Swap VM provider with Azure or Google APP Engine - Default VM provided by Shippable is shared in nature and unacceptable for us in terms of throughput. But, good thing is they support using other VM providers like Amazon Web Services or Google APP Engine as backend. We use AWS cluster with parallel testing to reduce our test durations.

B. Docker-focused - We have not completely moved to Docker, but we are testing docker-based project for a new client and Shippable seems to have good support for Docker. Docker hubs, both official and others are supported, their docker provisioning is fast and automatically managed. Docker configurations can be provided easily via UI, without changing code.
What do you dislike?
1. No support for older programming languages like C++ and Java are provided. So, we choose Shippable only for newer projects.

2. No self VM provider - Our custom servers cant be used with Shippable as they dont provide self-hosting options. We prefer self-hosted enterprise plans because of our large developer base.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have a project related to automatic testing of higher-end microcontrollers and as they support Linux, Docker is our best bet for running clean tests on these small devices. They are present in a special datacentre and undergoes rigorous failure tests.

Shippable helps us by making docker testing simple and provides consistent results.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Shippable is one of the best options available presently for docker testing, but if you dont need docker support, its better to look at the popular CI servers as they provide better performance for lower cost plans.


    Ben M.

Advanced CI/CD server with optional "Bring Your Own Host" Approach

  • April 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Shippable is quite different from the competition - that is the first thing that came to my mind while trying to use it. They have innovated a lot to woo both single developers and enterprises alike.

I like a few things about it:

A. Multi-language support with docker focus - Shippable is not a docker-only nor a docker-unaware platform. It detects the primary programming language of the project very swiftly, and if the project is docker-based, it picks up the docker settings too and spins up a container for the deployment process. It is quite easy to mistakenly assume that Shippable is only for docker projects, but it is not - it just integrates very well with them. Language support is quite good with python, node.js and others on the menu.

B. BYOH (Bring your own host) approach - This is where the marriage between enterprise and single users come into play - If you don't like the default VMs provided by Shippable as your testing and building platform, you can swap them out for any Azure, DigitalOcean, Google App Engine, Google Compute Engine or Heroku instance for custom experience. You can also use your on-premises architecture along with the hosted ones to get the best of both worlds. Developers want to use the popular services as VM provider and enterprises want to use their own machines for the best experience.

C. Debugging - Full access to console output for every test/build and SSH access into those machines really help in debugging when the tests fail for some unknown reason.

D. Auto-configuration from popular test config files - While setting things up, I just activated build for one project without configuring anything for Shippable. This project already had Travis and Circle CI set up for proper testing. Now, I reasonably expected this build to fail with something like "No tests found", but to my surprise it recognised one of those config files and ran all the test commands successfully. Although the test results were not collected, it was overall a pleasant surprise for me.
What do you dislike?
Shippable is overall quite nice, but I think there are still some small shortcomings that needs to be addressed -

A. Default VM was very slow to start up, took more than 2 minutes. This is quite slow compared to the competition.

B. Databases and other services are hard to install in non-dockerised test environments.

C. Not all parts of standard test config files are automatically recognised by Shippable. For eg. apt-get is not automatically detected.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are trying to move to docker for some of our new projects, but the transition is not yet complete. So, we wanted to choose some deployment platform which supported both docker and non-docker projects as that would allow us to move piece by piece over time.

Shippable looked good after some primary investigation, so we decided to give it a spin. I am happy to say that we never looked back after that - we have currently moved over 2 of our projects to shippable and they are being deployed daily. Shippable is essential to us due to its hybrid hosted plus on-premises support.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Shippable is the only popular CI server that I know of, which supports both popular VM services like Azure, AWS as well as allows you to use your own data center servers. So, whether you are a individual developer who likes to use these services or a large company who have heavily invested in their own infrastructure, Shippable will probably suite you well. It is not too much customisable though, but covers most of the cases.