Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 9 (Stretch)

Debian | Debian GNU/Linux 9 20220701

Linux/Unix, Debian 9.13+20220701 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

7 AWS reviews

External reviews

119 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Janne G.

Great and very stable Linux distro for everyday use and for servers too.

  • January 24, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Package manager apt-get (apt or Advanced package tool) is the most outstanding feature of Debian.
What do you dislike?
Because default Debian installation is meant to be a very stable operating system, they rely on older but supported application versions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Its basic installation is minimal, and you can easily add or remove applications with apt. So you can make it to be ready with any use case.


    Shagun S.

Favorite operating system.

  • January 14, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Debian is the oldest Linux-based operating system. It is free to use and easy to download from the internet.
What do you dislike?
Debian is sometimes difficult to use for beginners. And it takes a very long time to update.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This operating system has to be more user-friendly.


    Marketing and Advertising

Flexible and modern

  • January 05, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
One of the things that drew me to Debian and which I like the most about it is its broad support from the general internet community. If you need help with a Debian issue, chances are someone has already had that issue and solved it.
What do you dislike?
Honestly, there isn't much that I dislike about the OS itself. I'm annoyed when I have to install a few packages on a base install but that's really a personal preference.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Debian allows me to use Linux in my environments which is a great benefit in terms of cost management and security. It also allows me to use and expand my knowledge of Linux tools.


    ANKIT S.

Debian Reiew

  • December 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Used Debian Linux servers to configure our environment's SIEM tool (Alien Vault).

It is a free, smooth upgrade and very stable. Very good for developers and very secure.
What do you dislike?
Not many cons to Debian Linux.

Its command line is similar primarily to other Linux servers; however, network configuration is a bit different compared to other Linux versions, that some time confuses me as I am working in Redhat, Centos and Ubuntu as well.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were looking for an operating system to configure the SIEM tool.

A stable OS that is also cost-effective, easy to upgrade, secure and compatible with AlienVault.


    Sushobhan B.

Debian for best server management

  • November 08, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has most supported hardware.harware support us too good for this product.
What do you dislike?
Troubleshoot is very difficult and support is also not good compare to others.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Cloud service for microservice architecture

Smooth and steady release process


    Javed y.

An excellenet and relaible OS (open-sourse) for server side management

  • October 06, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open-source (Debian GNU/FreeBSD, Debian GNU/Hurd)
The most reliable OS with minimum crash reports
User-friendly and easy to install (GUI, text)
Extensive Hardware Support
LTS versions and cloud images are available

The operating system upholds various 32/ 64-bit PC structures - - including x86, Arm, Chip without Interlocked Pipeline Stages, and PowerPC - - and can run on practically any PC. I'm utilizing this operating system beginning around 2011 and no significant issues confronted. Refreshes/Redesigns are only a tick away. Better than other subordinates of the open source operating systems.
What do you dislike?
A bit difficult for new users. Not for gaming purposes (less supported).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Debian is a cost-effective solution while its opponent windows operating system sets you back a ton
It is very adaptable. It is uncommonly dependable and stable.
It has a strong reconciliation with the predominant programming languages like C, C++, Python, Ruby, and so on.
Security and protection are major components.


    Computer Software

Best stable user friendly linux distribution

  • September 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. User-friendly.
2. Stable distribution with LTS support.
3. Easy installation of OS-level packages.
4. Easy installation of OS.
5. Popular amongst cloud services.
What do you dislike?
1. No support for cutting-edge technology
2. Late release of packages
3. Less UI customisations
4. KDE environment is too heavy on memory
5. Overall, it is good.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1. Providing cloud services to host websites and other microservices.
2. Platform for developing Linux based software.
3. Stable and secure releases
4. Extensive hardware support


    Rana V.

It's good if you are a linux fan instead mac

  • August 25, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part of debian which makes it's awsome and no one can par with debian on it is it's community, it is having such a huge community. If you are stuck anywhere then i\you know StackOverflow is there to help you out.
What do you dislike?
I use to dislike the GUI of debian if you compare to other OS, but since I am a developer I hardly care about it much beacuse it has such a robut cli, but as a user if i think then GUI is not at all good, it didn't gave me that vibe.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Debian for me solved the problem of Dependencies , so I am coding anything an any dependencies error is coming then first thing I do is migrating the code to Debian based destro mostly Ubuntu.

Apart from that I have worked on Kali Linux as well, One thing which debain has done fabulously is thinking about each group and made separate destro according to it. As running any instance on AWS or anywhere I prefer debian because of support.


    Information Technology and Services

It's best linux based OS and it's basically my 2nd favourite OS after ubuntu.

  • August 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about Debian in my opinion is its extensive hardware support.
What do you dislike?
Pretty much everything is good in Debian except its UI.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I was concerned about the security that every OS provides but Debian is known for providing a stable and secure release.


    Omri C.

Great Linux distribution

  • August 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
100% free OS with great support and high stability
What do you dislike?
I'm not sure how good it is in terms of security versus other same products on the market
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Stable and well-documented Linux distribution with a great support