Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Matillion ETL for Snowflake

Starting from $1.37/hr or from $9,950.00/yr (17% savings) for software + AWS usage fees

Matillion ETL for Snowflake makes loading and transforming data on Snowflake fast, easy, and affordable. Prices start at $1.37/hour with no commitments or upfront costs. Need to cut your ETL development time in half and shave months off your projects? No problem. The AMI takes less than five minutes... See more

Customer Reviews

22
Create Your Own Review

Some of the valuable features are mid-pipeline data sampling and automatic database-object verification.

  • By RichardWilliams
  • on 01/14/2019

* It enabled an enterprise data-warehouse to be set up and operated, quickly and cheaply.
* The pipeline UI provides a means to present solutions to analysts and non-tech management for review and agreement.
What is most valuable?
* It works well with AWS Redshift: I have used Informatica, SnapLogic, and Talend and they do not work well with Redshift.
* Mid-pipeline data sampling: Without changes to pipelines, one can quickly and easily track down errors.
* Automatic database-object verification: A fundamental part of how Matillion works is ensuring objects, tables, columns, views, and other metadata are ready and available for use if, and when, a pipeline is started.
* Run-time parameters: These enable pipelines to be organized and modularized with minimum effort.
* An array of source-data components: Pulling data from wide tables, such as SFDC, can be setup in seconds. Using Sqoop to pull data to S3, for example, can take hours or even weeks to get right. It is worth noting that Matillion does not cost more if you need more source-data components (SFDC, Marketo, Google AdWords, RDS, MongoDB, etc.).
* A wide array of in-database DDLs and UDFs accessible from ETL are able to process unstructured data easily, without having to resort to EMR/Hadoop solutions.
* Integration with other AWS services: It can use Amazon SQS or SNS very easily to extend capabilities, such as doing micro-batch imports (near real-time updates) from source-systems.
* Python components using Boto and other libraries running on Matillion’s EC2: Matillion can push data from a data warehouse, via REST APIs, to target systems like DynamoDB and Marketo.
What needs improvement?
Compared to the likes of traditional ETLs, like Informatica, SnapLogic, and Talend, or even raw Python scripts, this product needs no improvement, as it is so much better.
Any new product like this has teething problems that get solved pretty quickly in the next release. Better user documentation with more examples would be helpful, especially in areas with run-time parameters or JavaScript inserts.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
There have been some issues with stability over the first year, but Matillion support is very responsive. I have allowed them to log into our system on occasion.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
There are no issues with scalability if one strictly does all transformations in-database, using Redshift’s DDL/SQL.
All the ‘heavy-lifting’ is done by Redshift, as it is MPP. Simply adding more nodes deals with scalability. It is worth noting that Matillion does not cost more if you add more Redshift nodes.
If one uses Python components (as opposed to UDFs), one may encounter scalability issues.
The CPU utilization in WatchTower, of Matillion’s single EC2 (it is not, itself, MPP), will peak. Therefore, it is best to keep a close watch over what your data engineers are doing with Python components.
How is customer service and technical support?
I would give technical support a rating of 5/5.
Which solutions did we use previously?
We used Informatica, SnapLogic, and Talend. They do not work well with Redshift and they cost more. They do not understand MPP and much of what they do is outside of Redshift, i.e., not in-database.
You need to put them on a bigger EC2 or buy multiple licenses and have multiple EC2s to manage, in order to get scalability.
How was the initial setup?
The initial setup was very straightforward, as it’s all done from the AWS Marketplace. A wizard steps you through the process of setup. Due to Matillion’s clean and clear architecture, there is not much to configure before one is up and running.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Regardless of the quantity of your data, the size of your cluster, or variety of source systems, the price of Matillion is the same.
The only variable that changes what you pay Matillion is the size of your data engineering team.
* If your team is just one or two people, then you can just use the [t2.medium @ $1.37/hr]
* If you have a bigger team, you will need [m4.large @ $2.74/hr] or even [m4.xlarge @ $5.48/hr].
As soon as you can, lock in the yearly discounted price with Matillion, as your level of support availability will increase.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We evaluated Informatica, SnapLogic, Talend, Sqoop, and pure Python scripts. Don’t go with any of these if your data can be categorized as any two of the following: volume, variety, and velocity.
What other advice do I have?
* Experiment and test it ASAP
* Watch all the videos from Matillion
* Join their webinar series
* Talk with existing users


It can scale up/down Snowflake warehouses

  • By Luis H.
  • on 01/13/2019

* ETL process
* Data warehouse
How has it helped my organization?
It has improved the costs of managing my customer’s data.
What is most valuable?
* Analytics
* Integration with SAP and AWS.
What needs improvement?
It needs integration with more data sources. I would also like a better UI because it is complicated to manage it.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It makes loading and transforming data on Snowflake very fast, easy, and affordable. It is also stable.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It can scale up/down Snowflake warehouses. My client’s size is a mid-sized environment.
How was the initial setup?
It takes less than five minutes to set up and delivers results. It is much quicker than traditional ETL technologies. It loads data into Snowflake from dozens of sources, including S3 and RDS, multiple databases, and APIs.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Purchasing this solution through the AWS Marketplace was quick and easy.
It was procured through the AWS Marketplace because it keeps things simple. They offer retail-like checkout and bill through your existing Amazon Web Services account.
The AWS pricing and licensing are a cost-effective solution for data integration needs.
What other advice do I have?
It is perfect for when you need your data to never leave your environment using a robust tool. It also ensures the best security practices are deployed within your AWS account.


It is able data sync reliably and ensures that we are compliant with our legal requirements

  • By SeniorIn7f6d
  • on 12/31/2018

We use it to migrate data from in-house databases and other data sources into Amazon Redshift.
How has it helped my organization?
* It is able data sync reliably.
* It ensures that we are compliant with our legal requirements.
What is most valuable?
* It is pretty user-friendly, even for people who aren't super technical.
* It has good integrations with Amazon Redshift and other AWS services.
What needs improvement?
* It could have better integrations with other databases and other services.
* I would like to have more customization available.
* Going forward, I would like them to add custom jobs, since we still have to run these outside of Matillion.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It is very stable. We have not had to deal with many issues.
It is running at almost 100% CPU for most of the night. So, it is fairly stressed.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It scales okay. It takes up a good amount of computing resources while it is running, but we wouldn't have too much trouble giving it a little more if it needed it. We have a lot of data, therefore it is hard for me to guess how much we send through it.
How is customer service and technical support?
I haven't personally dealt with the support.
How was the initial setup?
The integrations with a lot of the AWS tools, services, and databases are very convenient.
It works with DynamoDB, Redshift, Salesforce, and Aurora databases. It has good integrations with all of these.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Purchasing it through the AWS Marketplace is pretty convenient. There is a little bit of back and forth in terms of the licensing based on the machine size, but it seems to have worked out well. it is convenient to have it all as part of our AWS billing.
It is not necessarily a cheap solution. However, it's reasonable priced, especially with the smaller machines that we run it on.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We also evaluated Xplenty.
We chose Xplenty because we wanted to able to have the data live in our VPC, through our network, and not exit our network. Also, the cost was good.
What other advice do I have?
It does the things that it does fairly well, but it would be nice to have some more features, like custom jobs.


The product is easy enough to use that we don't always have to get a technical person involved

  • By Engineer2076
  • on 12/25/2018

Our primary use case is ETL.
How has it helped my organization?
We allow non-technical people to use Matillion to load data into our data warehouse for reporting. Thus, it is easy enough to use that we don't always have to get a technical person involved in setting up a data movement (ETL).
What is most valuable?
Its ease of use.
What needs improvement?
In the next release, we would like to have connections to more databases.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It seems very stable. We have never had any problems.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
We have about 4000 employees.
How is customer service and technical support?
I have never dealt with the technical support.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration of this product on our AWS environment is very easy to do and flexible.
It integrates extremely well with Amazon Redshift.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
It was very easy to purchase through the AWS Marketplace, but it was also expensive.
The prices needs to be lower.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We did not consider any other products.
What other advice do I have?


It is easy to learn and has good technical support

  • By Harpreet S.
  • on 12/24/2018

Bringing data from different sources onto our Snowflake data warehouse.
How has it helped my organization?
* It has helped us avoid a lot of red tape due to compliance.
* It has helped us to get onto the cloud quickly.
What is most valuable?
* It is pretty easy to learn.
* No scripting is required.
* Being cloud native.
What needs improvement?
It is not an end-to-end platform for ETL. It brings in the data. To complete the pipeline, they might want to include some connectors which would put the data into different platforms. This would be helpful.
We are working with different platforms. Most of the connectors that we are looking for are included, but sometimes scripting is required. The good thing is we can reach out to support and have them create the custom connector for us. This can probably be improved.
For how long have I used the solution?
Less than one year.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
We do not put much stress on it. We run it as a batch right now and spin it up on demand. So, we run it for three hours, then we shut it down. It is not real-time, and there is not a lot of streaming as of now, but it is running in the batch.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The size of our environment is not big. We started six months back. Right now, we only use one node, which is moving the data onto our data warehouse in Snowflake. This node is also very small at this time.
Eventually, we will grow big and quickly, because we just had our three drugs approved. Therefore, a lot of data is going to come over. We will be moving this over to our data warehouse, which will need to increase significantly.
How is customer service and technical support?
The technical support treats us well. They already have a support portal, and they are responsive, which helps.
Which solutions did we use previously?
We haven't used any of the on-premise solutions. What we used before was SQL Server Integration Service (SSIS), and when we were moving to the cloud, we wanted to use something that was cloud native (AWS).
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration of this product in our AWS environment was excellent.
We are integrating it with SQL Server and the data coming in is from the on-premise file server. That's what we are connect with right now. Eventually, we will be pulling the data from Google Cloud and Twitter.
What was our ROI?
We are still in the process of moving the data over, so there are no data points as of now.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
You probably don't even need to reach out to the company sometimes to purchase it. You can go to the AWS Marketplace. It's very easy to spin up, and the configuration is also easy. It spins up in your own AWS account. The only way you can get the product now is via the AWS Marketplace.
Their pricing is simple. They charge you by the hour. Whatever EC2 instance time that you have been running it for, that's what it's going to charge you for. The licensing is not based off of the per user or per server. They are going by the type of instance you spin up and how long you've been running it, so easy peasy.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
The other products that we considered were SSIS and Informatica.
We chose Matillion because of the flexibility of the data and the company does not store data on its platform. As a life sciences company, which is HIPAA compliant, we didn't want to move the data over to the platform, so that's why we selected Matillion. It also has additional components that we did not have to pay for, as those features are included with the data. We can scale horizontally with it.
What other advice do I have?
Give it a shot. See how easy it is to get started with the product, because the scripting which is required is minimal. Anybody who is familiar with the SQL Server platform and with SQL scripting can easily pick it up and run with it,


It saves a lot of money and our upfront costs are less. Performance can be improved for efficiency, and it can be made faster.

  • By Neel V.
  • on 12/09/2018

We use it for archiving and storing data.
How has it helped my organization?
"It has made our lives much easier," This is what my teammates who were using the other stuff before have said. Then, they moved it to Snowflake. Now, it is much easier and faster to use than before.
What is most valuable?
It is cost-effective. Based on our use case, it's efficient and cheap. It saves a lot of money and our upfront costs are less.
What needs improvement?
* Performance can be improved for efficiency, and it can be made faster.
* Latency could be reduced. Sometimes, it takes longer to fetch data out of it. There are network issues because we experience a little lag.
* While the UI is good, it could be improved in its efficiency and made easier to use.
* It can be used by different consumers. So, I would recommend to the company to promote more, because people don't know much about it. If they promote more, they can sell it. They need more marketing.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It is pretty stable, but you can't blindly rely on it. On a scale of one to ten, I rate it around an eight.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It can scale to a great extent. It can handle the load that we are putting on it, which is about 5TBs.
How is customer service and technical support?
The technical support was good at troubleshooting. The issue that was sent to them was resolved in a couple of days, so it was resolved quickly.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration was pretty easy. It was completed in about two months.
What was our ROI?
It saves a lot of time.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
I have heard from my manager and other higher ups, "This product is cheaper than other things on the market," and they have done the research.
What other advice do I have?
Anybody can help to configure and train on it, learning how to use it. This will help speed up the process.


Easy to use product; Helped us go to market quickly

  • By Jon F
  • on 11/26/2018

We use Matillion for moving data from our Azure-hosted transactional db into Snowflake. With this tool's ease of use and great features, we are able to iterate quickly and continuously widen the scope of our data warehouse. The Matillion team is also constantly rolling out new features and quick to answer any support tickets that I submit. Overall a great tool and worth the price.


A game-changer for delivering a data platform quickly

  • By Samuel Riggs
  • on 11/20/2018

I have worked with Matillion (first for Redshift but mostly for Snowflake) for 18 months and I've delivered two enterprise data warehouses using it. I believe that for greenfield clients there is nothing better to deliver value quickly. The simple fact is that Matillion delivers on what the cloud has promised for more than five years but rarely lived up to: pay for what you use. Anyone who understands data (perhaps having done some DB work/ETL before) can pick up Matillion easily, which has been very handy for us when we hand over delivered systems or help clients to bring their staff up to speed quickly.

Over 18 months Matillion has changed a lot and along the way I've developed good relationships with the support team and been helped - both in training and in support - significantly throughout the journey.

I'm excited about the future roadmap for Matillion and I think as the product matures it will be an even stronger way to deliver value for clients.


Simple, Efficient and Extensible ETL

  • By Raja Sama (Envera)
  • on 11/19/2018

Before Matillion, we were trying few ETL products in the market, as we started POC with Matillion for Snowflake, we were impressed with features this tool offered.

Once the basics and components are understood, you can create almost any extract, load and transformation job imaginable by simply dragging components over from the tool palette and configuring them together.
Wide variety of source connections which covers all of the sources we use at our organization. As Matillion leverages Snowflake compute (Warehouse), we can control peak hour data extraction processes.

Efficient data pipelines cut down hours of data ingestion to minutes with Matillion. Adequate documentation and community support. I would definitely recommend this ETL product.


A Fully-Featured ETL Tool

  • By Max
  • on 11/16/2018

I have been building out a new data environment for my company and I was having a lot of trouble with the ETL layer - the previous vendor I was using did not allow for anything more complex than "move data from point A to point B on a fixed schedule". It was incredibly limiting and was causing me plenty of issues.

Enter Matillion, a tool that truly allows you fine-tuned control over the entire ETL process from start to finish. Matillion is incredibly flexible in how it allows you to build your ETL jobs. For instance, I have a data generation job in my source database that must complete before I can pick up the data. In my old ETL system, I had to hardcode the schedule based on my best guess as to when the job completion time would be. But within Matillion, I can query the source database to see if the job has completed before running the data extraction portion. This not only makes the data available sooner, it also means that I don't run the risk of missing a data load.

In addition Matillion has integration with AWS functionality, meaning I can use SQS for job triggers and SNS for e-mails about job successes and failures. Matillion also has native integration with Snowflake features, like ALTER WAREHOUSE which we now run on a schedule. Finally, Matillion has become our centralized Python script environment - before Matillion, we were using Windows Task Scheduler which is obviously not ideal.

Lastly, Matillion has excellent support and documentation - most answers to questions I have exist in some documentation online, or if not, their support has never taken more than an hour to get back to me during business hours.

I've had an extremely positive experience with the tool and I cannot recommend it enough!