Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 9 (Stretch)

Debian | Debian GNU/Linux 9 20220701

Linux/Unix, Debian 9.13+20220701 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

7 AWS reviews

External reviews

115 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Sushobhan B.

Debian for best server management

  • November 08, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has most supported hardware.harware support us too good for this product.
What do you dislike?
Troubleshoot is very difficult and support is also not good compare to others.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Cloud service for microservice architecture

Smooth and steady release process


    Javed y.

An excellenet and relaible OS (open-sourse) for server side management

  • October 06, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open-source (Debian GNU/FreeBSD, Debian GNU/Hurd)
The most reliable OS with minimum crash reports
User-friendly and easy to install (GUI, text)
Extensive Hardware Support
LTS versions and cloud images are available

The operating system upholds various 32/ 64-bit PC structures - - including x86, Arm, Chip without Interlocked Pipeline Stages, and PowerPC - - and can run on practically any PC. I'm utilizing this operating system beginning around 2011 and no significant issues confronted. Refreshes/Redesigns are only a tick away. Better than other subordinates of the open source operating systems.
What do you dislike?
A bit difficult for new users. Not for gaming purposes (less supported).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Debian is a cost-effective solution while its opponent windows operating system sets you back a ton
It is very adaptable. It is uncommonly dependable and stable.
It has a strong reconciliation with the predominant programming languages like C, C++, Python, Ruby, and so on.
Security and protection are major components.


    Computer Software

Best stable user friendly linux distribution

  • September 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. User-friendly.
2. Stable distribution with LTS support.
3. Easy installation of OS-level packages.
4. Easy installation of OS.
5. Popular amongst cloud services.
What do you dislike?
1. No support for cutting-edge technology
2. Late release of packages
3. Less UI customisations
4. KDE environment is too heavy on memory
5. Overall, it is good.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1. Providing cloud services to host websites and other microservices.
2. Platform for developing Linux based software.
3. Stable and secure releases
4. Extensive hardware support


    Rana V.

It's good if you are a linux fan instead mac

  • August 25, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part of debian which makes it's awsome and no one can par with debian on it is it's community, it is having such a huge community. If you are stuck anywhere then i\you know StackOverflow is there to help you out.
What do you dislike?
I use to dislike the GUI of debian if you compare to other OS, but since I am a developer I hardly care about it much beacuse it has such a robut cli, but as a user if i think then GUI is not at all good, it didn't gave me that vibe.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Debian for me solved the problem of Dependencies , so I am coding anything an any dependencies error is coming then first thing I do is migrating the code to Debian based destro mostly Ubuntu.

Apart from that I have worked on Kali Linux as well, One thing which debain has done fabulously is thinking about each group and made separate destro according to it. As running any instance on AWS or anywhere I prefer debian because of support.


    Information Technology and Services

It's best linux based OS and it's basically my 2nd favourite OS after ubuntu.

  • August 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about Debian in my opinion is its extensive hardware support.
What do you dislike?
Pretty much everything is good in Debian except its UI.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I was concerned about the security that every OS provides but Debian is known for providing a stable and secure release.


    Omri C.

Great Linux distribution

  • August 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
100% free OS with great support and high stability
What do you dislike?
I'm not sure how good it is in terms of security versus other same products on the market
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Stable and well-documented Linux distribution with a great support


    Banking

Best stable Linux OS

  • August 02, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The GUI is awesome and the best OS under Linux
What do you dislike?
Nothing as of such which i dislike . All good
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Free OS and reduced the dependency on Windows


    Computer Software

Excellent SO for servers

  • July 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Its free
- Its stable
- Its user friendly
- Its great for use in servers
What do you dislike?
- None, I had tested another distributions, and Debian its simply perfect!!!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use debian in my servers. I use debian with Zabbix to monitoring my plattform, and all I get for free!!!!


    Non-Profit Organization Management

I have used Debian for years and it is still my favorite Linux distro.

  • July 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the apt-get package management system.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it is too basic and is hard to get things working.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Debian is easy to get going as a console only OS and you can easily run servers with little effort.


    Computer Software

Best for Penetration testing and security

  • July 06, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nice tool for testing and penetration though u may face dificuties
Massive amounts of pen testing tools .
Lot like backtrack. Lots and Lots of tools.
One of the most secure os.
What do you dislike?
while installation and can have bigger problem if running in root mode and you type command randomly. ( this is what i faced problems while installation)
Can't use for gaming.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's mostly secure, lightweight and also provide too many too many tools that helps check security and also servers.And its open source too that's the maim advantage for the organization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It will take some time to get hands on this but tools are very useful so keep working on it.