Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

NetApp Cloud Backup (formerly AltaVault) AVA-c8 version 4.4.1

NetApp Inc. | 4.4.1

Linux/Unix, Other 4.4.1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

31 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Dave T.

The NetApp Trio

  • April 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We have several of the NetApp products and they all fit very well together in our environment. We use E-Series for deep and cheap storage and FAS and Solidfire for our Citrix and VM Farms
What do you dislike?
No cohesive management system between the products. Although this is true the systems provide enough management analysis for our needs
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use NetApp for our Enterprise storage and ar now close to 1 pedibyte of data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Although the cost can be high, the storage is very sound and provides us with what we need I would recommend this to any one looking for enterprise storage.


    Information Technology and Services

Easy and Nice GUI based Backup

  • February 16, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The GUI is very nice and easy to understand even for someone who's not used to of using NetApp Backup solution.
What do you dislike?
It's very slow. When you click something on the GUI, it takes lot of time to process the request. Moreover, some packages have lot of dependencies when installing on Linux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As compared to Symantec Backup, NetApp backup solution is easy to use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try this in presence of vendors from NetApp first. You might need to understand some basic stuff before using it on your own.


    Proby P.

Great snapshot and backup integration with many enterprise apps!

  • February 22, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
NetApp Snapshots lightning fast, great backup schedule with snapshot retention, fast and easy to use end user interface.
What do you dislike?
You must follow the BPG (best practices guide) otherwise snap based backups will fail!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Quick backup and recovery time, cloning of prod databases to lower environments, quick restores.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get trained and train your end user DBAs on this software, get Platinum support from NetApp, read all IAGs and BPGs and engage NetApp PS for the implementation.


    Mabel F.

DBA uses netapp back up

  • August 31, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fast and easy to backup and recover, save lots of resources
What do you dislike?
This product is expensive, not all company can afford it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Back up took too long to finish by than, netapp is way faster
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is fast to do backup for large databases


    Himanshu R.

i have arround 3 years experiens with Netapp

  • July 29, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
provides cost-effective ways to store a larger volume of data while cutting down power and cooling costs considerably.
What do you dislike?
Restoring data from tape takes a long time.
Finding a particular file or directory on tape is time consuming
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using Thin Provisioning to streamline storage provisioning to “on demand” provisioning.
Reduced data space consumption with data Deduplication.
Space saving data FlexClones for development, testing, rapid virtual machine deployment and disaster recovery.


    Ron C.

NetApp Backup and Recovery

  • July 01, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Replicating data using snapmirror to a DR site as a solution for disaster recovery. Using snapvault to backup a volume to secondary filer with denser, cheaper disks
to keep the data for a longer retention requirements is easy and fast.
What do you dislike?

The tools does what they are designed to do and it's working but would like to see more improvement in replication.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Exchange restore issues. Can restore individual emails easily
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great product must give it a try


    Jack R.

Management of NetApp Backup and Recovery needs more work.

  • June 30, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have used NetApp backup and recovery for several years. I like using the Snapshot/SnapMirror technology. It is very reliable and I quit using tapes because I used SnapMirror between two datacenters.
What do you dislike?
There is not much reporting associated with the built-in snapshot technology.

NetApp protection manager is too difficult to try to use. But it is still not as bad as SnapProtect.

If we were talking about SnapProtect, I would say that I don't like any of it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am able to restore individual files to within the last hour on CIFS and NFS volumes. This is a big win for IT when you are able to rescue a file for individuals quickly. Restores of virtual machines is also very quick.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Considering SnapProtect? Don't!

Will Snapshot and SnapMirror meet your needs? This is the right choice.


    Petros N.

NetApp Backup and Recovery

  • June 16, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of management and proved technology. Snapshots are very useful and do not take much space. Backups are instantaneous.
What do you dislike?
Tools are not up to speed with command line. They are very corky and need a lot of development. Some other tools require too much work and setup, to the point where a dedicated person is required to manage the tools.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Retention and archiving. Be able to take backups very fast and restore just as fast also be able to enable users to do the restores themselves cutting down in administration staff time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Snapshots are the best.


    Jimit G.

Excellent tool. Eases my VLDB backups to seconds

  • June 11, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Snapshot backup can replace the traditional ones. Excellent for VLDBs.
What do you dislike?
Cannot run multiple threads at a time. Need to compare the backup time of all instances on a node to avoid job failures.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Healthcare.
Easy fast and reliable backups.


    Computer Software

Expert DBA

  • June 11, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The snap backup and creating clones on the fly to test the databases is the best thing like about netapp backups
What do you dislike?
SQL snap restore when many we have many mount points and databases is very slow.
The GUI is very slow that sometimes the whole system gets struck.
We cannot restore a DB backup on a different system unless the original storage is connected.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating clones for everyday testing of applications is more helpful.