Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

VMware Tanzu Greenplum (Hourly)

Pivotal Software Inc. | v6.7.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

59 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jake B.

Data warehouse (edw)

  • April 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Greenplum is a good data warehouse for enterprise and is built on the Postgres theme of databases. I can run analytic SQL without much issue.
What do you dislike?
Greenplum is proprietary and no longer a core product of Pivotal. It seems like cloud foundry is their new scene.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The business problems I'm solving with Pivotal Greenplum is the need to run analytic SQL and being able to run advanced SQL queries on the cluster for my workflows.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good data warehouse that I would recommend to any company.


    Steve M.

Data warehousing simplified with Pivotal product

  • April 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Greenplum database lets me run different analytics and SQL via the greenplum backend and returns the results I need. Greenplum lets me run different analysis and get results to see what's happening with our data.
What do you dislike?
Greenplum is proprietary and not the cleanest thing to work with. I think there is resource misallocation from time to time.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The business problems I'm solving with Greeplum is the need to run analytic SQL for exploratory data analysis.


    Rushi C.

Great data warehousing system

  • April 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
In my analytics research, I use the greenplum database which returns me the results in my queries without much problem. It gets me the results that I need.
What do you dislike?
I dislike how the greenplum database is a proprietary product that is rather expensive.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Greenplum database has allowed me to deliver visualizations and analytic results with the PostgreSQL engine that it is built on.


    Noah R.

Massively parallel processing database for warehousing needs

  • April 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Pivotal Greenplum database is a PostgreSQL database that I use on a daily basis as a database administrator. It runs queries smoothly and has a variety of features that I use which is what I love. And it is PostgreSQL which is awesome.
What do you dislike?
I dislike how Greenplum is a proprietary database and not open source.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The business problems I'm solving with Pivotal Greenplum is the need for an enterprise data warehouse. The benefits I've realized is the ability to run queries and optimize the database over a cluster in little time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Greenplum is a decent warehouse database and is comparable to other solutions out there.


    Gowri s.

Pivotal Greenplum is one of the best datawarehousing Database

  • March 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I been using pivotal Greenplum for more than 5 years and it was the best dwh i worked and very less cost when compare to other dwh database. Happy i am a pivotal greenplum person and proud to say
What do you dislike?
It would be great if there documentation page more information
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we are using as a reporting for our business and it solves most of our issue
Recommendations to others considering the product:
all good


    Dan G.

Good Relational Postgres Database

  • March 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Greenplum database is a big datastore that allows me to run SQL queries with ease in PostgreSQL language. I've not had many problems with the database and enjoy the flexibility to run advanced SQL queries.
What do you dislike?
The issue I take with greenplum is with performance. Queries sometimes take overnight to run and I have to wait a while for my results.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Greenplum allows me to run analytic SQL and it provides a clear understanding of where our business is going and provides insight where sales or marketing is murky.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Greenplum isn't a cheap database but it's a PostgreSQL database worth trying out for sure.


    George L.

MPP Database solution

  • January 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like how the Greenplum database is an abstraction of PostgreSQL and I can query the database for results pretty easily. The Greenplum command center which is made by Pivotal is also a decent tool to see queries being run and CPU utilization.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the results take a while to get. Yesterday it took about 8 hours with 2 threads to get my workload on a few billion rows. Other solutions may exist that are better on the marketplace.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Greenplum is allowing me to execute analytics functions far better and more easily than previously before.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a massively parallel processing relational database but it's not cheap.


    George L.

Massively Parallel DB

  • January 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a decent MPP PostgreSQL database that we use for our client data.
What do you dislike?
I dont think Greenplum manages resources well. It throws its resources at everything and requires tuning.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We can access data, build reports, and run advanced reports and more. It gets the job done.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a decent MPP. I think there might be other databases out there that are just as good though...


    Defense & Space

Greenplum - A true MPP database with fastest in class loading

  • July 12, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing I like in Greenplum is fastest loading of data. For real time analytics this is best in class MPP database.
What do you dislike?
No of concurrent user connections it supports.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Real time analytics. The main benefits of using Greenplum is that you can insert the data into Greenplum tables very quickly and run analytics on this data almost in real time.