Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Application Resource Management for AWS

Turbonomic | 6.4.15

Linux/Unix, Other CenOS 7.6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

48 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Eric W.

Turbonomic maximizes utilization; reduces waste

  • May 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It prevents over and under provisioning of VM's automatically. It also helps in workload placement and storage optimization. In more than one case it located orphaned, and temporary files in our infrastructure that were consuming an excessive amount of space unnecessarily.
What do you dislike?
The scheduler for actions that require reboots could be implemented better. Identifying the proper way to handle non disruptable and selectively disruptable workloads can be a challenge. Also, I think the VM targeting could be improved on . Writing queries to target VM's while very powerful, is not the most intuitive method of targeting resources.

While the product now does support cloud platform management, as of the time I wrote this, it only supports VM infrastructure in the cloud. We do not use this currently as we have chose to stick to service offerings only in the cloud and therefor we cannot yet benefit from the cloud and multi cloud offering.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We reduce wasteful spending and performance issues by automatically right sizing VM's and optimizing workload placement. This has allowed us to run a more efficient datacenter in many ways, from consumption, to new hardware purchases, to future hardware planning, to labor hours consumed not having many of the aspects managed manually.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would encourage getting additional training and implementation services. The value the Turbonomic team can provide on how to get the most out of the product is well worth the investment. In many cases they can offer additional assistance post implementation.


    Scott J.

Great product, its almost set and forget

  • May 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I personally like the fact that once you have your rules defined you really don't have to do any thing else with it, its automation handles the majority of your needs on its own. The fact that it isn't threshold based also adds great flexibility as it guarantees the optimal usage across everything available.
What do you dislike?
My only detractor is the lack of custom reporting that is available in the current version. They are supposed to be adding that feature back in in a future version.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Over allocation and continual right sizing needs of virtual machines. We have allowed Turbonomic to handle all sizing using its automation so when we have requests we simply tell folks that its handled objectively will size as appropriate. It has cut our workload in this area by 95%
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just put it in and give it a try in read-only mode and see what it recommends. You would be surprised what feedback you get from it within 30 minutes


    Tim S.

Next-level workload automation

  • May 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability for Turbonomic to constantly monitor both on-prem and off-prem workloads to assure performance and optimize our infrastructure and costs is great. While we are still rolling out the automation, the benefits already gained are great!
What do you dislike?
There are several key data points that we have needed to download or export into a spreadsheet but the UI is very limited in that regard. There are a few widgets that allow for exporting the data to csv or xls but not nearly enough. Also, the reports are pretty basic and not very easy to work with.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
So far we have used Turbonomic to better balance our infrastructure by automating workload placements. We have also automated scale up/down actions for a couple non-prod environments. We are also using Turbo to run capacity plans and migrate to cloud plans.


    Construction

Why we love Turbonomic

  • February 27, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature of Turbonomic is workload automation. Using this we are able to automate rightsizing of production workloads. This works immediately for on-premise workloads and can be scheduled for out of hour for Cloud and disruptive resizes (resize down on-premise for example).
Additionally, the ability to plan workload migrations between on premise locations or to public cloud is extremely useful to ensure the success of migrations and clearly visualise costs associated with that activity.
What do you dislike?
Scheduling of workloads in public cloud requires additional effort over and above that for on premise workloads and could be made simpler.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Initially we reduced physical on-premise infrastructure with our first deployment with produced an ROI within 3 months of deployment. As we matured with the deployment and invested in a public cloud use cases we were able to make significant savings (more than £200,000 per year) on our cloud running costs using the workload resizing capabilities of Turbonomic.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Run a POC in your environment as the tool will show results within 24-48 hours of setup which will most likely provide all the evidence you need of its value.


    Primary/Secondary Education

Turbonomic

  • February 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The wide range of things this product can do. From reporting on the performance of an environment, to automating the migration of VMs, to planning workload migrations, to planning deployments, the list goes on and on!
What do you dislike?
When they upgraded to a new version, they dropped several built-in dashboards. Although you can still login to the old interface and access them, I'd like the dashboards to be available in the new version as well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I keep finding new things that I can gather information for. From finding out when I'm going to need to add resources to an environment, to planning a workload migration from one datacenter to another, or even automating the vMotion of VMs to better balance a cluster. Great tool!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The best application to let automation control your critical virtual workload.


    Information Technology and Services

Does a fine job, much simpler than vROps

  • February 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Set it and forget it. Ok we're not cooking a turkey, but this product doesn't require a lot of attention to do its job.
What do you dislike?
Placement automation using Turbonomic conflicts with StorageDRS even on minimal settings, but I need StorageDRS on to have a datastore cluster object. They don't play completely nicely together.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automation, it's like having an extra set of hands to handle resizing for you. The planning tools are very good too, we used it to determine what equipment to buy when upgrading our datacenter.


    Richard R.

Turbonomic is my virtual co-worker

  • February 20, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The lack of late night outage calls now that all of our systems resources are better allocated.
What do you dislike?
I forget it's there and have not spent enough time with the Web UI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The 2,000 VM's spread across our forty Cisco UCS servers now uniformly utilize 70% of available resources. Our two-man administration team no longer receive outage calls in the middle of the night. Our SLA's with our customers are now reasonably attained.


    Information Services

Decent Product

  • February 20, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's good for right-sizing your vms, it's affordable, and not nearly as cumbersome as the vSphere solution.
What do you dislike?
The user interface leaves a bit to be desired, the old one and the new one.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Right-sizing VMs automatically reduces resource constraint on VMs and improves application performance.


    Information Technology and Services

Must have for larger vSphere environment

  • February 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great resource management and optimazation for larger vsphere environments. Powerful and it can save you buying additional ESX hosts.
What do you dislike?
rather complex and the html interface is not yet in par with the old flash interface.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
improved stability, performance and better resource management.
It also helped optimizing the usage of our ESX hosts.


    Consumer Services

Set it and forget

  • February 14, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The "hands off" approach: we set what we want Turbonomic to do with automation, and it just runs and does everything to optimize our environment.
What do you dislike?
I am still not overly comfortable with the newer UI, and I also would prefer more reporting options.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Optimize our VMware environment and avoid performance issues with a lean staff. We've seen a lot of use with more intelligent load balancing other than just VMware DFS.