Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 9 (Stretch)

Debian | Debian GNU/Linux 9 LTS 20220325

Linux/Unix, Debian 9.13+20220325 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

7 AWS reviews

External reviews

105 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Debian - The GOTO AWS Linux Image

  • April 05, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Per the title, Debian is my go to Linux image for all distributed applications I manage on Amazon Web Services (AWS). As Debian, and the Linux kernel as a whole, are open source software, there is a vibrant and active community for
What do you dislike?
Currently, I have no qualms with the Debian operating system (OS).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Debian provides a single, base OS image for all of my software production environments. With the Debian package manager, I can easily install
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Without prior Linux or terminal experience, there is a steep learning curve for its use.


    David Gatti

It just works!

  • March 31, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Good old Debian never fails. New version did not disappoint, it keeps on workin. And this is what I look for in a Linux distribution. Plus the internet is full of resources.


    Marisela L.

Ease and robustness in only one.

  • March 21, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?

I love the ease and fluidity with which you can use the debian terminal and install the packages you need to use, with a simple apt-get or aptitude you can install packages to use in your day to day work, it also contains a variety of graphic environments beautiful and easy to use, its main advantage is to be a free software for those people who use free software in their debian jobs is an excellent option.
What do you dislike?
For people who do not have knowledge in Linux it is very difficult to use, often has problems with some dependencies of some packages and a more manual installation process has to be done.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In my work, it is a requirement to work with free software, this leads me to relate and learn much more about the installation of packages and the use of the shell, which I find wonderful. I am a web developer and have made many applications with my operating system debian.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
My recommendations is that you should have a little knowledge of linux before using this software.


    Fernando M.

the most stable multipurpose server

  • March 12, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Your kernel can be configured for any need I require. This is useful, to optimize the operation of Linux with a processor or CPU of a particular brand. I can configure your kernel to mitigate intruciones and any type of computer attack that is made to my server. This can not be done in Windows.
What do you dislike?
It takes a bit of knowledge of Linux for its implementation, to use it at your convenience install packages, change repositories, in addition to lacking compatibility with some video hardware.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
currently our servers use deboan in especil the web services, we use debian for its stability and robustness, it should be noted that once optimized your kernel works great for the tasks that are configured.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend this operating system because it has very stable packages and its support community is very stable, they are always attentive and willing to help.


    Kevin R.

Great OS for many needs

  • March 06, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a free Linux Kernel you can do about anything with. From desktop environments to command line only servers this is a product that fills all of those needs
What do you dislike?
Its doesn't share commands with windows which takes some getting used to and it can be difficult getting users to adopt a Linux OS
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is a low cost solution to have many servers running on it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Only try this as a Users desktop if you have a user base that is willing to change. This will be something difficult to get used to for most users. You will need to have an admin that specializes with Linux if you want to run the server software or someone that isn't supper stuck in one environment only. The cost on this product is amazing and the width and depth of the product if phenomanal


    carmen b.

debian stable packages.

  • March 04, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like debian because it is available for more architecture of processors, as much as 32 bits as 64 bits, has the ability to have very stable and robust packages, is highly customizable and has a higher performance.
What do you dislike?
debian you do not have some popular packages, for them in their repositories those popular packages are replaced, to imitate the functionalities of those described above, such as word, excel, is supplanted by free office packages among other software.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
in the company we use debian in its server version, to deploy web services platforms and file transfer systems, working up to the moment in a very stable and secure way.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
debian surpasses all distributions so well integrated are your ki packages I highly recommend, use it you will not regret it.


    yesika m.

the server more stable and strong.

  • March 01, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
without any doubt having the most stable repositories, gives an advantage and security when putting applications into our servers, security through rules, configured in an efficient way, optimizes even more stable performance than this system operative provides.
What do you dislike?
to configure the kernel, and tune it at our will requires an advanced knowledge in the administration of this operating system by command line, we must have a prior knowledge of linux in order to achieve these important configurations for the security of our server.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
currently we use debian, for our virtual servers running in different types of services, such as sftp servers, web servers and anti DDOS rules with IPTABLES.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend its use in server environment is very robust flexible, adaptable and fast, also has a wide range of stable repositories.


    Yosibel Q.

more robust and efficient web server.

  • February 27, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Currently it is one of the most stable operating systems, the amount of stable packages compiled are very many, thanks to that it allows me to have the best stable and efficient software.
What do you dislike?
sometimes it takes a while to update the versions, due to its characteristics you need to have a prior knowledge of linux, and to use external devices you have to mount them.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
currently serves as a web server and applications, in it are some databases in postgres, and file server in SFTP.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend using debian for the stability of your kernel, and for the amount of stable compiled packages, it is robust, flexible, secure and fast.


    carlos d.

one of the best servers

  • February 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
what I like about this operating system is the great capacity of stable compiled packages, with respect to the different operating systems of this type of open source, the adaptability of its kernel is fantastic.
What do you dislike?
must be immersed in the world of consols of this type of system a user from 0 is a bit difficult to learn and even more if it comes from an operating system such as windows, to use external devices must be mounted by console as they are in the case of servers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we currently use debian 9 for a web page platform, confiding their iptables to mitigate DDOS attacks, it should be noted that it is very stable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Although not all window applications are available for debian, for the server environment is still one of the most robust and stable, I highly recommend using it for web applications, and ftp servers, sftp etc .


    Laurent C.

Debian great OS Linux

  • January 29, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like its simplicity and versatility in use.
constantly changing the OS always in the right direction.
All applications within reach of clique, the essential free software to be able to work in good condition.
There is a lot of version between CD, DVD even netinstall which allow to choose its version from the lightest to the most complete.
And thanks to the internet we can find support everywhere and even in French, many forums and users as well as tutorial videos can help you better control Debian.
Debian can be installed on the latest high-end PCs as on older machines and the server version is the most used currently.
What do you dislike?
I prefer to use another environment (xfce) than the basic one too clean.
Know a minimum of the command lines to properly use the OS.
You have to get used to this environment when you were too long a Windows user. The change may seem harsh.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
it is Linux so cheaper than other OS market. Everyone can use Debian.
The vast majority of software is free and can be added to work peacefully, the OS is very stable and no need to update each week.
In our administration we move slowly but surely to Debian.
This leads to a gain in productivity and a significant gain in economy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Debian improves from year to year, it becomes more user friendly, simpler, more ergonomic to use for people.
To try it is to adopt it.