Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

MarkLogic Multi-Model Database: Enterprise Edition v.9

MarkLogic | 9.0-13.1

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux Amazon Linux 2 AMI 2.0.20190115 x86_64 HVM gp2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

22 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Dhharvi S.

NoSql Database for XML

  • June 24, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
One of the best things about Marklogic is that it is a platform independent tool, which makes it compatible will all kind of systems, and provides an option to store their data. This being a NoSQL tool, still follows all the ACID properties making it more powerful than any other tool under the same category.
What do you dislike?
To operate this tool, user needs to start learning a new language, as it works on a totally new language, which may create problem for experienced people to learn new things, going off the track. Also one thing I've observed is that they have a conditional multiple user access, which shows that multiple user access is not so easy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are storing customers data that is the conten, and the metadata to which this content belongs, in a separate manner. So for metadata storage, we are going for Marklogic, as we are receiving XML format metadata.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If people are comfortable in learning new language, they must switch to Marklogic, for storing the data in a tabular manner, using NoSQL, database.


    Prabhudayal A.

Marklogic- Modern era NoSql DB with legacy features

  • June 24, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1.Search capability.- search queries can be fired on XML and JSON, even on semi srtuctured data. Xquey personally i like the best
2.ACID property-Currently its the only NoSql database which provides this.Another leading NoSql DB HBASE dont have the feature.
3.Both horizontal and vertical scaling is supported.- Which fulfills both modern and traditional DB features.
4.Traditional features.- Backup and recovery, level of security
5.Automatic indexing of elements.- This gives a huge boost to search performance.
What do you dislike?
1.Licencing cost.
2.Space required to store data seems excessive to me.
3.The beginners will have a stiff learning curve and might have to work hard to have a hold on the tool.
Nothing much for dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have configured marklogic with nuxeo. So metadata of our emails,chat and fax are being stored in marklogic and the data itself in nuxeo.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ya , i ll recommend this product. But you have to decide where cost comes to picture. If your company or client are willing to spend then this will be the best.


    Saugandh K.

Great option as a NoSQL enterprise DB

  • June 23, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The variety of access methods Java API like Node.js, Client API, ODBC, RESTful HTTP API ,SPARQL, WebDAV,XDBC ,XQuery and XSLT. The concept of Role-based access control at the document level is also sokmehting which I liked.
What do you dislike?
The licencing cost. That would be a dislike. Also I could not find enough connectors for Marklogic. Also the deserializing/serializing data into and out of the internal data model but then that also helps in easy retrieval, hence it cuts out.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are storing the metadata of Chats, fax and mails along with some documents. Also the metadata for videos calls are also stored in the database.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Would recommend if used to store metadata. It is really good. specially the


    Sushant D.

Powerful NoSQL Database

  • June 22, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Marklogic is a no SQL database which is platform independent, so it can be used on any kind of OS which meets it's system requirements. Thus it can ingest from any kind of source.
It can be used for various purposes like app data management, data storage and view data in a graphical manner. Sharding of data can be done and replication of data is also done in marklogic. It follows the ACID property of data base management system. Marklogic is used mainly for storing of XML received, and is considered as one of the best NoSQL tools available in the market
What do you dislike?
In Mark logic, we don't have the provision of multiple user having access at the same time. In some conditional types only this can be incorporated. The programming language used is totally different (brat), which gets a bit complex for experienced people in learning new language.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Mark Logic as the back end data base to store the Metadata, of customers. The content is stored in Nuxeo and as we are aware that mark logic can ingest data from most of the data sources so it provides an ease in moving from traditional storage system to marklogic.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend Marklogic to others, as it is the only NoSQL tool which provides so much ease in managing data and ingesting from any data source.


    Suraj D.

A true NO SQL Enterprise solution

  • May 12, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The three consoles at different ports I like 8000,8001 and 8002
What do you dislike?
The way to see the data, that I have stored to be precise , the unstructured data.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we needed a backend solution for storing the metadata.
We integrated marklogic as a database for Nuxeo.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is the best Enterprise level software and has a built in search feature.


    ankit k.

NoSQL is better and it is the future

  • February 13, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
As the definition of the product say,
It is a NOSQL Enterprise DB with government grade security.
It can scale vertically as well as horizontally and many options to access to the marklogic like many servers support are there.

Support to various technologies like javascript, sql xqery
What do you dislike?
The community needs to grow.

There is nothing that you can dislike, it just very handy and Xquery can build a single tier application of its own.
Its just amazing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We wanted some archival to store metadata of the pdf, So that we can search through it continuously and efficiently.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should use the http app server its easy


    Computer Software

Great Document and XML Storage solutions!

  • October 24, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a rock solid document store. Great indexing capabilities and great queuing ability of documents.
What do you dislike?
Mark Logic needs some work with their triple store based approach. Some of the SPARQL commands are to Mark Logic specific and not based on generally accepted methods.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Storage and retrieval of clinical information.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great document store, great XML storage ... not so great when it comes to RDF. But, their technical support team is always willing to work with your approach. Give them a shot, you will not be disappointed!


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Makes me smile

  • April 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MarkLogic 6 is an Enterprise NoSQL (“Not Only SQL”) database that has the flexibility and scalability to handle today’s data challenges that SQL-based databases were not designed to handle. It also has enterprise-grade capabilities like search, ACID transactions, failover, replication, and security to run mission-critical applications. MarkLogic combines database functionality, search, and application services in a single system. It provides the functionality enterprises need to deliver value. MarkLogic leverages existing tools, knowledge, and experience while providing a reliable, scalable, and secure platform for mission-critical data.
What do you dislike?
There isn't anything about it that I don't like.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Flexibility and stability
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MarkLogic 6 is an Enterprise NoSQL (“Not Only SQL”) database that has the flexibility and scalability to handle today’s data challenges that SQL-based databases were not designed to handle. It also has enterprise-grade capabilities like search, ACID transactions, failover, replication, and security to run mission-critical applications. MarkLogic combines database functionality, search, and application services in a single system. It provides the functionality enterprises need to deliver value. MarkLogic leverages existing tools, knowledge, and experience while providing a reliable, scalable, and secure platform for mission-critical data.


    Information Technology and Services

Senior Product Manager

  • April 06, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It seems to be a solid and robust database system and we don't really have a lot of issues with it.
What do you dislike?
I'm not sure that the language packs are as robust as they need to be. They are also expensive for under-proven software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use MarkLogic as an operational data store to build search products on.


    Entertainment

One of the best products I've ever worked with

  • March 31, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's reliable, well supported by an expert support team, quick to develop with, provides wholistic features(search+database+application), supports both xml and json.
What do you dislike?
Though MarkLogic strives hard to provide the best tools, compared to other databases, it still lags in open source tools due to the fact that it's an expensive proprietary database. Also currently http is the only protocol through which code running in MarkLogic can talk with.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Currently we're using MarkLogic as a one stop shop for all the metadata about our products, assets, etc. This metadata is being served to customers who need the metadata in a specific format(be it xml, spreadsheet, json). Also we use MarkLogic for developing internal portals which require these metadata as well.

Benefits
Being able to develop webservices using XQuery helps write complex functionalities that run close to the database layer and ends up performing very well. The amount of time it requires to bootstrap an application/database using MarkLogic is very less compared to other databases and programming languages. MarkLogic is viewed very highly in our company due to the quick turn around by our MarkLogic Support Team for new application development as well as enhancements.