Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Advantage - Essential

Canonical Group Limited | 1

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

908 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Shiv Dutt S.

Excelent and Secure

  • June 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is lite to use and free of viruses and other things
What do you dislike?
The graphic needs to be improved and there is a heating problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I do coding with the help of ubuntu. It is easy to use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes Sure


    Swoichha A.

Best opensource OS

  • June 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using Ubuntu Linux for over two years now, and it is the best OS I have used by far. It doesn't have much to its GUI, but as a developer, I can do much more through its CLI. It works smoothly and is way more secure than any other OS that I have used.
What do you dislike?
There is not much to dislike about it. However, some of the software is not available or not supported by Ubuntu. There are few apps that I can find for Windows but are not available for Ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Ubuntu every day for work (developing software) and any other task like making a PowerPoint presentation. It is easier in Ubuntu to install any required packages and dependencies through CLI for developing and deploying a project no matter which programming language I use.


    Rifad R.

Simple, Elegant and Free

  • June 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The User Interface is very good for those who are moving from a different Operating system. There are not a lot of things on the GUI for basic users. Still the advanced users can go beyond the professional level. I have used the system for Android development as well my office work. Both were smooth and almost all the applications I need for the work purposes are already there. So for me, it was easy to switch just by installing relevant browsers and applications.
What do you dislike?
The application Eco system can be improved with quality apps. The leading apps I am missing are Adobe and Microsoft. They are almost irreplaceable even though we have LibreOffice and GIMP. Ubuntu Software application store should go beyond this basic setup. It should be like Play Store where we should be getting all the application for the device in a single place and no need to go through the trouble of manual installation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Resource allocation is much better and can be used with low-power devices which are older. I have a device that is just Pentium dual-core and the applications still ran smoothly. Having an SSD will boost the overall experience with the OS. For Office and work purposes as well as personal purposes, I used Ubuntu for a long time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The way Ubuntu Team works even though they are providing the software for free is an admirable work. I suggest other software follo the same path to acheive this. Ubuntu should be the primary consideration if you are looking to use an operating that is desirable for both Personal and work purposes.


    Research

Excellent operating system I ever used.

  • June 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
simplicity, full authentication, custom setup and command line working style.
What do you dislike?
UI is so ordinary but we liked after sometime.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I prepared so many big data project which utilizes apache frame works like Hadoop, spark, hive etc
Recommendations to others considering the product:
yes One of the best operating system for big data researcher with high security and privacy.


    Yash Kumar S.

OpenSource and High Performance

  • May 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is the best OS for developers.
Most of the thing which is built and tested first in the Ubuntu or Unix Platform.
It is user friendly, easy to use and more friendly.
With the same OS you can built your OS underlying the same OS properites.
It is highly used in all the fileds like Computer, networks, softwares etc.
You will get the regular updates of the OS
The security and threat virus protection is very good in the OS
There are lots of built-in tools available and also you can download free from Cloud.
Linux command, platform is overall good and best Os to work, learn and grow.
What do you dislike?
It is not used as everyone for work. Not much very intractive GUI for new users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu is free and easily available.
No license is required to support any other sources Apps.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu is good for developing products.
This platform is highely reliable and easy of use.
It is free and Open Source.
With the same OS you can built your OS underlying the same OS properites.
It is highly used in all the fileds like Computer, networks, softwares etc.


    Internet

Ubuntu IPv6 Reviewg

  • May 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the community support. The long-term updates. The look of the OS. It is easy to set up and use. It is easy to update, and almost all apps are there, and it is easy to correct them. The internet full of ubuntu tutorials, and it is accessible to follow. If I come across a problem, when I google, it is easy to find the solution.
What do you dislike?
Lack of proper IPv6 support and the forcing of snap apps. The keyserver of ubuntu still does not support IPv6. So it is pain to deploy it in an IPv6 only envornment. The snap apps automatically updates and cause our data packs vanish. and it also creates uneessary volumes and it is very hard to maintain the disks.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are building new apps. It is easy to deploy new sofware. It is easy to setup cluster and AWS already support it ver well.


    Muhammad M.

A User Friendly Operating System for work purpose.

  • May 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I loved to use it since it is a user-friendly operating system.
The most required application had been preinstalled like Libre Office(Presentation, Draw, Writer, and Calc). It is a cost-efficient OS. We
The frequent kernel update make Ubuntu support the most recent hardware.
What do you dislike?
Not all application which runs on Windows can run on Ubuntu. But we can use Wine(Windows Emulator) to emulate some Windows based applications.
Many vendor provides their Ubuntu version.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I need to develop a program using Python, using Ubuntu I can easily install Python, code using it, and finished the program, and got the payment.

I realized that nowadays many servers are using Ubuntu, so my familiarity with Ubuntu gives me many benefits, so I can easily install a lot of applications on a Ubuntu server.


    Nilanga C.

G2 Review Ubuntu

  • May 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is free and features that are mist suited for users. I have used both the desktop version and the server
What do you dislike?
Nothing so far. there are some incompatibilities with drivers but its less than before
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Ubuntu as an alternative to windows. so far the line is quite thin so to speak.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
be flexible to use alternative and be able to understand the CLI


    Naveen K.

Ubuntu free OS - No risk

  • May 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It can run From virtual drive as CD storage were we need security and more reliable to work as in any place and computer
What do you dislike?
Not user friendly because user interface not looks so attractive as more compatability with new user and learner as in it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sudden corrupt of OS I will run as need of copying the files from hard disk and virtually I can run without make it as storage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Not recommended for commercial purpose and user friendly as use ease of access


    Rahul K.

Best Linux based OS and most of the software are available to install in it..

  • May 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Most of the open source software are available to install in it and it is available as WSL in windows to use without actually installing it as OS.
What do you dislike?
We have to run apt-get update most of the time to update it's remote sources. And have to remember it, sources are outdated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I write automation shell scripts for my day to day work. We run many webservers on it. It is easy to integrate it with any configuration I tool e.g. Ansible and manage it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Almost all opensource software have their integration with ubuntu and have their document to install it in ubuntu by running couple of commands. It's easy to use OS.