Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Parallels Remote Application Server (RAS)

Parallels | Parallels RAS 18

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base win2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

4 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 4

External reviews

46 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Matthias R.

for us an indispensable tool for many year

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The feature set, performance and quality increased over the years.
What do you dislike?
the licensing changed some time ago and after Parallels purchased RAS from 2X the price unfortunately increased extremely and the german support office was closed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Since 2006 we are using RAS to connect a remote office with 6 workers and several remote workers at home or while travelling over VPN to our companie´s network. They use our local ERP system, MS Office and our unified messaging system with their RAS clients on Windows, OS X and even some with their iPad Pro.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need to access and use Windows applications and data from any device then Parallels RAS is for you.
Parallels RAS extends the server integrated RDP services outstandingly.


    Chris

Doesn't Work

  • February 19, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Doesn't Work ... and their support doens't care, says it is not their issue and so .... I guess we will look at a different product


    Research

Parallels Systems

  • February 01, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
As a graduate student and researcher, I have enjoyed using Parallel2x over the last 2 years.I access Parallel2x 2-4x a day for both work to log into our private computer and also to access the various software programs that I need for school and work.
What do you dislike?
The one thing that I noticed about Parallel2x is that after a period of inactivity, or toggling windows between the Parallels system and my own Macbook Air, is that the Parallels environment will freeze, as in when I click areas where I can type text like to log back onto my remote computer, I cannot type anything. Usually, I log out of Parallels and then log back onto it, as this will resolve the problem.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Business-wise, we use Parallels to remotely access our computers in the workplace so that we can use various softwares, such as ArcGIS and SAS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend Parallels and I have greatly enjoyed using it. I probably don't understand the full capabilities of the software, but in terms of remotely logging onto my desktop at work and the software programs there, I think it is an appropriate software to use.


    Medical Practice

Too slow, inefficient for fast-paced environment

  • February 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It allows offices with iOS to access and utilize programs that are PC-exclusive.
What do you dislike?
Start-up was extremely slow, so much so that it almost wasn't worth it to use the software. You also are required to create an account to use the product.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were able to expand the types of programs, software and file types used by the office which made handling day-to-day business easier.


    Computer Software

Well featured parallel OS program

  • December 17, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
So far it's run very smoothly and haven't had hiccups when doing deployement testing
What do you dislike?
I can't say there's much to dislike, Parallels seems to keep their product updated, which is something I always appreciate.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Parallels for software testing


    Roxie K.

Parallels

  • October 12, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoy having a PC & Mac all in one computer
What do you dislike?
Some features do not work well/have glitches (example: sometimes the CD drive & USB drives will not work on the platform that I need)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
About 4 years ago we began incorporating Mac computers into our office. I was not familiar with Mac and many of my programs were PC based. Our IT department installed Parallels so I could have both. This has made the transition very easy for me.


    Higher Education

Parallels on Mac for Data Analysis Software

  • February 24, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I can switch between my mac desktop and PC desktop with ease. I don't have to restart my computer everytime I need to use my windows software.
What do you dislike?
Some software is not compatible with parallels
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being able to use a PC on a mac without having to buy a separate computer. I can do PC work remotely on my laptop and I don't have to carry a second laptop or have a desktop elsewhere.


    Siva G.

Best app to experience Windows in Mac

  • November 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy of use to setup and run windows os in Mac. Support for Windows out of the box. Running both Mac and Windows on Parallels is faster and not memory hogging like VirtualBox
What do you dislike?
Express installation doesn't work. Have to use manual step to install Windows 10. Free upgrades could help very helpful for those who bought it in the last six months of purchase.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I had to install Windows OS to use Visual Studio 2015 and looked at different software VirtualBox, VMWare, Bootcamp and Parallels. I finally decided to use Parallels because of easy of use and run smoothly along Mac.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to use Virtualisation software compared to other apps.


    Renewables & Environment

Mosaic Power Parallels

  • October 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that I can access tools from a central desktop. I personally use a Mac but we require Internet Explorer for a few of our applications. I am able to access tools that are only operable on IE. I also like that everybody on my work team can access the tools from the same desktop.
What do you dislike?
I find that the appearance is a likely grainy. I am not sure why. Also, I get a 'snapshot' message all the time when I personally have not uploaded anything.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use a Mac and I'm able to use products and services that are only operable on Internet Explorer.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I think it can be difficult to use in that the appearance is grainy. Also, when I try to download programs to my Mac, the default is to download to the Parallels environment, and that gets confusing.


    Robert K.

Parallels Desktop

  • October 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing is that I can run windows while I'm using my OSX. I like how well is it integrated to the main system, like copying files, open files from OSX with programs on the virtual windows. It just makes my workflow much simplier.
What do you dislike?
The only problem I can find is when the cursors stuck in the parallels windows.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I basically use it to run CAD modelling programs. This was the only field where I couln't find any alternative to use in OSX. But the Parallels Desktop just solved this problem.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best option if you want to use OSX without compromises.