Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Matillion ETL for Snowflake

Matillion | 1.47.6

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

22 AWS reviews

External reviews

6 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Matillion makes data transformations easy!

  • August 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, graphical interface makes creating data workflows easy and fun!
What do you dislike?
Can be difficult to collaborate with teammates...available tools don't provide much info on potential merge conflicts.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Pulling client data from various sources and transforming it for our own software.


    Vibhuti P.

Application Review

  • August 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best user interface and user freindly. Nice customer support. Also like suggestions while working in it. Best part is it is browser - based UI with modern technologies.
What do you dislike?
Little lagging part rest all other is great.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were about to built our project on cloud database platforms including Amazon Redshift, Google BigQuery, and Snowflake.Also, used to to large convert (transform) databases from one format or type to another. And we wanted best platform and Matillion ETL solved that problem.


    Michael S.

Great for moving data to Snowflake, but not OUT of Snowflake

  • December 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has a very easy graphic interface, and it integrates really well with Snowflake. It is also nice that it runs in a Web browser and on AWS.
What do you dislike?
While it provides excellent ability to move data into Snowflake, it does not provide much ability to get data out to integrate with other endpoints. It's mostly one-directional. That might meet the needs for some clients, but not all. Also, the pricing model is difficult for light usage clients. It is charged based on the time the virtual machine is turned on, not by how many jobs or computing resources are being used.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Matillion allowed us to very quickly and easily get our data pipelined into Snowflake data warehouse from a variety of sources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Think about whether you are looking for a data pipeline into Snowflake, or looking for a full integration (iPaaS) tool. Matillion is outstanding as a one-direction data pipeline, but is not an integration tool.


    Martin H.

Fits us perfectly

  • April 01, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The node-based UI is a great way to set up and schedule tasks, from the simple to the increasingly complicated.
What do you dislike?
The powering-up or scheduling of the virtual machines is not easy, and I rely on our tech team to do this for me when needed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
ETL, picking up data from various sources, transforming, and dropping into our virtual data lake layer.


    Marketing and Advertising

Matillion ETL Experience

  • March 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
it has good features and working good with amazon redshift database.
What do you dislike?
The product is not having any looping methodologies comparing with latest ipass tools.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Integrating data with several sources and aggregate data in the facts.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
looping needs to be keep in place and scheduling should easier.


    RichardWilliams

Some of the valuable features are mid-pipeline data sampling and automatic database-object verification.

  • January 14, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

* It enabled an enterprise data-warehouse to be set up and operated, quickly and cheaply.
* The pipeline UI provides a means to present solutions to analysts and non-tech management for review and agreement.
What is most valuable?
* It works well with AWS Redshift: I have used Informatica, SnapLogic, and Talend and they do not work well with Redshift.
* Mid-pipeline data sampling: Without changes to pipelines, one can quickly and easily track down errors.
* Automatic database-object verification: A fundamental part of how Matillion works is ensuring objects, tables, columns, views, and other metadata are ready and available for use if, and when, a pipeline is started.
* Run-time parameters: These enable pipelines to be organized and modularized with minimum effort.
* An array of source-data components: Pulling data from wide tables, such as SFDC, can be setup in seconds. Using Sqoop to pull data to S3, for example, can take hours or even weeks to get right. It is worth noting that Matillion does not cost more if you need more source-data components (SFDC, Marketo, Google AdWords, RDS, MongoDB, etc.).
* A wide array of in-database DDLs and UDFs accessible from ETL are able to process unstructured data easily, without having to resort to EMR/Hadoop solutions.
* Integration with other AWS services: It can use Amazon SQS or SNS very easily to extend capabilities, such as doing micro-batch imports (near real-time updates) from source-systems.
* Python components using Boto and other libraries running on Matillion’s EC2: Matillion can push data from a data warehouse, via REST APIs, to target systems like DynamoDB and Marketo.
What needs improvement?
Compared to the likes of traditional ETLs, like Informatica, SnapLogic, and Talend, or even raw Python scripts, this product needs no improvement, as it is so much better.
Any new product like this has teething problems that get solved pretty quickly in the next release. Better user documentation with more examples would be helpful, especially in areas with run-time parameters or JavaScript inserts.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
There have been some issues with stability over the first year, but Matillion support is very responsive. I have allowed them to log into our system on occasion.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
There are no issues with scalability if one strictly does all transformations in-database, using Redshift’s DDL/SQL.
All the ‘heavy-lifting’ is done by Redshift, as it is MPP. Simply adding more nodes deals with scalability. It is worth noting that Matillion does not cost more if you add more Redshift nodes.
If one uses Python components (as opposed to UDFs), one may encounter scalability issues.
The CPU utilization in WatchTower, of Matillion’s single EC2 (it is not, itself, MPP), will peak. Therefore, it is best to keep a close watch over what your data engineers are doing with Python components.
How is customer service and technical support?
I would give technical support a rating of 5/5.
Which solutions did we use previously?
We used Informatica, SnapLogic, and Talend. They do not work well with Redshift and they cost more. They do not understand MPP and much of what they do is outside of Redshift, i.e., not in-database.
You need to put them on a bigger EC2 or buy multiple licenses and have multiple EC2s to manage, in order to get scalability.
How was the initial setup?
The initial setup was very straightforward, as it’s all done from the AWS Marketplace. A wizard steps you through the process of setup. Due to Matillion’s clean and clear architecture, there is not much to configure before one is up and running.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Regardless of the quantity of your data, the size of your cluster, or variety of source systems, the price of Matillion is the same.
The only variable that changes what you pay Matillion is the size of your data engineering team.
* If your team is just one or two people, then you can just use the [t2.medium @ $1.37/hr]
* If you have a bigger team, you will need [m4.large @ $2.74/hr] or even [m4.xlarge @ $5.48/hr].
As soon as you can, lock in the yearly discounted price with Matillion, as your level of support availability will increase.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We evaluated Informatica, SnapLogic, Talend, Sqoop, and pure Python scripts. Don’t go with any of these if your data can be categorized as any two of the following: volume, variety, and velocity.
What other advice do I have?
* Experiment and test it ASAP
* Watch all the videos from Matillion
* Join their webinar series
* Talk with existing users


    Luis H.

It can scale up/down Snowflake warehouses

  • January 13, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

* ETL process
* Data warehouse
How has it helped my organization?
It has improved the costs of managing my customer’s data.
What is most valuable?
* Analytics
* Integration with SAP and AWS.
What needs improvement?
It needs integration with more data sources. I would also like a better UI because it is complicated to manage it.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It makes loading and transforming data on Snowflake very fast, easy, and affordable. It is also stable.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It can scale up/down Snowflake warehouses. My client’s size is a mid-sized environment.
How was the initial setup?
It takes less than five minutes to set up and delivers results. It is much quicker than traditional ETL technologies. It loads data into Snowflake from dozens of sources, including S3 and RDS, multiple databases, and APIs.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Purchasing this solution through the AWS Marketplace was quick and easy.
It was procured through the AWS Marketplace because it keeps things simple. They offer retail-like checkout and bill through your existing Amazon Web Services account.
The AWS pricing and licensing are a cost-effective solution for data integration needs.
What other advice do I have?
It is perfect for when you need your data to never leave your environment using a robust tool. It also ensures the best security practices are deployed within your AWS account.


    SeniorIn7f6d

It is able data sync reliably and ensures that we are compliant with our legal requirements

  • December 31, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use it to migrate data from in-house databases and other data sources into Amazon Redshift.
How has it helped my organization?
* It is able data sync reliably.
* It ensures that we are compliant with our legal requirements.
What is most valuable?
* It is pretty user-friendly, even for people who aren't super technical.
* It has good integrations with Amazon Redshift and other AWS services.
What needs improvement?
* It could have better integrations with other databases and other services.
* I would like to have more customization available.
* Going forward, I would like them to add custom jobs, since we still have to run these outside of Matillion.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It is very stable. We have not had to deal with many issues.
It is running at almost 100% CPU for most of the night. So, it is fairly stressed.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It scales okay. It takes up a good amount of computing resources while it is running, but we wouldn't have too much trouble giving it a little more if it needed it. We have a lot of data, therefore it is hard for me to guess how much we send through it.
How is customer service and technical support?
I haven't personally dealt with the support.
How was the initial setup?
The integrations with a lot of the AWS tools, services, and databases are very convenient.
It works with DynamoDB, Redshift, Salesforce, and Aurora databases. It has good integrations with all of these.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Purchasing it through the AWS Marketplace is pretty convenient. There is a little bit of back and forth in terms of the licensing based on the machine size, but it seems to have worked out well. it is convenient to have it all as part of our AWS billing.
It is not necessarily a cheap solution. However, it's reasonable priced, especially with the smaller machines that we run it on.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We also evaluated Xplenty.
We chose Xplenty because we wanted to able to have the data live in our VPC, through our network, and not exit our network. Also, the cost was good.
What other advice do I have?
It does the things that it does fairly well, but it would be nice to have some more features, like custom jobs.


    Engineer2076

The product is easy enough to use that we don't always have to get a technical person involved

  • December 25, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Our primary use case is ETL.
How has it helped my organization?
We allow non-technical people to use Matillion to load data into our data warehouse for reporting. Thus, it is easy enough to use that we don't always have to get a technical person involved in setting up a data movement (ETL).
What is most valuable?
Its ease of use.
What needs improvement?
In the next release, we would like to have connections to more databases.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It seems very stable. We have never had any problems.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
We have about 4000 employees.
How is customer service and technical support?
I have never dealt with the technical support.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration of this product on our AWS environment is very easy to do and flexible.
It integrates extremely well with Amazon Redshift.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
It was very easy to purchase through the AWS Marketplace, but it was also expensive.
The prices needs to be lower.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We did not consider any other products.
What other advice do I have?


    Harpreet S.

It is easy to learn and has good technical support

  • December 24, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Bringing data from different sources onto our Snowflake data warehouse.
How has it helped my organization?
* It has helped us avoid a lot of red tape due to compliance.
* It has helped us to get onto the cloud quickly.
What is most valuable?
* It is pretty easy to learn.
* No scripting is required.
* Being cloud native.
What needs improvement?
It is not an end-to-end platform for ETL. It brings in the data. To complete the pipeline, they might want to include some connectors which would put the data into different platforms. This would be helpful.
We are working with different platforms. Most of the connectors that we are looking for are included, but sometimes scripting is required. The good thing is we can reach out to support and have them create the custom connector for us. This can probably be improved.
For how long have I used the solution?
Less than one year.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
We do not put much stress on it. We run it as a batch right now and spin it up on demand. So, we run it for three hours, then we shut it down. It is not real-time, and there is not a lot of streaming as of now, but it is running in the batch.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The size of our environment is not big. We started six months back. Right now, we only use one node, which is moving the data onto our data warehouse in Snowflake. This node is also very small at this time.
Eventually, we will grow big and quickly, because we just had our three drugs approved. Therefore, a lot of data is going to come over. We will be moving this over to our data warehouse, which will need to increase significantly.
How is customer service and technical support?
The technical support treats us well. They already have a support portal, and they are responsive, which helps.
Which solutions did we use previously?
We haven't used any of the on-premise solutions. What we used before was SQL Server Integration Service (SSIS), and when we were moving to the cloud, we wanted to use something that was cloud native (AWS).
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration of this product in our AWS environment was excellent.
We are integrating it with SQL Server and the data coming in is from the on-premise file server. That's what we are connect with right now. Eventually, we will be pulling the data from Google Cloud and Twitter.
What was our ROI?
We are still in the process of moving the data over, so there are no data points as of now.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
You probably don't even need to reach out to the company sometimes to purchase it. You can go to the AWS Marketplace. It's very easy to spin up, and the configuration is also easy. It spins up in your own AWS account. The only way you can get the product now is via the AWS Marketplace.
Their pricing is simple. They charge you by the hour. Whatever EC2 instance time that you have been running it for, that's what it's going to charge you for. The licensing is not based off of the per user or per server. They are going by the type of instance you spin up and how long you've been running it, so easy peasy.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
The other products that we considered were SSIS and Informatica.
We chose Matillion because of the flexibility of the data and the company does not store data on its platform. As a life sciences company, which is HIPAA compliant, we didn't want to move the data over to the platform, so that's why we selected Matillion. It also has additional components that we did not have to pay for, as those features are included with the data. We can scale horizontally with it.
What other advice do I have?
Give it a shot. See how easy it is to get started with the product, because the scripting which is required is minimal. Anybody who is familiar with the SQL Server platform and with SQL scripting can easily pick it up and run with it,