Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 9 (Stretch)

Debian | Debian GNU/Linux 9 20220701

Linux/Unix, Debian 9.13+20220701 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

7 AWS reviews

External reviews

113 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Oil & Energy

Debian is my favorite Linux Distribution

  • November 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact that the distribution releases come out when they are ready which makes them more stable and dependable for longer periods of time. Also, Debian works as simple desktop OS all the way up to Server-level platforms. In general, it's the most flexible Linux distribution I've ever used.
What do you dislike?
On the other hand, the slower release schedule means that some components can be out of date, and depending upon how mission criticial a particular host needs to be, this can be a problem. There are, of course, other options to updating modules when necessary.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I worked in a large Data Center with literally thousands of compute and storage nodes. The fact that Debian is free and flexible enough to customize for every type of host we had was by far the most significant benefit from both a cost basis as well as ease of System Administration.


    Ahmed S.

Debian Os

  • November 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Memory Management is very good in Debian and it's easy to use.
Security with ufw or firewalld to secure your server.
Process management is great you can easily manage it.
Installation is very easy and you can configure everything manual or automatic.
What do you dislike?
Resources Utilisation is not good and you need to take care of it .
You can only install free software in debian.
Updates are not the best thing in debian.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Security , I was searching about secure os to install it in servera and I used it.


    Aman R.

Debian: A CLI Based OS

  • October 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the most it is open source and is free for all.
What do you dislike?
There is no GUI which makes sometimes simple things really hard.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used Debian as a backed computer for my website.


    Brandon K.

Linux Distro as Windows Alternative

  • September 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is a great and free linux distro for those times you want to use linux instead of windows but do not want to Ubuntu
What do you dislike?
Not able to easily run Windows software without some kind of app
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This used as an free alternative to Windows OS and is great for computers that are running older hardware for donation computers to help families one computer at a time.


    Ushan Sameera W.

An Ubuntu OS that consume low power

  • September 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Upgradability. It can upgrade to newest version with bug fixed versions.
What do you dislike?
This OS is not always up-to-date. Thus you have to only install free-ware (open source free softwares)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Power consumption significantly reduced while compared with other Operating Systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a better OS with low power consumption while compared with other Operating Systems.


    Phil C.

Software depends on community and the other way around

  • September 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Community model validated over years, it's here to stay
What do you dislike?
Contribution procedures can be longer than they should...
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Debian is a good platform to build long-term products on, because of its security policy. It can be used also on servers or desktop but I believe it's obvious.
The platform itself is a good trade-off between customization and general purposes functionalities.
Architectures support make it a good reference platform to be used as reference and validate some features too.
Note to mention that Debian core is used in many other derivative projects like Ubuntu, RaspberrypiOS, but it can be also used for point of convergence of downstream contributions.
My latest achievement with Debian is a DIY pinball simulator as explained at https://purl.org/rzr/pinball
I've been contributing to some packages too : https://qa.debian.org/developer.php?login=rzr@users.sf.net
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to contribute as soon as you can it will be a good investment, start by joining a team for instance


    Mani K.

The best universal Free and Open Source OS

  • September 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the simplicity and ease of use of a Debian system. Debian organization is highly committed to FOSS and has strict policies governing its usage. It is essential from a software developer's point of view as we tend to use software that gives complete control over its usage. Debian OS is also highly committed to stability and security.
What do you dislike?
The initial learning curve required to understand the Debian OS is high. I had spent a significant amount of time knowing how to use a Debian system. Diagnosing issues with the package installations and system upgrades were absolute hell.
But with time and effort to learn and understand the Debian OS and its software components has made it easy, and now I am fluent with Debian system usage.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use Debian OS for my system and also with my work laptop. It is easy and convenient to work with software that comes with Debian OS. I am a professional software developer, so all the tools required, such as a C and C++ compiler, diff, git, valgrind, etc., are easily available in my Debian system. It is easy to install, remove and upgrade packages in Debian using the APT tool.


    Damián V.

Incredible OS

  • September 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Security and stability offered by the system.
What do you dislike?
Difficult to setup by newbies in the area.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm using the system in almost all of my servers. Stability is incredible.


    Government Administration

Great distribution of linux for when you don't need full blown Enterprise subscription features

  • August 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Standardised linux distribution with good amount of features builtin.
What do you dislike?
It's sometimes difficult to find documentation online.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Debian has allowed us to deploy applications that require linux, without having to pay large amounts for enterprise support.


    Asif A.

Open Software advocates ! Here's your best Linux distro !

  • August 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Debian is the best Linux distribution I have ever used.It has a very large community support and perfect choice for powering your servers.The distro is very dependable ,has a large software support and support both X64 and X32 pc architectures
What do you dislike?
Unlike other popular operating systems, Debian releases takes a bit longer period than usual.But whenever they comes,its a bang !
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Users have the option to choose between stable and experimental versions having better features, so that we can go with the one most comfortable with. It is also the most widely used operating system by developers due to popularity of .deb packages and it's unchallenged authority in managing servers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to stop paying for every single software that you use daily ,then Debian OS is the right choice. We can easily roll out and switch to different versions and that's too completely for free. Debian OS is also less prone security threats like virus attacks.The source code is available to check and anybody can point out threats or contribute to its development.The OS has a large community support too.